We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10.00 off
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Durango
Boerne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were on a motorcycle road trip in April. Stopped in Durango after coming back from Utah. Brooke went out of her way to assist us upon check in. Knowing that we wanted to ride the Million Dollar Hiway, she printed off the road conditions and personally delivered them to our room. She also gave us some pointers on where to eat dinner. Later in the day, Max, helped us out by bringing ice to our room since the ice was packed in the ice machine. Customer service at this hotel is first rate! Bed was super comfy as well. We'll be back and we'll tell our friends about this particular Quality Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Pam,

Thank you so very much for your review. It thrills us that our service impacted you in such a positive way, and I have shared your feedback with Matt, and the rest of our staff. We look forward to your next stay, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    76
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
65
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a great stay at this Quality Inn! Upon arrival, we were greeted with cookies as well as a welcome bag (a little perk for Choice Rewards members). We weren't expecting the rooms to lead right outside, but it was nice in terms of close parking.

The room was comfy, and there was even a fun little chalkboard to leave comments or drawings.

The hot tubs were awesome, but it was a bit of a walk through the cold air to get to them.

The hotel is right off the main street, so it's very easy to find, although it's a bit down the ways from the downtown district.

The breakfast in the morning was tasty, and had a lot of options to choose from.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have a positive experience with us, and encourages our team in all their efforts and hard work. I hope you will come visit us again, and thank you for choosing our hotel during your Durango visit.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a clean, well-maintained property. The room was small, but the beds were comfortable. The front desk personnel were super helpful and friendly. Sometimes you can tell more about a place by how they deal with problems than if everything goes off without a hitch. The refrigerator in our room broke down over night, this wasn't something within control of the hotel personnel. However, when I returned from a long day, I found that my refrigerator had been replaced, my bill had been adjusted,and a little note and goodie bag was left for us. All I had expected was that they would get me a working refrigerator, they went above and beyond and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience. I am so happy to hear that our team took good care of you during your recent stay in Durango. Review like yours helps our team know where to make improvements, and also served as a great encouragement to everyone in the areas we got it right. We cant wait to have you stay with us again, and hope to earn a 5 star rating from you on all your future stays.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was a decent place to stay and the rooms were clean. It is a pretty big place with
3 separate buildings. We had no problems, but when we went for breakfast, we found
that the food was cold. It looked fine, but it was very disappointing to dish up a plate of
cold eggs. It was on a warming pan, but was still very cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Patrick,

I am so happy that you shared your review with us about your recent stay in Durango. Our breakfast options, and freshness, is something our team works very hard on. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not what it should have been. Your review brought many things to our breakfast attendants attention. Together, we were able to make some adjustments to our heating equipment to ensure that our food stays hot, and most importantly, fresh and healthy. We understand that you have many options when it comes to where you stay, and I appreciate you choosing us while you were in Durango. I hope you will give another opportunity to provide you with a great experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

..Haven't stayed here in awhile due to summer Durango prices, but everything was up to par again. Spent one night here w/a pet. They have remodeled the "pet rooms" with wood floors, new paint, and surprise - a little chalk board on the wall for kids to write on! That was very cute.

I understand the logic for not having an carpet for the pet rooms, but it made the room a little colder. My dog didn't particularly like the floor though. I went to the local Walmart and purchased a cheap throw rug for him to sleep on. That was my only problem though.

The service was great (although the last time I stayed here, the Front Desk clerk called the room to make sure everything was fine). That did not happen this time. That was a nice touch, and at that time rated this hotel a 5.
The staff was really nice - didn't have much contact w/them though.

The breakfast was great! Always has been, and the cleark serving made sure everyone eating had everything they needed.

They did get a Trip Advisor button from me though! Don't know if that made a difference or not???

All in all, it's a good place to stay - rooms are nice and clean - just remember the rates in the summer go up a bit much for my taste (but then again, all of Durango does that!!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you from our entire family at the Quality Inn for your wonderful review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us all, as it is truly the best way we have to measure our performance as a hotel. Our chalkboard walls, as well as breakfast food upgrades, and freshness, are just a few of the recent changes we have made to improve our guests experience. Another one of the changes would be the addition of wood floors in select pet-friendly rooms. Because of your review we have added pet beds to ensure the comfort of our future guests, and their furry friends. If you return you will have one in your room, or you can request to have a carpeted pet room if you prefer (we have both.) Thank you for your repeat business, and with your feed back, we hope to provide you with a 5 star stay on all your future visits.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We weren't disappointed by the Quality Inn at all. Convenient location, staff was friendly, room was nice although small, bed was comfy, and the continental breakfast was more than just continental. Besides the standard fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal, and assorted carb-bomb pastries and waffles you find at any hotel, they also had biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs one morning and scrambled eggs, hash browns, and sausage links the next. If I had to throw out any complaints, they are beyond the staff's control - the water in the sink took an oddly long time to get hot, and there were guests with a diesel truck that started it up promptly at 6:30 each morning and then let it warm up for 15-20 minutes.

Also the lady at the front desk offered us a brewery tour package for $25 that included a dinner and various free pints, but we already had coupons and didn't want to eat where the free dinner was (Durango Brewing Co.) so didn't take advantage of it even though it sounded like a great deal.

We would stay here again if we came back to Durango.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate building in the back would be quieter since they're farther away from Main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us in Durango. We love hearing about our guests experience at our hotel, and will be using your feedback to improve our property, and encourage our team. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. This is something we have been working on for a while, and are proud to offer our guests fresh cracked eggs, house chopped potatoes, and many gluten free and healthy options. Although our property rooms are fully updated and remolded, the pipes are still a bit old. I am happy to be able to say that our shower heads, and hot water heaters, are being upgraded this month, and we can't wait for our guests to be able to have an even more comfortable stay after these changes are made.

Thanks again, and come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms and really affordable rates. It is also located on Main Ave. which makes it central to downtown and the many cool things happening there. Great value!

Cons: Motel style, all doors open on the parking lot. Seems to be full of construction workers who must be working in the area. That's not a con in and of itself but they do rise early and make some noise on their exit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our guest's experience is our top priority, and your review will encourage our team, and assist in where we put our efforts in the future. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room location. The Animas River behind us, and restaurants surrounding us, are just a few of the reasons guests love our property. I understand that you have many options when traveling to Durango, and thank you or choosing to spend the night with us. Come back and visit soon!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Address: 2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.