We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merely Average But Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Merely Average But Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute to Santa Fe. The motel had a good location, the room was kind of clean (it seemed like it used to be a smoking room), the decor was rundown; however, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We paid $165 for a Thursday night, which struck us a very expensive, albeit in the range of similar motels in Durango. I would give a half-hearted recommendation of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We have been 100% non-smoking for many years now, so I am very disappointed and surprised you encountered any odor of smoking in your room. I am pleased that you found our staff to be so helpful and courteous. I know our summer rates may not be as low as other parts of the country, but we do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for the Durango market.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    23
    18
    17
See reviews for
22
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small with no amenities, I.e. no hair dryer, no coat rack, no coffee pot, no laundry facilities. The continental breakfast is lame - all carbs, no fruit or protein plus the break room holds 4-5 people comfortably. However, the bed and break room were clean and the hotel location is good. You can catch the free trolley across the street to go down town or anywhere on Main Street. I would stay here again if I couldn't find another room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We do have hair dryers and irons upon request. We also have a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in all of our suites and all of our rooms feature a closet to hang your coat. For guests staying in a standard room, we have a microwave available any time at the front desk and are always happy to brew up a fresh pot of coffee. Our breakfast far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. Close by is a sweet walking path right by the river, close to the library, and not far from the main drag. The staff are friendly and helpful. They obviously put a lot of thought into what they have in their continental breakfast, it is far superior to most. Their coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly. We have given much thought to our breakfast selection and try to offer as many items as possible. We are also proud to be the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, making us very conveniently located relative to many attractions.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Young lady that checked us in was nice & helpful. After late check-in, quickly discovered sheets on sleeper sofa were stained with something yellow. AC was slow in cooling down unit and too small for the room so temperature in room felt warm & stuffy throughout the night. Room smelled funny. Doors all stuck and made lots of noise opening. Wifi signal was horrible. Floor was filthy. Breakfast was lacking, orange juice machine with no OJ.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are very pleased you found our font desk agent to be friendly and helpful. Not sure why the WiFi signal would not have been strong in your room, as it is in a direct line of sight with our outdoor antenna. I truly wish we would have been permitted to come and check the air conditioning settings for you. While we are not able to offer a full hot breakfast, we do have a substantial continental breakfast which includes: waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, 2 kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. Next time your in Durango, we look forward to serving you again.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Night manager had chip on his shoulder. He asked our wedding party to quiet down, which we did and apparently wasn't quiet enough. He insisted that no one could be outside on the balcony smoking after 11, and told us we needed to go to bed. What is this, Summer Camp??!?!? There are no lights out policies at motels. Then he proceeded to call the police and have people who had already gone to bed, removed from the motel. Nonsense. This man was obviously bored.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We do not have a lights out policy at our hotel. We do, however, believe that our guests should respect our other guests right to a good night sleep. We regret that in this extremely rare case, after multiple requests for these guest to quiet down and after multiple complaints from other guest who were disturbed, we were forced to call the police in order to assist us in removing these guests from the property. We truly wish a different outcome could have been reached.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Basic hotel, nothing fancy.

Check in, check out, easy no questions asked.

Room on first floor, no A/C working but had box fan for air.

Free breakfast was just donuts or cereal, very basic.

Decent bathroom, shower. Room was clean.



For one night,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Confused by the poor ratings by others on this property. My stay was very good. Clean, comfortable room. Adequate breakfast. Good shower. Price paid seemed fair for the room that was provided. The most negative thing may be the location on the edge of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay. While our property is not in the heart of historic downtown, our location at 20th and Main does make us the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.