We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Durango to your Saves list
Quality Inn Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Prescott, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here after a long drive from Denver. While it was older it was clean and the staff was friendly. Wifi was hit or miss but worked better than most hotels. Durango is cool town one must check out! I walked downtown from this place and there is a neat walking trail that follows the river all the way into town. Overall if you are OK with an older clean hotel with friendly people then this place will suit you just fine. I stayed here because it was the only room I could find and was not disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Brando F,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and we thank you for taking to share your experience with us. Our hotel is older (we like to think of it as antique ;) and I am glad that you felt that it was well taken care of, and upgraded for you comfort. We all pull together to ensure that our hotel is kept clean, comfortable, and up to date.

Our entire team works hard for each one of our guests, and just love hearing when our guests are happy! We hope to see you again on your future trips to Durango. Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit.

Until next time,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
59
77
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After staying in a bunch of hotels for a week, that were average at best. This hotel was the amazing. Very nice receptionist, check in was easy and fast. Nice pool and 2 nice hot tubs, my kids were thrilled. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast was hot, coffee was awesome, and there was a wide selection of breakfast food options. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay, and the "little extras" provided. I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We are so proud to be the "Best Quality Inn in Texas!"

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope if you are back in Durango again, you will come back and see us. Have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This motel (not Inn) looks very cheap and rundown from outside. Inside rooms very ordinary, not modern. Motel is right on Main St. which is also the main highway through town, so lots of road noise even in back building. Also right next to train tracks which is not scenic (can't see it due to trees) but very loud with horn. Kids will enjoy small pool. Motel is nonsmoking and parking is right outside the room so loud guests were up late at night in parking lot partying and smoking. Breakfast room is small, breakfast is free but usual free breakfast fare. Internet connection free but hard to access, need different site depending on which building so need to start over if in breakfast room. Front desk said one business computer available but slow connection so don't bother. Finally, hot water in shower only lasted less than a minute, so had to keep turning shower off and on to get any hot water at all. I had expected more because I usually find good hotels through tripadvisor reviews.

Room Tip: Back building will give only a very slight improvement from road noise but then will have more train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear LmomNY,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel, and I am so sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Here at the Quality Inn Durango happy guests are our #1 priority.

Noise is not a normal complaint that we have, and the Durango train is usually a fun highlight for our guests. We are located in town, and right off the river, so I can see how the sounds can be a concern. I will personally be sure to check out internet. We do have multiple routers to ensure high signal, but each router accesses the internet with the same passcode. If you had to re-log in when you moved locations, there may have been a problem, and I will see to it that it gets fixed! As for breakfast, we have been improving our breakfast with healthy and fresh items. Some of the new offerings include: eggs cracked in house, house chopped potatoes, homemade gravy, and numerous gluten free items. If there is something specific that you were missing, or would like to see added, please don't hesitate to let us know as we are always looking to improve.

If you have any further details please feel free to email me personally at gm.co405@choicehotels.com. Any comments a suggestions are very valuable to all of us here at the Quality Inn Durango.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall, our stay at this inn was fine - nothing stellar but nothing horrible. The staff at check in was helpful and courteous. We reserved two rooms and were placed in completely different buildings (due to having different room types) - since I'd reserved pretty far in advance it just seemed as though they could have placed us closer. Our room was very clean and had some nice touches (chalkboard, rubber duckie for the kids' bath). It was spacious overall but a little tight with the sofabed open.

On the downside, our refrigerator did not work (kind of a big problem since we had a cooler full of food); the fridge in the other room worked but was off when we checked in and took hours to cool down. The WiFi did not really work very well. The breakfast area was ridiculously small and we had to eat in our room. It's not the fault of the hotel, but there were several parties of extremely rude guests making a lot of noise at night and early in the morning; and as it's motel-style accommodations you can certainly hear this type of guest very clearly.

The king bed was very comfy, and my kids (5 year olds) had no complaints about the sofabed. The pillows were strange - these kind of square small bed pillows rather than standard-sized pillows. Maybe there was a stash of real pillows somewhere. They flattened out a bit with use and looked slightly more normal in the morning.

Our stay here was pleasant enough though I'm not sure that I'd bend over backwards to stay there again.

Room Tip: The King bed/sofabed rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests, and use this information to make improvements for future guests.

Although it looks like you enjoyed many parts of your stay, there were some areas that could have been improved. We have known that our pillows have not been up to our standards, or our guests. Thankfully, Choice Hotels recently accepted a new pillow that is now brand approved , and they are a much higher quality. We have already started replacing our old pillows with the new and improved ones. We have also been udating and renevating our rooms this past year, and part of this renevation includes our chalkboard walls! I am glad to hear that you and your children were able to enjoy this new feature. Our goal is to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations, and we hope these changes will help us reach that goal!

Thank you so much for providing us with your input, and we hope that you will come again on your next visit through Durango.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson
& The Quality Inn Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked here based on other reviews and pricing and found this to be the best value with good reviews. Our stay here did not disappoint. The rooms were small, but we were staying just one night and we had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean. Our little one (and heck, even us) enjoyed the chalkboard. We didn't get to try out the swimming pool, but our little one sure wanted too! It looked clean and inviting and we saw folks enjoying it. The breakfast was really good, something for everyone, the health conscious, the gluten intolerant, the little one loved making her own waffle. My husband enjoyed the freshly made eggs. The room was small and I wasn't sure we were going to be able to eat, but with a little patience, we enjoyed our breakfast very much. The staff made our stay though, everyone from first check in to check out, including the breakfast help, were friendly, welcoming and very helpful as they guided us to good dinner and visitor's options.

Room Tip: We were in the back toward the mountain and a bit further off the main road. The room was quiet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast as well. We work hard at providing fresh, healthy, and homemade options for our guests. Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will stay with us again during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the outside is nothing special but the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good brittany in the breakfast area was great. the trolley up and down the main street was nice. take a walk out back by the river and watch the train go by

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent four nights,very nice and well maintained pool,very comfortable clean rooms,good breakfast,great location,excellent staff.Resteraunts,bar,grocery stores near by,located near historic downtown Durango.Stay here you wont ne dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Address: 2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.