We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Froze without heat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Froze without heat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We checked in and it was very busy. There was a sign in the room about the heat not turned on until October and the AC on from April- Oct. We set the temperature as high as it would go. It was in the 30s overnight. Both of us froze. The sink & tub drained very slow and the toilet had issues. When I complained in the morning I was told there was a sign in the room for us to ask for a space heater. (Neither my husband or I saw the sign) Apparently we could have called and gone down to the office & got a space heater. If the management knew there was a problem, they should have place a space heater in each room. The heat/cooling should depend on the weather not the calendar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I do apologize for your experience. You happened to stay at our hotel just days before switching the system over to heat for the winter. A phone call to the front desk and we would have been happy to bring a space heater to your room to ensure you were nice and toasty. Any time a guest has a concern please call the front desk right away. Usually, we can solve what ever the problem happens to be on the spot.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    24
    19
    17
See reviews for
23
29
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Place was clean and ready...after days on the road rooms begin to look the same. This room was large so it gave us room to really stretch out. Frig...two big beds...clean bath. Earl at the desk made the difference. He acted like he really cared if we stayed there! When there was no hair dryer in the room, I called and he offered to bring one himself. I can't comment on the breakfast as we slept through it! Guess that says room was comfy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay!!! All our our staff really do above and beyond to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks again for the review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great stay here with 2 adults, 2 teens and a toddler. Plenty of room and comfortable and easy access to everything. Front staff was friendly. Breakfast was better than most continental. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. With 2 king beds and a pull out sofa, the 2 king suite is by far our most spacious room. It is truly a great value for large familes or small groups traveling together. Again thank you so much for taking time to post your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Durango has higher rates -- Econo Lodge is not as expensive as some ($112) but really its not that good. -- the rooms are outdated -- the ac/heating needs to be updated -- it did not cool very well and we had to pull the fan in the closet out to circulate air. -- breakfast was okay -- if you can afford it, I would look for a better location.

The upside is that it was located close to the Trolley Pick up to go downtown.

Room Tip: not much traffic at night on the main street when it would be normal bed time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to post a review. We do strive to offer our guests a very competitive rate for Durango area. In addition to a trolley pick up directly across the street from the hotel, we are also the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. You're right even during peak season the traffic really dies down in the evenings. While not a “full hot breakfast, our breakfast does far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute to Santa Fe. The motel had a good location, the room was kind of clean (it seemed like it used to be a smoking room), the decor was rundown; however, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We paid $165 for a Thursday night, which struck us a very expensive, albeit in the range of similar motels in Durango. I would give a half-hearted recommendation of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We have been 100% non-smoking for many years now, so I am very disappointed and surprised you encountered any odor of smoking in your room. I am pleased that you found our staff to be so helpful and courteous. I know our summer rates may not be as low as other parts of the country, but we do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for the Durango market.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small with no amenities, I.e. no hair dryer, no coat rack, no coffee pot, no laundry facilities. The continental breakfast is lame - all carbs, no fruit or protein plus the break room holds 4-5 people comfortably. However, the bed and break room were clean and the hotel location is good. You can catch the free trolley across the street to go down town or anywhere on Main Street. I would stay here again if I couldn't find another room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We do have hair dryers and irons upon request. We also have a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in all of our suites and all of our rooms feature a closet to hang your coat. For guests staying in a standard room, we have a microwave available any time at the front desk and are always happy to brew up a fresh pot of coffee. Our breakfast far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. Close by is a sweet walking path right by the river, close to the library, and not far from the main drag. The staff are friendly and helpful. They obviously put a lot of thought into what they have in their continental breakfast, it is far superior to most. Their coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly. We have given much thought to our breakfast selection and try to offer as many items as possible. We are also proud to be the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, making us very conveniently located relative to many attractions.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.