We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go back to this hotel...every time I'm in Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Denver
1 review
“I will go back to this hotel...every time I'm in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I am amazed how friendly & helpful the ENTIRE staff has been to us. When we checked in, Jaqueline was very nice. She called up to the room after we got settled to see if we had everything we needed & if the room was to our satisfaction! Nobody has EVER done that, no matter how nice the hotel. Talk about a good 1st impression. The room was very nice, clean & large. Well worth the $. The bath had been recently updated, there was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron...all we needed. I really loved the outdoor private deck the most (don't know if all rooms have those). Continental breakfast was fine & the staff was very friendly. Plenty of parking & close to Main St. Loved Durango, can't wait to go back. Thanks BW Rio Grande Inn!
JT

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    96
    49
    23
    17
See reviews for
114
111
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Best Western Rio Grande Inn was a port in a storm for us, dropping into Durango for one night during what seemed like high tourist season - everything was booked up solid.

We eventually found this place which has a great location just off the main shopping street; the staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful and steered us to one of their last remaining rooms which fit three people, two beds and a rollaway. Being an architect is was easy to see that the indoor pool being in the center of a three story atrium in the middle of the building created some circulation and layout problems that are difficult to overcome. Our room for example barely qualified as a hotel room as it's only window looked out into an outdoor entry corridor.

We thought we would have to grin and bear it for one night but in retrospect had a decent stay, mainly because the location of the hotel put us in the middle of the action restaurants and shopping-wise, which is what we wanted. We ate and walked around and stayed out until late when we were tired, and just crashed in the room. The room was long and sufficiently spacious and we had a good night's rest.

We had some concerns because one end of the room was very near the pool, but the pool hours saved us from any noise concerns.

Breakfast was pleasant, again the staff was very helpful and friendly, making waffles to order and there was plenty of fruit and other stuff to make the meal more than dried basics like we'd gotten elsewhere. Though for around $200 as of this writing, we were grateful for a decent room where we thought there weren't going to be any, at a location that made things fun for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at this Best Western two separate weekends during the month of June. The first weekend we booked online last minute and stayed in a 3rd floor King room with a pullout sofa and Jacuzzi tub. Very enjoyable weekend for just the two of us. The staff was very helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable, and it was enjoyable to sit on the balcony for quiet time in the evenings. The maid did a very good job ensuring the room was clean. The young ladies working the breakfast area ensured there was plenty of food available and that the eating area was clean at all times.

Our second weekend we stayed in a King room with a pullout sofa and Jacuzzi tub for the Day Out with Thomas event at the D&SNGR. Knowing this to be a busy weekend we booked this room well in advance online. When we arrived we found that the room we were given was room 123 which is directly in front of the hot tub and next to the breakfast/happy hour room. We requested a different room and was told that hotel was booked and there were no other rooms to move us to. We were able to get a 10% discount on the room rate as a consolation. Our concerns about the noise levels in the evening and mornings were valid. The noises and conversations in the atrium and the breakfast room were clearly heard in our room which had us awakened earlier and the kids awake later than we intended. We inquired with the front desk about how the rooms were allocated and were told the rooms were assigned by the computer. This room was not quite as comfortable as the one we had the other weekend--the bathroom had a few spots where it was obvious that grout cleaning and repairs were needed around the tub. We also found that the lack of a patio/balcony made the room feel a little more stuffy. Again the maid did a good job making sure the room was clean and the young ladies working breakfast did a wonderful job of making sure everyone had plenty of food and the area was clean. So our suggestion (and what we will be doing in the future for this hotel) if booking the room online is to call the hotel to confirm the room assignment after you make the reservation.

The hotel is just a short walk to main street, some good restaurants, and the D&SNGR train station. Overall we would stay here again with a little more diligence on our part about making sure of the location of our room given the fact we have young children who need their rest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Travelling with one teenager & me, we had a 2 double bed ground floor room, room 129. We used our triple-A card and got the room for $98. We were there two nights. The location of the hotel for our purposes was great, we were there scoping out Fort Lewis College and it's a pretty quick drive up there from the hotel. We didn't walk into town from the hotel but you start seeing restaurants and other town stuff within a couple blocks of the hotel, so it'd probably be a good location for local access.

