We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location along river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Downtown Inn to your Saves list
Durango Downtown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific location along river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed one night and wished it was longer. We had a room on second floor overlooking the Animas River (extra cost was worth it) and had a great view (although the room access was via an outdoor walkway where other guests walked by and cars parked below). There was no elevator but someone helped us with luggage and did not even want to be tipped. Room was nice, pretty quiet, beds comfy, although TV was not flat screen. No free breakfast but there was oatmeal, coffee, and hot chocolate, in the lobby. Close to restaurants (Applebee's next door) and shops downtown. We walked along river and dipped our feet in, very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    108
    58
    24
    12
See reviews for
62
101
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I can't understand the positive reviews about this hotel. We love a nice Holiday Inn (and we stayed at two great ones on our 10 day trip out West), so when I learned this used to be a Holiday Inn, I thought it would be great. Well, it wasn't. Our room was way below Holiday Inn standards, to name a few of the issues: the room smelled stale and dusty, the upholstery on the chair in the room was ripped, the lamp on the bedside table was chipped and cracked, and the shower looked unclean to me. Other hotel guests woke us up early the next morning with slamming their room doors and starting their cars and whatnot. The parking is way too close to the rooms, to be sure. This room is one I would expect to pay $60 or less for, not $160 - the price is insane. Don't stay here unless all the other places in town are full and if you do, bring your shower shoes.

I gave the hotel one star only because the location is good and also they were responsive and polite when my husband brought one of our room's shortcomings to their attention. And also, they recommended an excellent place for brunch in Durango - Carver's Brewery. You must go there and get the California Eggs Benedict. Yumm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very nice staff, beautiful view of the river, an easy walk to downtown.
Would not stay with a family of four more than a couple of days as the accomodations are extremely cozy. However, everything was very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Reserved room for 2 nights & paid extra for river view room. If it wasn't for the fact that this property is located directly across from river & riverwalk, I would have changed to another motel. The room was basic (comparable to Motel 6 or Super 8). Toilet/bath area (separate from sink) was VERY small. When I first got to room upon arrival I used the sink to wash hands & orange/brown water came out. It eventually cleared, but every now & then would get a rotten egg smell when using the faucet. If you stay here be sure to bring your own drinking water. They have NO breakfast here, just oatmeal packets. They also offer hot chocolate & coffee 24 hrs in lobby. Applebee's is attached to motel. Breakfast there was good but a little pricey. If you go for dinner, don't order steak. Very tough & comes with old frozen veggies on the plate, which were also tough & dried out.

Room Tip: Upgrade to riverside room & bring your own drinking water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Great location, clean rooms and lovely view of the river! The staff went out of their way to make sure that we had a wonderful vacation experience. I would definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The number one rule Clark Howard has when traveling is to never, ever walk into a hotel without reservations because you will lose money. Well, coming back from Mesa Verde and Four Corners with no reservations - that's exactly what we did. Guess what? We got a better rate quote by fifteen dollars under anything I found on all the online hotel booking sites. The people were friendly, the rooms were clean and the location was great. What more do you need?
The only complaint I have has nothing to do with the hotel, but with the attached Applebees - don't waste your money, the food was slow and bad.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our room was very clean and had nice, updated decor. The hotel sits on the shore of the Animas River and there is a nice path to walk on directly behind the hotel. There is an Applebee's on site in case you get hungry. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The ONLY drawback is that the internet works very slow..........

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Downtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.