We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

On our way back home after visiting grandkids in Colo Springs. Decided to stop and stay overnight in Durango. Had only passed through before, but had heard good things about the city. Picked this hotel from Trip Advisor. Had 2nd floor room with river view. Very nice and relaxing. Could watch folks raft, fish, etc. Bike path/walking trail ran right next to river 20 yards from our room. Also quiet on this side, vs other options. Front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. Would recommend this motel. We'd definitely stay here on a return trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    33
    18
    4
See reviews for
41
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In Durango, you have basically two choices: very expensive, elegant hotels on Main Ave. or ordinary hotels on Camino Del Rio. But I think this is the only one on Camino Del Rio that is truly 2 block's walking distance to Main Ave. The rooms are clean and comfortable and basic. I think it is the best value in Durango. We stayed on the "river side" so that we would be farther away from the main road as recommended by other reviews on Trip Advisor. We did not hear any noise, and I don't know what it would have been like on the other side. The downside to this is that they only have rooms with 2 double beds on this side. I wish they would put some king beds in some of those rooms.

Room Tip: River side rooms. Reserve multiple nights for a discounted price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

2nd Floor rooms were comfortable but sparse. Stayed 3 Nights. There were 23 of Us thru out the Hotel. The Staff treated us Respect . Coffee was available 24 hours, European type Breakfast. Staff was Knowledgeable of the Area. Geezers Motor Cycle Club.

Room Tip: Choose an Upstairs room, Park your Bike in Fronnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in June in a river view room on the first floor. Room was motel style and fine for our needs for one night. Big room and looked out onto the river. Had asked for a second floor room on the booking but settled for first floor- although view is probably nicer upstairs! That said, we didn't spend much time in the room at all. Hotel is in a great location for downtown and all it has to offer and the train station. We loved Durango itself and wished we could have stayed longer. My other half had a morning run along the river trail and loved it. I visited the indoor pool and hot tub and was the only person there. Nice and clean, and I met who I presume was the manager, with a Papillon dog- really friendly people.

I would probably recommend the river side of the property as it does overlook a reasonably busy road the other side. Go and explore downtown- only 5 minutes walk across the main road. Ore House did great food and cocktails!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. It is pricey, but the location was worth it for us. We were able to walk downtown each night for dinner and also walk down to the river to go tubing. We were close to everything! We even watched the fireworks right from the hotel. Our check in was smooth and when we decided to stay an extra night, things got a little messed up, but Austin at the front desk was great and cleared everything up for us. He was very helpful. This definitely wasn't the best hotel I've stayed at, but the room was clean and we really enjoyed the location. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg,Fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed two nights the last week in June. Check-in/out was smooth. Rooms were large enough in our opinion and well equipped. The shower noise mentioned in another review is an aspect of motel life. Liked being able to sit by the river. Attached Applebee's was a plus and everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Yeah, it's a bit pricey but we were satisfied with everything and ,of course, we had the option of not staying there. Didn't use the pool but it looked great.
If you go to the Durango train be sure to stop at the little bagel shop just to the left of the station.
Really great and was suggested by our check-in person.
.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed it. We really look forward to seeing you back in the near future! Thank you again and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location beats being on the main street with the masses of people and vehicle noise. Pool and hot tub were very nice but could have been cleaner. Room is dated but not smelly or dirty. Staff was superior in attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.