The room was clean with outside access (one of the few rooms they had like this, I gathered) but is on the ground floor (ok) with a window facing a wall (ok I guess - on a ground floor you're not going to open the curtain anyway, are you?!? but it did make it a little claustrophobic). The lighting was a little subdued in the room I thought with a couple lamps over a night table between the two beds, a little soft low-wattage spot light over a table in the corner, and a harsh flourescent over the in-room bathroom sink, so the lighting gave it a slightly used look even though the room was perfectly adequate.

The well lit bathroom itself held a commode and a tub (the sink was outside the door in the main room as noted). Unlike other reviews I saw here about ratty towels, ours (and maybe they saw the review and upgraded!) were huge perfectly new bath-sheet size towels that were fantastic. But like the fairly new Moen faucets on the sink and in the shower, the big towels didn't quite push the experience over the top for us, but were nice additions. But : the bathroom was clean. No problems there.

We've stayed in enough vanilla h/motels to not even bother anymore with most hotels attempts at breakfast unless we're really starving for some do-it-youself waffles or cereal or whatever. And we were given free-drink passes for happy hour at "Ottos" - which took me only a few minutes to realize was the same generic bland room they use for breakfast every morning. But in all honesty, as nice as the people staffing the hotel were, there's no ambience in there and with all the cool saloons & what-not in town, who would sit in there and enjoy a drink at the hotel when you could be somewhere with a little more pizzaz and ambience?

Beds were ok, lots of pillows, I'll give them that, we didn't really have any "problems" with the place at all. The front desk was staffed with 2 people everytime I went in the lobby (maybe they're trying to correct the issue noted by other reviews of delays at the front desk) and the staff was very cheery and helpful.

In the room notes:
Single serve coffee maker: bonus. Microwave, mini-fridge: nice to have. No pay-per-view on the cable TV but they did have a DVD player hooked up to the TV. I don't know how useful this is to most people unless they (like we did) go off and find the local Blockbusters so we could watch a couple movies late at night. But pay-per-view would probably be nicer and make them a few extra bucks which we'd have gladly paid.

Nice interior atrium-ish skylit pool with a hot-tub. Since our room was outside, we hardly went into this area at all except to walk around exploring the hotel a little.

All-in-all, we'll "probably" stay there again since it's clean and basic and has a good location... or not, I don't know. Nothing there really made us say "wow, I'm staying here again" but nothing made us say "heck-no" either. I'm going to say I'd recommend the hotel, but I wouldn't want to pay normal rack-rates there, so look for a deal.

Oh: almost forgot: free unsecured no-hassle wireless internet. woohoo. (ok, maybe we -will- stay here again!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I love this Best Western location, a 5 min walk to Main Street, where there is fantastic places to eat and shop. Very clean rooms, great beds, lots to choose from for Breakfast. Our bar tender at cocktail hour was very friendly. I will be going back for another close getaway! :) Thank you!

  • Liked — The upgrade to a king/ jacuzi room was a very good price.
  • Disliked — I liked my stay.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

This Best Western in Durango is in a great Location being situated only 5 minutes from the railway, the shopping area and the restaurants. (The Irish pub and Ken and Sue's both served good food at reasonable prices). The hotel was clean and the service good, the suite we stayed in was one of the most expensive and had its own balcony; however the room looked out over the swimming pool and it was very noisy especially when at 6.15 the coach parties start going down for breakfast before they take the early train! The breakfast was adequate but not as good a some BW's we stayed at on our holiday.
We stayed an extra night but had to book out of the room and book back in again that evening!
It was very convenient to be able to leave the car there when we took the train trip as parking is metered in Durango and not cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy swimming pool area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Waited a half an hour to check in--clerk called someone to help with people waiting and no one came. I stayed in a handicapped room--it was dark and smelly. There is no closet just a rod hanging in the corner for clothes. The iron and ironing board hang on the wall, there is a table in the corner underneath the closet rod. The whole room design and decor is extremely old, I was really afraid to touch the bedspread. Carpet was old, it smelled of very old tobacco smoke even though it is a non-smoking facility. Since it is so close to the train and is always full, I don't think they will ever be compelled to remodel. As I said, it gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.