We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep ever.... Love love their pillows!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Durango
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Best sleep ever.... Love love their pillows!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed there over spring break.Great location, great staff, clean rooms, bed's where very comfortable loved their pillows, .The kids had fun making waffles in the morning. Look forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We look forward to serving you again next spring break!

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    26
    19
    18
See reviews for
24
31
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, Comfortable beds, super friendly front desk folks, reasonable price. No hot water the first morning of my stay. Plenty the next morning. Traffic noise is pretty loud in the rooms. NO hair dryer, iron, coffee pot...NOTHING in the rooms. Coffee isn't bad in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent experience at with us. We are the closest hotel on the north side to downtown and most guests do enjoy our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. Hair dyers, irons and coffee makers are standard in all of our suites and for all of our guests hair dryers and irons are available upon request. We are also more than happy to brew a pot of coffee in the lobby at any time for our guests

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Durango Colorado a few weeks ago. Earl was at the front desk and was very helpful. The place is worn and could use some fresh paint and new carpeting, but the price is what attracted us to stay there. As long as the beds are OK, the room quiet and the shower hot, I am a happy traveler.

Room Tip: Short drive to the center of Durango
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are please you enjoyed our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. I am pleased to say that all of our rooms were freshly painted last year and that all of our bathrooms will be newly renovated in time for this years summer season. Again, thank you for your review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The service, personal assistance we received was great. Earl made our stay so much better by his friendliness and willingness to help with directions and information. His actions with helping us book the Durango to Silverton train ride made our trip easier. His personal experiences helped with our decision making on an experience we will never forget, much, much better. The room was decent in size and cleanliness but a little dated. Cost seemed to be in the average range for this area. Location was fine and the local transportation was just down the street.

Room Tip: Stayed tucked in a corner room and did not have any noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip on the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road and your stay with us! Myself and all the staff really do strive to provide our guests with highest level of customer service. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean, staff was cordial, the location was close to town.
The room showed its age and needs updating. Cracks in the bathroom floor, creaky floor in front of the bath room and a very outdated thermostat and temp control.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We do our best to provide our guest with a great stay at one of the most competitive rates in town. Our location, the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, is also very convenient for our guests.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was the least expensive place we could find in Durango, and considering that, it was very good. The rooms were clean, the breakfast basic, but good, and the service excellent. Sam at the front desk was very attentive; when I called and asked for a blow dryer, he was at our door in minutes and brought one.
Our stay was in between seasons, so the heat was not working yet, and it got a bit chilly overnight. Also, the property faces the highway, so we could hear the traffic. For me, the big drawback was that there was no pool, but I knew that beforehand.
If you are looking for a place wihout luxuries, but with the basics and friendly service, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found Sam to be so accommodating. We do strive to provide our guests with the best possible value at a great rate. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very basic motel, but more importantly, it was clean and reasonably priced. We were surprised that a light breakfast was also included... Loved the raisin toast and cream cheese! What a pleasant and friendly person Earl is! After hours on the road a welcoming smile and positive attitude is so appreciated. When we asked him to suggest a place to eat, he offered several. We chose the Texas BarBQ and were happy with the food and price. In a tourist town like Durango, it is refreshing to find a clean, inexpensive room. Only complaint....would like firmer pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff members try hard to assist our guests and be ready to offer helpful area suggestions. Again, we are pleased you found our hotel to be just what you need along the road.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.