We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Mother-Daughter trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Salida, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Durango Mother-Daughter trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this hotel 4 months ahead. The rate was $152 a night which I thought was expensive but wanted to be close to the Durango-Silverton train depot. When we arrived, check in was a breeze, the room was exactly what I had reserved. Plus, when I mentioned the 20% off 2 nights online ad I had seen that morning, the desk clerk reduced our rate to $87 a night for both nights! What a great surprise, more shopping money for my daughter & I!!! The room was very clean, beds super comfortable, I will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    33
    18
    4
See reviews for
41
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night on the 23rd of August. We were greeted by a young man at the desk who was very polite and helpful. He found us the cheapest rate and also placed us on the first floor with a river view. The room was clean and appropriate for our stay. The only issue was no microwave or refrigerator in the room.
We do plan on returning next month and will use this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spend a great deal of time in Durango because we have family here. However, we always stay in a motel. Durango Downtown Inn used to be a Holiday Inn. It is very clean, beds are great and I like the outdoor access on the river side. The only negative is no elevator if you stay on the second floor, which we did. Applebee's is adjacent if you don't want to travel to have a meal.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such kind words about our hotel! Next time you are in town please let us know a head of time and we are happy to honor any first floor requests or help get any luggage up the stairs. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel two days. No complaints on how clean the room was. The room was clean and tidy. It had all main features.
Generally speaking:
- the bathroom did not have a fan to eliminate humidity an odors;
- the front window was too large and it didn't have a curtain large enough to ensure that no one could look inside; all rooms are external to the main lobby and anyone in town could walk up and look inside.
This was the main thing that we did not like at all.
For who likes big breakfasts, consider that they provide a very poor one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the kind words you said about the cleanliness of the hotel, we take great pride in how clean we keep the property.
As for the curtains, we have three layers of window dressing: a sheer that will allow light in but still has privacy, a black out that blocks out all light and gives complete privacy, and a short decorative curtain. I think that you may have not seen the black out curtain that would have provided the privacy you were looking for. I apologize for that. As for breakfast, we don't ever say we actually provide a breakfast, we do as a convenience offer coffee, tea, hot chocolate and oatmeal 24 hours a day for our guests. I truly do apologize for the parts of the stay that were not to your liking and hope that you will give us another chance someday soon. Thank you again for your feedback; it really helps improve our property.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver , CO
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Walk 2 blocks to main street and you are also right on the river and Animas walking path. Rooms are large and clean. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. It does have outside corridors. Ask for a room facing the river or facing the pool. They are the quietest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights during a recent trip to Durango. I was concerned about the quality of the accommodations upon arrival. The lobby smelled strongly of air freshener and the grounds seemed a little shabby. However, check-in was smooth. Staff was friendly and efficient. As for our room....spotlessly clean and very comfortable! Bathroom could use some updating, but was clean and toiletries were nice. Towels were large and fresh, as we're the bed linens. Plenty of coffee available. No room safe, which is always a plus. We had two queen beds in an second floor room facing the river. Great view and nice to walk along the river. Easy walk to historic downtown. (3 blocks.)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

On our way back home after visiting grandkids in Colo Springs. Decided to stop and stay overnight in Durango. Had only passed through before, but had heard good things about the city. Picked this hotel from Trip Advisor. Had 2nd floor room with river view. Very nice and relaxing. Could watch folks raft, fish, etc. Bike path/walking trail ran right next to river 20 yards from our room. Also quiet on this side, vs other options. Front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. Would recommend this motel. We'd definitely stay here on a return trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.