We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected For Budget-friendly Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Durango

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Durango
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better Than Expected For Budget-friendly Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

On our recent short 2-day in-and-out visit to Durango to take care of some family business, we needed a budget friendly place to stay for our family of 4. There were no vacancies in any of the Best Westerns or other budget-friendly places in town. After searching online and finally calling, the Econo Lodge was the only place in town with any openings for our needs. I was very nervous at first after reading the reviews on here BUT after arriving very pleasantly surprised. They allowed us to check-in at 4am and were quick and friendly. Our rooms were very clean with new, fresh bedding, mattresses and linens. The bathroom and room was appropriately stocked and there were no strange odors. The shower worked with actual water pressure (hard to find in these under $90/night motels). We were surrounded by other friendly tourists and a staff that was attentive to any of our small requests. Maid service was not intrusive and very thorough with them restocking all the towels and supplies. For the price, the continental breakfast was great! Upon leaving, the staff asked for feedback and ideas for improvements, since apparently they are in the process of updating the motel gradually. That is their biggest drawback- don't go expecting a fully renovated motel. It shows it's age on the exterior and interior but you can see where they are updating when they can. Overall, if you're looking for a no-frills, basic, very wallet easy stay then don't have any fear staying here for your quick stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper level to stay away from street noise and the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
18
25
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawnee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Room was very clean but very dated. We had a blue tub and toilet! Sits on very busy main street, lots of traffic noise all night. It was OK but felt the 94.99/night was way too expensive for the quality of the hotel. There are not a lot of choices of inexpensive hotels in Durango that are clean though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Durango, Colo while bringing our son to Fort Lewis College. I was very thankful to find lodging close to the college and that would not break our budget yet be nice accommodations. I had read some not so great reviews, but the pictures on the web site, the room availability and $99 per night made the decision easy. We were not disappointed! Clean, comfortable, updated room and bathroom. Free Wi Fi if you need it and nice cable TV. We stayed two nights, beds were comfortable, bathroom clean. We hung towels up as requested and we still found fresh towels and new soap /shampoo when we returned! Nice! We did not eat the continental breakfast either morning as the college was feeding us. That is a nice bonus for budget conscience travelers! We plan on staying again for homecoming weekend in October!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, did not notice any extra noise. It was a hot weekend, not sure if the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you can get another place to stay grab it. The Econo Lodge was not as clean as I would expect, even for an Econo Lodge. The bed had mold and or mildew on the box spring.
The cleaning staff did no clean my room one day and when I asked to have the manager call me about it, he never did. The front desk staff was arrogant and unfriendly. The "free Breakfast" was...well, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The front desk service was very poor. One person was arrogant and the other had no authority to deal with a negative situation. The room was only average. There was no coffe maker . The bedding was below average. The location is good. The worst thing was the breakfsat. Very minimal and no place to sit. The bets thing was the location and the worst thing was the breakfast and value received.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

When we turned down the bed there was a cashew nut between the sheets. Obviously the sheets had not been changed. When we complained to the hotel personnel, both young people, their response was, "I'm sorry." The breakfast was coffee and a bagel. This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Don't go!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Considering the pricing of hotels in Durango, I suppose this was a bargain. However, the only really good thing I can say is the beds were comfortable. The room was very small & crowded, bath & vanity area small with stains on the counter top, tub area needs good cleaning. A cute wallpaper border does not a great hotel room make! Please get the elbow grease out & clean this place up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge
Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.