We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked two nights here hoping to take the train to Silverton. Once we found out the train was completely booked with only random seating throughout the train we asked if we could check out one day early. Brandon was very accommodating. The hotel itself is very nice, Rooms were very clean and large enough. The bathroom is a bit tiny for me. No refrigerator or microwave but there is a coffee maker. Lobby has instant oatmeal , microwave and coffee available 24/7. Attached to the hotel is an Applebee's that serves breakfast. I would visit this hotel again , but I was not a fan of Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    108
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
62
100
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a decent room in an excellent location. It was great to be able to walk into downtown for a good meal and a few beers or to travel on the Durango and Silverton railway. You couldn't get any closer and still get free parking!
The room opened onto the front of the hotel. Although the main road was not far away the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum and did not disturb our sleep. The room wasn't ultra modern but was decorated and furnished to a simple but perfectly adequate standard. The quality of the housekeeping was extremely high. A quirk was that the blackout blinds were almost impossible to close completely. We ended up using the clips on a coat hanger and a chair pushed against the blinds to keep them shut. You could certainly see through the gaps if not! I found the wifi to be fine.
They do not provide breakfast in the room rate but do provide complementary coffee and oatmeal which is a nice touch. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed at the inn in September what a fabulous place. The staff were friendly the room was lovely we had a great stay. Durango is a wonderful place wish we could have stayed longer than the two days we allocated during our road trip around Colorado.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We opted and paid for an upgrade to a river view room. That was great until a couple of coaches decided to park right opposite our room and start their engines first thing in the morning.
Staff at reception was lovely and very helpful.
Room was fine, small but had all you needed; fridge; coffee maker; wifi etc.
Durango is a lovely place and with plenty of good eateries.
If the steam train goes by, cover your ears as the hoot is loud :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying here for a family reunion. The staff was excellent. Natasha checked us in and she was superb! The whole staff was very helpful from where to eat to what to do. Will stay again!! The location was perfect since it is in the middle of everything for downtown Durango. With our large group, the hotel was able to accommodate us in that all of our room were right next to each other. The pool area was clean with plenty of pool towels on hand.

Room Tip: Loved the view of the Animas River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Love Durango and decided on this motel due to location to downtown. Should of known better, Durango is not that large and will stay elsewhere next visit. For price should have been a better quality of arrangements available. Stayed two nights and room was cleaned but not restocked so had to go to desk for amenities. Yes exercise room was nice and pool looked alright, Attached to a Applebee's if you like them, but when I travel look for local places not chains. No breakfast buffet offered and rooms lacked updating with simple additions like a mini fridge and microwave. No real great remarks to add to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Natasha at the front desk was super helpful and nice. Great location, loved the river view. Great prices for the whole stay. I would stay here again. Easy walking distance to Main Street, downtown. ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.