We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Denver, CO
2 reviews
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. It is pricey, but the location was worth it for us. We were able to walk downtown each night for dinner and also walk down to the river to go tubing. We were close to everything! We even watched the fireworks right from the hotel. Our check in was smooth and when we decided to stay an extra night, things got a little messed up, but Austin at the front desk was great and cleared everything up for us. He was very helpful. This definitely wasn't the best hotel I've stayed at, but the room was clean and we really enjoyed the location. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    97
    48
    21
    6
See reviews for
51
88
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg,Fl
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed two nights the last week in June. Check-in/out was smooth. Rooms were large enough in our opinion and well equipped. The shower noise mentioned in another review is an aspect of motel life. Liked being able to sit by the river. Attached Applebee's was a plus and everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Yeah, it's a bit pricey but we were satisfied with everything and ,of course, we had the option of not staying there. Didn't use the pool but it looked great.
If you go to the Durango train be sure to stop at the little bagel shop just to the left of the station.
Really great and was suggested by our check-in person.
.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed it. We really look forward to seeing you back in the near future! Thank you again and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location beats being on the main street with the masses of people and vehicle noise. Pool and hot tub were very nice but could have been cleaner. Room is dated but not smelly or dirty. Staff was superior in attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff was friendly. The rooms are outdated. You can hear just about anything from the rooms next to you and from the outside. Our rate was about $140, totally not worth what you are paying for. This hotel is pet friendly, $10 per pet, per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a little weekend trip up to Durango to escape the desert heat and have a mini-honeymoon since we were unable to take one after our recent wedding. I called the night before to find out if rooms were available and Natasha was very helpful and accommodating over the phone. We ended up needing to bring our 2 dogs and this hotel accepted them which was a huge help in planning this last-minute trip. Our room overlooked the river, was quiet, clean and had plenty of space for us and our 2 large dogs. The bed and pillows were comfy and perfectly firm. It was so nice to be within easy walking distance of downtown and to be just a few feet from the Animas River Trail. Check-in went smooth, staff was helpful in recommending a good breakfast place (go to Carver's brewery! Great food and good prices for breakfast). We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and very much enjoyed the location. We plan to come back again this summer to see more of Durango and this is going to be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Choose the river side, you won't regret it! Plus it seemed like it might be a little louder bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night en-route to Denver by car. Was pleasantly surprised with the room which was large and spotlessly clean with two Queen beds and coffee/tea facilities. Nice location by the river. Durango was much more interesting than we had thought (great railway museum and good shops/restaurants in the main street) and wish we had stayed two nights to allow time for a day trip on the steam train to Silverton. Applebees restaurant on site was fine for a relaxing evening meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a $85. Dollar a night hotel, not $169. which we paid because we did not have a reservation and the town was very busy. I looked up the price for a reservation a week later and cannot understand how they get big money for very, very average accommodations. We have stayed in Durango during high season twice before, once at a historic hotel in town and at a large chain also in town with better rooms and amenities at a much lower price. The rooms are small, the so-called continental breakfast consisted of energy bars or packaged oatmeal. If you want to stay in the downtown area check out other hotels. You can get more for your money. No complaints about the staff. Everyone was very nice. They get an A+. The property a C-.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. I am truly sorry that you felt that our hotel was not fairly priced. Prices are based on the market we are in and the demand for rooms. When the demand increases in the town, prices increase across the entire market. Many of our guests stay here specifically for our close proximity to local attractions and the convenience of being on the river trail. We are priced significantly lower than the other hotels that boast the same qualities. We do offer discounts for AAA and AARP members, government and military and often have sales for guests that stay multiple nights, it is always best to ask a reservation agent about any discounts.

I apologize you did not like what we provide 24 hrs a day to our guests in the lobby. We are very careful not to say that we provide a continental breakfast because we do not. The oatmeal, bars, coffee, teas and hot chocolate are an additional complimentary amenity that we provide to our guests 24 hrs a day through out the entire stay, however, we do not claim it to be a breakfast and apologize if there was a misunderstanding.

Thank you again for the feedback. We do have more affordable prices in the winter time and hope that you will reconsider visiting us again then. Thank you and safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.