We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right downtown, comfortable :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Save Saved
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Orangeburg, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, right downtown, comfortable :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a fine hotel; rooms are standard but comfortable. The location is why you want this one. On the backside is a river. On the front (across a slightly busy road) is downtown. You are 2-3 blocks from all the good storefronts and restaurants, which makes your Durango visit very convenient. The only problem I had was that the hot tub wasn't functional, and since I booked through a travel website, I didn't know that ahead of time (kind of the main reason I wanted to stay here). Other than that, I had a great stay and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    89
    43
    20
    4
See reviews for
47
82
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff at this hotel is wonderful. They let us check in early. The pet fee was only $10 which is cheaper than most hotels. The location is also great. Walking distance to downtown. However, the cleanliness of the rooms are horrible. Hair on the toilet seat, towels are worn, and carpet is dirty and faded. This hotel needs a lot of upgrading and renovation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

we stayed for a week over Thanksgiving and had a room facing the interior courtyard (across from the indoor pool) towards the back of the property which was perfect for access to our car and THE RIVER! this hotel backs up to the Animas River and has easy access to trails for walking/biking. we had Thanksgiving dinner at the DoubleTree which was a quick walk on the trail from Durango Downtown Inn and as it was right at dusk, we saw ~10 deer drinking water and then ran up the cliff on the other side.

1) location was perfect! you're a block from Main St and all the shops and restaurants; as well as a quick walk to the train station (we took a ride on the Polar Express). it's right off of 550 and 160 so it's almost impossible to get lost and we took day trips to Silverton (north on 550) and Four Corners/Mesa Verde (west on 160). we also drove around town a few different times to explore and it's close to 2 parks, a library, shops, restaurants, quick trip to Walmart, etc. plenty of places to eat (head to Oscar's Cafe in the little shopping center across the street for a GIANT breakfast and a taste of the local vibe).

2) we paid ~$100/night on hotels.com so it was worth the quality - i wouldn't pay full BAR for this place. it has an Applebees on site, but no free brekky; although they do offer oatmeal and coffee, i think. wifi was free, but you have to reestablish connection every 24 hrs.

3) we had 2 dbl bds with myself, my husband and 2 young boys and it was kinda tight. no biggie considering we were always out and about, but i wish we would've gotten the connecting room for sleeping as the dbl beds were TEENY! and not very comfy. very hard beds. also, the pillows were SMALL. like throw pillows on a couch. it was weird and awkward to sleep on. room was nice enough and clean. we had a fridge and a microwave which helped immensely!!! not sure if that's standard in all rooms, but it made a big difference with us.

4) maid service was prompt and thorough, but they came to our door at 830a two days in a row. no bueno. chill out. you're not a biz hotel and it was a holiday week. they did do a really good job of cleaning up the rooms and it was always refreshing to come back to :) they forgot to leave towels once, but that's no biggy. the soaps/shampoo/lotion they use are from The Body Shop and don't completely suck.

5) the AC/Heating unit was a big issue with us. there's not temp control/thermostat so you're either burning hot or freezing cold. we got up at least twice a night to turn off the heat and/or turn it back on (we had lows in the 20s when we were there). it was annoying!!!!

6) staff was really nice and helpful. that whole town had excellent customer service which did not go unnoticed :)

7) it's pet friendly!!! we didn't bring our girls (we'd definitely have had to get a connecting room if so), but it was great to see EVERYONE bringing their pets! seriously, this town has got to be the most petcentric place i've ever visited - was great!

all in all, definitely worth a stay! all my complaints are small (except the heating issue. boo on that.) and i'm really glad we stayed here. as this was our first trip to Durango and we def plan on returning, i can see ourselves staying here again for sure. we might check out the Strater or the DoubleTree to compare, but i would definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the back by the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love this hotel. It is just a hop and a skip to main street with tons of restaurants and clubs. My boyfriend and I frequent Durango as our getaway town and stay at the Durango Downtown Inn every time. Its super close to everything so walking/stumbling back to the room is easy. Its right on the rivertrail and has applebees connected to it. They'll bring late night orders straight to your room too. Also has a jacuzzi and sauna, heated indoor pool too. The staff always recognize us and continue to give us a great experiance every time we're here. Even if you just need a place to crash for the night so you can enjoy a night on the town, this is the place.

Room Tip: Riverside doubles have a sweet view, especially in the winter when the river is steaming
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Durango Downtown Inn's biggest asset is its location. It is on Camino Del Rio and right on the Animas River. The Animas River Trail passes by it. Durango's downtown is a few blocks away.

Other than that, my room was clean, but otherwise unspectacular. The absence of a refrigerator or a microwave was a minus.

I would have given this a 3.5 if fractional ratings were possible. Rounding up because of the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Downtown Inn was an excellent place for our family to stay. Great location, enjoyed the river walk and walking down Main Street..only 2 blocks away. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms that joined, which made it perfect with the children. Our granddaughter enjoyed the heated, indoor pool. Having Applebee's on the premises made for a great lunch. We travel with our little dog and this hotel accomadates pets. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Durango Downtown Inn. Located right on the river, an easy wlak to downtown Durango and many restaurants. The bed was very comfortable, a computer was available for the use of the guests at no charge in the lobby and the front desk staff were unfailingly polite.

Room Tip: Warning, though, there is no elevator. So, if you have trouble getting your suitcase or yourself to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.