We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but it is a tourist town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pricey but it is a tourist town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location beats being on the main street with the masses of people and vehicle noise. Pool and hot tub were very nice but could have been cleaner. Room is dated but not smelly or dirty. Staff was superior in attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    78
    36
    18
    4
See reviews for
43
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff was friendly. The rooms are outdated. You can hear just about anything from the rooms next to you and from the outside. Our rate was about $140, totally not worth what you are paying for. This hotel is pet friendly, $10 per pet, per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a little weekend trip up to Durango to escape the desert heat and have a mini-honeymoon since we were unable to take one after our recent wedding. I called the night before to find out if rooms were available and Natasha was very helpful and accommodating over the phone. We ended up needing to bring our 2 dogs and this hotel accepted them which was a huge help in planning this last-minute trip. Our room overlooked the river, was quiet, clean and had plenty of space for us and our 2 large dogs. The bed and pillows were comfy and perfectly firm. It was so nice to be within easy walking distance of downtown and to be just a few feet from the Animas River Trail. Check-in went smooth, staff was helpful in recommending a good breakfast place (go to Carver's brewery! Great food and good prices for breakfast). We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and very much enjoyed the location. We plan to come back again this summer to see more of Durango and this is going to be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Choose the river side, you won't regret it! Plus it seemed like it might be a little louder bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night en-route to Denver by car. Was pleasantly surprised with the room which was large and spotlessly clean with two Queen beds and coffee/tea facilities. Nice location by the river. Durango was much more interesting than we had thought (great railway museum and good shops/restaurants in the main street) and wish we had stayed two nights to allow time for a day trip on the steam train to Silverton. Applebees restaurant on site was fine for a relaxing evening meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a $85. Dollar a night hotel, not $169. which we paid because we did not have a reservation and the town was very busy. I looked up the price for a reservation a week later and cannot understand how they get big money for very, very average accommodations. We have stayed in Durango during high season twice before, once at a historic hotel in town and at a large chain also in town with better rooms and amenities at a much lower price. The rooms are small, the so-called continental breakfast consisted of energy bars or packaged oatmeal. If you want to stay in the downtown area check out other hotels. You can get more for your money. No complaints about the staff. Everyone was very nice. They get an A+. The property a C-.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. I am truly sorry that you felt that our hotel was not fairly priced. Prices are based on the market we are in and the demand for rooms. When the demand increases in the town, prices increase across the entire market. Many of our guests stay here specifically for our close proximity to local attractions and the convenience of being on the river trail. We are priced significantly lower than the other hotels that boast the same qualities. We do offer discounts for AAA and AARP members, government and military and often have sales for guests that stay multiple nights, it is always best to ask a reservation agent about any discounts.

I apologize you did not like what we provide 24 hrs a day to our guests in the lobby. We are very careful not to say that we provide a continental breakfast because we do not. The oatmeal, bars, coffee, teas and hot chocolate are an additional complimentary amenity that we provide to our guests 24 hrs a day through out the entire stay, however, we do not claim it to be a breakfast and apologize if there was a misunderstanding.

Thank you again for the feedback. We do have more affordable prices in the winter time and hope that you will reconsider visiting us again then. Thank you and safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollinsville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located to downtown Durango. The rooms facing the river have a nice view. We appreciated that the hotel door opened right to our truck, so we could keep an eye on our mountain bikes, dirt bikes, and camp gear. However, that does allow for it to be a bit more noisy that other hotels. I could hear water from the shower when the people in the room next door where getting up and ready. You will also hear the train during the day. The pool was great for the kids and stayed open late, so they could swim after walking to main street for dinner. Breakfast was simply granola bars, oatmeal, and coffe, but again we just walked into town and ate. Overall the hotel is average, but fine for a night.

Room Tip: River front rooms have a nice view - you hear more traffic there but you are close to your car. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located within walking distance of Durango's charming shopping/dining district and set directly beside the river walk, this hotel suited our needs perfectly. The room was very clean. It had fresh bedding, decor, and a nice plasma TV. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was right. The room was kind of small but we only stayed one night and didn't need a large space. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.