We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realm Tour '12 Final Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Realm Tour '12 Final Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Drove into Durango late, no reservations. The story of our trip - fishing for accommodations after dark. Makes it the adventure, though.

A brief drive past the High $$ places that line Hwy 550 into Durango led us into downtown Durango. We were just about to go back to the highway when we spotted the Econo Lodge sign on the Ease side of town (on Main Street, also Hwy 550) with that ever welcome word to the late nite traveler: "Vacancy"!

The courteous clerk on duty quickly checked us in, the rate was one of the lowest I paid on our trip, and we headed off to the room.

What a pleasant surprise!

The rooms are older, but quite clean and tidy. Well decorated, plenty of lights, no ominous cracks in the ceiling.

The nicely appointed bathroom is nicely tucked across the back of the VERY spacious room. The bed was quite comfy - not too hard, not too soft, JUST right!

The location is very quiet and well off the road - no trains or trucks rumbling past in the night. And access to downtown is VERY convenient. We visited the local Irish Pub just down the street and got a GRAND tour by the MOST gracious bartender who, although closing up, kept us company as we enjoyed a Guinness (or two :) ).

We plan to stay there next trip through Durango - there was simply NO other hotel on our trip that was as enjoyable after a long days drive.

I cannot say enough good about this motel - BTW, it is one of the _first motels in the country, has been kept up very nicely and the aura of happy travellers permeates the grounds.

A very, VERY good place to stay in Durango - HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in ground floor room near the corner - the morning crew did present something of a "henf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you found your stay to be so pleasant. We take great pride in the condition and cleanliness of guest rooms. All of our rooms have Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, making for a great night’s sleep. Were also very happy you found our location to be so convenient. Thanks again for the kind review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    26
    19
    18
See reviews for
25
33
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The real "find" in Durango is the Econo Lodge. We stayed there during our 2012 trip for one night. It was very nice, and the staff was excellent.

When making reservations, we discovered their spacious suite was not available using Choice points. However, we contacted the manager and he immediately took care of us.

On the night we arrived, we realized we had left our 6-page itinerary at home. We had it on the computer, but we had left the printout. I inquired at the front desk to find a business center in Durango where I could print the 6 pages (without them, we were lost). The clerk gladly printed them for us and wouldn't even let us pay for the paper.

The next morning, our hair dryer died. The front desk provided a loaner. The room was spacious with 2 king beds, a large sitting area, and a sink located outside of the bathroom, which we prefer.

We were concerned about staying at Econo Lodge, as it appears to be near the bottom of the Choice properties. However, we heartily recommend the Econo Lodge in Durango for price, amenities, location, and an excellent staff who appreciates their clientele.

Room Tip: Their king suite (2 king beds) is on the front side of the north end of the hotel. It has its own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. With 2 king beds and a pull out sofa, the 2 king suite is by far our most spacious room. It is truly a great value for large family’s or small groups traveling together. Again thank you so much for taking time to post your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge – Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff at the EconoLodge was wonderful. Brittney was very helpful when I forgot something, but also went above and beyond to handle a concern that I had. She made specific arrangements and then made a follow up call to my room. The rooms are basic, but clean. It is a good value, great location, with a friendly and comforting atmosphere.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room since the property is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Desk at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the EconoLodge - Durango. I was more than delighted to help you with any accommodations that you needed, in fact it made my day. I hope you enjoyed your stay and the Durango experience. Thank you so much for your time and effort in posting your review.

Brittany Brewer
Front Desk
Econo Lodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were on a car trip to Colorado to see the colors. We paid for a room on September 23rd 2012 at the Econo Lodge in Durango, CO. It was a very poor experience for us on check-in. Management and desk personnel were rude and uncooperative to our requests. We would not stay again and would not recommend this motel to other Tripadvisors travelers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are very concerned to hear of your experience with our hotel. On behalf of everyone at the Econo Lodge of Durango, please accept our apologies. We would love the opportunity to discuss the matter with you. Please contact us directly at the hotel 970-247-4242.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
Econo Lodge – Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room was quite clean and the location close enough to walk to the downtown area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in offering suggestions of what to do and where to go during my stay. The breakfast, while not extravagant, was also quite adequate for my needs. All in all, I found it to be a very good value for the price and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Staff were excellent and room was spotless. This motel shows pride of ownership and we and our friends really enjoyed our stay. This is not your typical Econo. It is way, way better. Beds are all pillow-top!! Enjoyed the waffles and breakfast selection. Will be back.

Room Tip: Various room sizes and suites. Some very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We pulled into Durango without reservations. Had a good experience at Econo Lodge in Cortez, CO. The price was unbelievable. We were able to stay longer because of the rate. The room was clean and more than adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.