We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, good location, a little away from city proper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, good location, a little away from city proper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Basic hotel, nothing fancy.

Check in, check out, easy no questions asked.

Room on first floor, no A/C working but had box fan for air.

Free breakfast was just donuts or cereal, very basic.

Decent bathroom, shower. Room was clean.



For one night,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    28
    19
    18
See reviews for
26
36
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Confused by the poor ratings by others on this property. My stay was very good. Clean, comfortable room. Adequate breakfast. Good shower. Price paid seemed fair for the room that was provided. The most negative thing may be the location on the edge of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay. While our property is not in the heart of historic downtown, our location at 20th and Main does make us the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place was awful. Our room was not very clean, the tub was stained. The bed was uncomfortable and we were glad to be out of there after one night.
The only redeeming quality was the front desk personnel. The girl that checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
Definitely need to update the rooms. Glad we were there outside of season and only paid half of what they charge in season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are pleased that your encounter with our front desk staff was positive. We are deeply concerned that your in-room experience did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any discomfort you may have had with our beds. Most guest prefer our new Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top mattresses, over our old beds. We would love the opportunity to discuss the specific issues you had with the room. Please call us at 970-247-4242.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here on a recent road trip with the family and enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was very good. There was a good variety to eat and the kids loved it. The breakfast room was really small but sufficient for the hotel. The desk staff was nice and helpful with local area information. The rooms were a bit cramped but they had all the amenities that were needed. The bathrooms were a bit outdated but again, had everything that I needed. We wished that there was a jacuzzi to sit in after a long day driving and to entertain the kids. Overall, we had a good stay and we would stay their again, unless we were staying for more than one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We offer a wide variety of room types from a single queen bed, all the way up to a larger suite with 2 king beds and a sofa bed. We are very fortunate to have the “National Gold Award Winning” Durango Recreation Center just a few short blocks away. The Durango Recreation Center offers locals and visitors alike access to world class fitness and aquatic facilities. We look forward to see you family back in Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The stay at the Econo Lodge was very relaxing and the people at the front desk are very helpful and friendly. The people at the front desk were able to answer any questions that I had. They also were able to guide my husband and I where the good places to eat were. Dennys is a good place to eat. Don't forget to try the zipline, it is an adventure.

Room Tip: bottom floor in corner was louder, try getting something in the middle on top floor not as nosiey,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge – Durango. With more restaurants per capita than San Francisco, Durango is truly a great place for dinning out. Durango offers a surprisingly large selection of restaurants from casual to upscale and a wide variety of ethnic cuisines. The majority of which can be easily reached using the city’s free trolly, which runs every 20 min and picks up right across the street from our hotel.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge – Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Without a doubt my favorite place to stay in Durango. I was impressed with the friendly staff. Everyone treated my wife and I with such warmth and kindness. The rooms were clean and large enough that our suitcases were out of the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is well located, however, it is VERY old and the rooms can barely fit a bed in it. The bathroom looks like it's from the 1970's and the only "table" in the room was literally falling apart to the point that you couldn't put anything on it. Good in an absolute emergency, and the staff was friendly, but the room was left to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.