We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night in Durango” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango to your Saves list
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Prescott
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One Night in Durango”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very basic motel, but more importantly, it was clean and reasonably priced. We were surprised that a light breakfast was also included... Loved the raisin toast and cream cheese! What a pleasant and friendly person Earl is! After hours on the road a welcoming smile and positive attitude is so appreciated. When we asked him to suggest a place to eat, he offered several. We chose the Texas BarBQ and were happy with the food and price. In a tourist town like Durango, it is refreshing to find a clean, inexpensive room. Only complaint....would like firmer pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff members try hard to assist our guests and be ready to offer helpful area suggestions. Again, we are pleased you found our hotel to be just what you need along the road.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    28
    19
    20
See reviews for
27
36
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We checked in and it was very busy. There was a sign in the room about the heat not turned on until October and the AC on from April- Oct. We set the temperature as high as it would go. It was in the 30s overnight. Both of us froze. The sink & tub drained very slow and the toilet had issues. When I complained in the morning I was told there was a sign in the room for us to ask for a space heater. (Neither my husband or I saw the sign) Apparently we could have called and gone down to the office & got a space heater. If the management knew there was a problem, they should have place a space heater in each room. The heat/cooling should depend on the weather not the calendar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I do apologize for your experience. You happened to stay at our hotel just days before switching the system over to heat for the winter. A phone call to the front desk and we would have been happy to bring a space heater to your room to ensure you were nice and toasty. Any time a guest has a concern please call the front desk right away. Usually, we can solve what ever the problem happens to be on the spot.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Place was clean and ready...after days on the road rooms begin to look the same. This room was large so it gave us room to really stretch out. Frig...two big beds...clean bath. Earl at the desk made the difference. He acted like he really cared if we stayed there! When there was no hair dryer in the room, I called and he offered to bring one himself. I can't comment on the breakfast as we slept through it! Guess that says room was comfy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay!!! All our our staff really do above and beyond to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks again for the review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great stay here with 2 adults, 2 teens and a toddler. Plenty of room and comfortable and easy access to everything. Front staff was friendly. Breakfast was better than most continental. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. With 2 king beds and a pull out sofa, the 2 king suite is by far our most spacious room. It is truly a great value for large familes or small groups traveling together. Again thank you so much for taking time to post your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Durango has higher rates -- Econo Lodge is not as expensive as some ($112) but really its not that good. -- the rooms are outdated -- the ac/heating needs to be updated -- it did not cool very well and we had to pull the fan in the closet out to circulate air. -- breakfast was okay -- if you can afford it, I would look for a better location.

The upside is that it was located close to the Trolley Pick up to go downtown.

Room Tip: not much traffic at night on the main street when it would be normal bed time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to post a review. We do strive to offer our guests a very competitive rate for Durango area. In addition to a trolley pick up directly across the street from the hotel, we are also the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. You're right even during peak season the traffic really dies down in the evenings. While not a “full hot breakfast, our breakfast does far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute to Santa Fe. The motel had a good location, the room was kind of clean (it seemed like it used to be a smoking room), the decor was rundown; however, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We paid $165 for a Thursday night, which struck us a very expensive, albeit in the range of similar motels in Durango. I would give a half-hearted recommendation of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We have been 100% non-smoking for many years now, so I am very disappointed and surprised you encountered any odor of smoking in your room. I am pleased that you found our staff to be so helpful and courteous. I know our summer rates may not be as low as other parts of the country, but we do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for the Durango market.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small with no amenities, I.e. no hair dryer, no coat rack, no coffee pot, no laundry facilities. The continental breakfast is lame - all carbs, no fruit or protein plus the break room holds 4-5 people comfortably. However, the bed and break room were clean and the hotel location is good. You can catch the free trolley across the street to go down town or anywhere on Main Street. I would stay here again if I couldn't find another room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We do have hair dryers and irons upon request. We also have a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in all of our suites and all of our rooms feature a closet to hang your coat. For guests staying in a standard room, we have a microwave available any time at the front desk and are always happy to brew up a fresh pot of coffee. Our breakfast far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Durango
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.