We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, very noisy.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango to your Saves list
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Charleston, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean room, very noisy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The air conditioning didn't work properly in the first room we had so we were moved to another room. The rooms were clean but later we noticed the first room we'd checked into was rented out to another guest even though the a/c didn't work. The rooms are accessed from the outside, therefore, if you are on the second floor, you must carry all of your luggage up the outside steps. This is an older Econo Lodge and the walls are VERY thin. There was a lot of traffic down Main Ave. and there was a couple fighting next door. We heard everything due to the thin walls. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. Every other hotel we stayed at during our trip at least had a refrigerator. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again. The breakfast sucked so we went to McDonald's.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtoothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, General Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Early in the summer we may have had a few minor issues as we were switching the system over to air conditioning. However, I am surprised to hear of someone having difficulties on a on a recent visit. The system is working great and producing cool air that is 55º or less. Perhaps the air was not on all day in that particular room and it might have taken a while to cool down the room. Typically we are sold out most nights during the summer.

We do offer a microwave and fridge in all of our suites. For all of our guest we have a microwave available at the front desk.

In the future please always feel free to press “0” on your in-room phone anytime and myself or the front desk staff will gladly check on any noise disturbance.

While we do not offer a full hot breakfast, but we do have a substantial continental breakfast which includes: waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, 2 kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

sincerely,

Earl Jack
General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stay at a lot of choice hotels and this one is a dump. Breakfast was the worst selection I have seen, there are ashtrays every 10 feet and a motorcycle washing station out front. Place should be about 50 bucks and the rooms are 150 in season. We checked out and left mid stay and changed hotels after complaining about the A/C not working. The guy on duty pointed out there was a box fan in the room. A BOX FAN for over $100? No thanks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We do not allow smoking in any of our rooms. However, we do still have a few guest who chose to smoke. For these guests we have placed a few smokers stations around the property so that they may responsibly dispose of their butts. We are always happy to immediately relocate a specific smokers station upon request. During the summer Durango hosts a variety of motorcycle and bicycling events. Many of these guest like to use our simple wash station to help them protect their investment. I know our summer rates may not be as low as other parts of the country, but we do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for the Durango market.

Sincerely,

Earl jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I called the hotel in April to book a room for 3 nights starting on 6-23-2014. When I arrived I was surprised by the run down look of the motel and when I tried to check in I was informed that they had booked me for only 1 night and were sold out for the next 2 nights. I did not accept the room for one night because I thought that the fact they sold my room to someone else and did not seem to care about there mistake they were not getting my business. If you call for reservations 2 months in advance you would think that your room will be available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowzerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This motel is tired and old fashion - an old TV set, no refrigerator, no microwave, a very basic and unhealthy breakfast and self serve. The bed was very soft covered with creased, non ironed linens. The reception staff were not very welcoming. A car is needed to drive to town....it may have been much better to check in one of the cluster of motels a bit further away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilouGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at 3 Econolodge hotels on this trip. The one in Durango was by far the worst.

Pros
Friendly front desk staff was very helpful
Decent enough bed

Cons:
Very small room. The king sized bed occupied most of the room.
Though there was a large closet, there wasn't a light in it. To find things , you needed a flashlight.
Small bathroom with a tiny sink. There was no place for toiletries except for the window sill.
Electrical socket in bathroom was marked "No Ground"
No iron/ironing board or hair dryer
No pool
Standard rooms lack a fridge/microwave
Cable TV doesn't receive NBC or CBS.
Single Wi-Fi access point in the office provided a very weak signal and a poor connection in our room. I ended using my cell phone as a hot spot so that I could get email.
Worst breakfast of the 3 Econolodges we booked. Only hot item was the Waffle station. Other properties have had eggs, one or two meat items, and fresh fruit. The bread/bagels looked like they had been there a while, and no one ate them. The room was small and cramped, and people had to sit on bar stools at a narrow counter.

We actually decided to leave Durango a night early in part because of the motel.

We're at a Comfort Suite in Santa Fe. It's FAR superior. I'll post a separate review in a day or two.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank craiger953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wish that any or all of these issues would have been brought to my attention during your stay so we could have fixed them for you. We could have possibly moved you into a larger suite with a microwave and fridge as well as a large vanity. Also, hair dryers and irons are always available to our guest upon request. We do, in fact, have NBC on channel 12 and CBS on channel 13 on every television at our hotel. I do apologize for any difficulty you may have had in finding these channels. As far as breakfast we do go above and beyond the typical continental breakfast and do not advertise a “hot breakfast”. I do agree the that upper mid-scale brand Comfort Suites, with their hot breakfast, is an excellent place to stay for those seeking the additional amenities commonly found at a mid-scale hotel.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguilera2122
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great room. Second floor. View of Main Street and mountains in the distance. Only drawback: you can hear every noise; neighbors, street sweepers at 4 am, garbage truck 6 am, traffic all night, kids (soccer tournament during our visit). Breakfast room was very small, when you enter people actually have to pivot or walk out of area to let you in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparklypixiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed there over spring break.Great location, great staff, clean rooms, bed's where very comfortable loved their pillows, .The kids had fun making waffles in the morning. Look forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lp4adp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We look forward to serving you again next spring break!

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#9 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Durango
Durango Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing