We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable cozy motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Durango to your Saves list
Quality Inn Durango
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Comfortable cozy motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I recently stayed at this motel in Durango for a couple nights while I was in town on business. They have a friendly front desk staff. The parking is very close to all the rooms. I liked the cute little touches like warm cookies in the evenings, chocolate left in the room and a cute little rubber ducky in the bathtub. This is my third time staying at this hotel and it's always been friendly and cozy.

  • Liked — Great location; close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Heater took a long time to warm up room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We checked in to the room and the people were very nice. This has the smallest rooms of any Comfort Inn I have EVER stayed in. The clerk was awesome though, even loaned me an internet connection converter because my wireless wasnt working properly on my computer. We stayed here for three days and the breakfasts were adequate, but if you didnt get there early, forget about anything other than fruit and waffles.

The bed was really all that fit in the room and it was kind of musty smelling. I would not stay here again even though the staff was courteous. I just cant see paying $125 a night again for a room that small when for about $20 more, we could have stayed at a nicer hotel. I should have read the reviews here first!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and the close parking.
  • Disliked — the size of the room and the must.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pgfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Price was the primary factor in choosing this hotel for my family of 4 (2 teenage girls). The price was one of the cheapest I found for July in Durango, but in retrospect I wish we would have spent the extra $25/night for a nicer place.

Pros - The room was clean; the staff was friendly; the "continental breakfast" offered waffles and a decent spread; and the hotel's location is convenient.

Cons - The room is small; our room had a slight "damp" odor to it; the air conditioner was in the back of the room by the bathroom, was noisy and did not keep the room comfortable (too warm).

If budget is your primary concern, this may be a good option. But even at the $135/night+tax we paid (July 4th weekend), I thought the value wasn't quite there.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Room too warm - air conditioner didn't keep up and was noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnyshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

This place is an older motel but still nice. Rooms are quiet. Located close to the shuttle and there are several places to eat within walking distance. The continental breakfast was great--located in a separate room on the 2nd floor and you certainly won't leave hungry!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank #1Nanaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Recently stayed here for two nights while exploring Mesa Verde and surrounding area. The place is a decent if somewhat aged motel with friendly front-desk staff yet rather unfriendly and somewhat lazy breakfast staff (very slow in filling empty cereal boxes, cleaning desks, or answering questions). Rooms were OK with the standard amenities. WiFi connectivity is advertised but works only sporadically (i.e. in the early morning, but not in the afternoon).
Still, looking at the value for money I'd recommend this place for Durango in comparison to other fairly high-priced alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GermanyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

My family, 2 adults and 5 children come and stay at this hotel every year. We have been to many others around the state and by far this accommodates us like no other. Price is exceptional and accommodations are very good. Nearby to all that we plan around Durango. Being a larger family it's very hard to find hotels that will help meet our needs! This one exceeds.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flowers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Comfort Inn, especially after reading so many other good reviews. Our room was average, but the customer service and special treats like cookies in the evening and waffles for continental breakfast made it great. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

On another note, we highly recommend eating at the Jeanne Pierre French Bakery, Cafe and Wine Bar on Main Street in historical Durango. The atmosphere was charming with amazing food and very reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Cookies and waffles
  • Disliked — outside rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Address: 2930 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself surrounded by the beauty of Colorado and the history of Durango when you stay at our Quality Inn(R) hotel near the Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Our smoke-free quality hotel in Durango is ideally located less than two miles away from the historic downtown area and is also near a variety of popular attractions like: - Durango Train - Multiple Durango Breweries - Fort Lewis College - Mesa Verde National Park The Animas River area offers a variety of outdoor activities, such as hiking trails, rafting and fishing. Our hotel also offers many packages including: - Brewery -or- Wine - Paddleboards - Cruiser Bikes Relax after an active day or get work done before you head out at our business center with access to copy and fax services. Hold an event at our meeting room, which accommodates up to 30 guests, and take advantage of additional amenities at our Durango hotel like: - Free breakfast - Free WiFi - Free weekday newspaper - Seasonal outdoor pool - Indoor whirlpool All inviting guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers and TVs. You can always depend on our Quality Inn hotel to give you great value. At Durango, CO hotels like ours, you get an affordable hotel with all the amenities you expect, whether on business travel, a weekend getaway or vacation. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Venere, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing