We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent rooms, but a few downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Woburn, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent rooms, but a few downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall, our stay at this inn was fine - nothing stellar but nothing horrible. The staff at check in was helpful and courteous. We reserved two rooms and were placed in completely different buildings (due to having different room types) - since I'd reserved pretty far in advance it just seemed as though they could have placed us closer. Our room was very clean and had some nice touches (chalkboard, rubber duckie for the kids' bath). It was spacious overall but a little tight with the sofabed open.

On the downside, our refrigerator did not work (kind of a big problem since we had a cooler full of food); the fridge in the other room worked but was off when we checked in and took hours to cool down. The WiFi did not really work very well. The breakfast area was ridiculously small and we had to eat in our room. It's not the fault of the hotel, but there were several parties of extremely rude guests making a lot of noise at night and early in the morning; and as it's motel-style accommodations you can certainly hear this type of guest very clearly.

The king bed was very comfy, and my kids (5 year olds) had no complaints about the sofabed. The pillows were strange - these kind of square small bed pillows rather than standard-sized pillows. Maybe there was a stash of real pillows somewhere. They flattened out a bit with use and looked slightly more normal in the morning.

Our stay here was pleasant enough though I'm not sure that I'd bend over backwards to stay there again.

Room Tip: The King bed/sofabed rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests, and use this information to make improvements for future guests.

Although it looks like you enjoyed many parts of your stay, there were some areas that could have been improved. We have known that our pillows have not been up to our standards, or our guests. Thankfully, Choice Hotels recently accepted a new pillow that is now brand approved , and they are a much higher quality. We have already started replacing our old pillows with the new and improved ones. We have also been udating and renevating our rooms this past year, and part of this renevation includes our chalkboard walls! I am glad to hear that you and your children were able to enjoy this new feature. Our goal is to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations, and we hope these changes will help us reach that goal!

Thank you so much for providing us with your input, and we hope that you will come again on your next visit through Durango.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson
& The Quality Inn Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    77
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
67
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked here based on other reviews and pricing and found this to be the best value with good reviews. Our stay here did not disappoint. The rooms were small, but we were staying just one night and we had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean. Our little one (and heck, even us) enjoyed the chalkboard. We didn't get to try out the swimming pool, but our little one sure wanted too! It looked clean and inviting and we saw folks enjoying it. The breakfast was really good, something for everyone, the health conscious, the gluten intolerant, the little one loved making her own waffle. My husband enjoyed the freshly made eggs. The room was small and I wasn't sure we were going to be able to eat, but with a little patience, we enjoyed our breakfast very much. The staff made our stay though, everyone from first check in to check out, including the breakfast help, were friendly, welcoming and very helpful as they guided us to good dinner and visitor's options.

Room Tip: We were in the back toward the mountain and a bit further off the main road. The room was quiet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast as well. We work hard at providing fresh, healthy, and homemade options for our guests. Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will stay with us again during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the outside is nothing special but the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good brittany in the breakfast area was great. the trolley up and down the main street was nice. take a walk out back by the river and watch the train go by

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent four nights,very nice and well maintained pool,very comfortable clean rooms,good breakfast,great location,excellent staff.Resteraunts,bar,grocery stores near by,located near historic downtown Durango.Stay here you wont ne dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, OH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Durango. When we arrived we found a little ducky wearing a fireman's helmet. We also had makeup remover wipes. The staff here bent over backwards to help us. Our large mini refrigerator wasn't cooling, so while we were away, the replaced it and transferred all of our stuff. The breakfast was yummy too. One day we had scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage and home fries and the second was sausage and gravy. The girl working the breakfast area was making the food in the background. The ice machine is in an odd area but it works. They also have a continental breakfast if guests would prefer that. Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor in the 1st building above the office. They also have a small area in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not by the breakfast area. Everyone has to walk by these rooms on the 2nd floor to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have a positive experience with us, and encourages our team in all their efforts and hard work. I hope you will come visit us again, and thank you for choosing our hotel during your Durango visit.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were disappointed that our request was not honored, even though we called before arriving and noted our request in our initial reservation. Call the night before if you have special requests. That being said, the room was clean and quiet (after we had complain once about noisy neighbors). The location is not anywhere near downtown, but the trolly is free and stops across the street, tho we drove in the evening to town. The staff was friendly, including the breakfast server. The price was not a bargain, but for Durango it was competitive I guess.
Bed was comfortable. Towels could have been a little nicer.

Room Tip: Take the free trolly. Also a self-serve type mexican restaurant is within walking distance and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We agree with you, our towels and pillows needed upgrading. We have been replacing all of them that are worn our with a much hirer quality, and all should be 5 star in the next few weeks. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Brooke Henderson & the
Durango Quality Inn Team
2930 Main Street
970-259-5373
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Hotel is located several blocks from the main area of the action in downtown Durango. You could walk the distance, but it's a good walk. One perk is the free trolly has a stop across the street. The pool is on the smaller side and they have a hot tub.
The breakfast is served on the second floor above the office. If a person has issues with stairs this might not be the best place to stay. I also did not see any kind of elevator.
The room was clean. They has a chalk board to draw on in the room. That seems like a fun idea for kids who like to draw. It did seem like there was limited parking with the number of rooms.

Room Tip: If you are looking to be close to the train and downtown within a short walk this is not the place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will stay with us again during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Address: 2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.