We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Opinions-two visits during this month” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mixed Opinions-two visits during this month”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at this Best Western two separate weekends during the month of June. The first weekend we booked online last minute and stayed in a 3rd floor King room with a pullout sofa and Jacuzzi tub. Very enjoyable weekend for just the two of us. The staff was very helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable, and it was enjoyable to sit on the balcony for quiet time in the evenings. The maid did a very good job ensuring the room was clean. The young ladies working the breakfast area ensured there was plenty of food available and that the eating area was clean at all times.

Our second weekend we stayed in a King room with a pullout sofa and Jacuzzi tub for the Day Out with Thomas event at the D&SNGR. Knowing this to be a busy weekend we booked this room well in advance online. When we arrived we found that the room we were given was room 123 which is directly in front of the hot tub and next to the breakfast/happy hour room. We requested a different room and was told that hotel was booked and there were no other rooms to move us to. We were able to get a 10% discount on the room rate as a consolation. Our concerns about the noise levels in the evening and mornings were valid. The noises and conversations in the atrium and the breakfast room were clearly heard in our room which had us awakened earlier and the kids awake later than we intended. We inquired with the front desk about how the rooms were allocated and were told the rooms were assigned by the computer. This room was not quite as comfortable as the one we had the other weekend--the bathroom had a few spots where it was obvious that grout cleaning and repairs were needed around the tub. We also found that the lack of a patio/balcony made the room feel a little more stuffy. Again the maid did a good job making sure the room was clean and the young ladies working breakfast did a wonderful job of making sure everyone had plenty of food and the area was clean. So our suggestion (and what we will be doing in the future for this hotel) if booking the room online is to call the hotel to confirm the room assignment after you make the reservation.

The hotel is just a short walk to main street, some good restaurants, and the D&SNGR train station. Overall we would stay here again with a little more diligence on our part about making sure of the location of our room given the fact we have young children who need their rest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    128
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
140
149
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Travelling with one teenager & me, we had a 2 double bed ground floor room, room 129. We used our triple-A card and got the room for $98. We were there two nights. The location of the hotel for our purposes was great, we were there scoping out Fort Lewis College and it's a pretty quick drive up there from the hotel. We didn't walk into town from the hotel but you start seeing restaurants and other town stuff within a couple blocks of the hotel, so it'd probably be a good location for local access.

The room was clean with outside access (one of the few rooms they had like this, I gathered) but is on the ground floor (ok) with a window facing a wall (ok I guess - on a ground floor you're not going to open the curtain anyway, are you?!? but it did make it a little claustrophobic). The lighting was a little subdued in the room I thought with a couple lamps over a night table between the two beds, a little soft low-wattage spot light over a table in the corner, and a harsh flourescent over the in-room bathroom sink, so the lighting gave it a slightly used look even though the room was perfectly adequate.

The well lit bathroom itself held a commode and a tub (the sink was outside the door in the main room as noted). Unlike other reviews I saw here about ratty towels, ours (and maybe they saw the review and upgraded!) were huge perfectly new bath-sheet size towels that were fantastic. But like the fairly new Moen faucets on the sink and in the shower, the big towels didn't quite push the experience over the top for us, but were nice additions. But : the bathroom was clean. No problems there.

We've stayed in enough vanilla h/motels to not even bother anymore with most hotels attempts at breakfast unless we're really starving for some do-it-youself waffles or cereal or whatever. And we were given free-drink passes for happy hour at "Ottos" - which took me only a few minutes to realize was the same generic bland room they use for breakfast every morning. But in all honesty, as nice as the people staffing the hotel were, there's no ambience in there and with all the cool saloons & what-not in town, who would sit in there and enjoy a drink at the hotel when you could be somewhere with a little more pizzaz and ambience?

Beds were ok, lots of pillows, I'll give them that, we didn't really have any "problems" with the place at all. The front desk was staffed with 2 people everytime I went in the lobby (maybe they're trying to correct the issue noted by other reviews of delays at the front desk) and the staff was very cheery and helpful.

In the room notes:
Single serve coffee maker: bonus. Microwave, mini-fridge: nice to have. No pay-per-view on the cable TV but they did have a DVD player hooked up to the TV. I don't know how useful this is to most people unless they (like we did) go off and find the local Blockbusters so we could watch a couple movies late at night. But pay-per-view would probably be nicer and make them a few extra bucks which we'd have gladly paid.

Nice interior atrium-ish skylit pool with a hot-tub. Since our room was outside, we hardly went into this area at all except to walk around exploring the hotel a little.

All-in-all, we'll "probably" stay there again since it's clean and basic and has a good location... or not, I don't know. Nothing there really made us say "wow, I'm staying here again" but nothing made us say "heck-no" either. I'm going to say I'd recommend the hotel, but I wouldn't want to pay normal rack-rates there, so look for a deal.

Oh: almost forgot: free unsecured no-hassle wireless internet. woohoo. (ok, maybe we -will- stay here again!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I love this Best Western location, a 5 min walk to Main Street, where there is fantastic places to eat and shop. Very clean rooms, great beds, lots to choose from for Breakfast. Our bar tender at cocktail hour was very friendly. I will be going back for another close getaway! :) Thank you!

  • Liked — The upgrade to a king/ jacuzi room was a very good price.
  • Disliked — I liked my stay.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

This Best Western in Durango is in a great Location being situated only 5 minutes from the railway, the shopping area and the restaurants. (The Irish pub and Ken and Sue's both served good food at reasonable prices). The hotel was clean and the service good, the suite we stayed in was one of the most expensive and had its own balcony; however the room looked out over the swimming pool and it was very noisy especially when at 6.15 the coach parties start going down for breakfast before they take the early train! The breakfast was adequate but not as good a some BW's we stayed at on our holiday.
We stayed an extra night but had to book out of the room and book back in again that evening!
It was very convenient to be able to leave the car there when we took the train trip as parking is metered in Durango and not cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy swimming pool area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genesee, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Waited a half an hour to check in--clerk called someone to help with people waiting and no one came. I stayed in a handicapped room--it was dark and smelly. There is no closet just a rod hanging in the corner for clothes. The iron and ironing board hang on the wall, there is a table in the corner underneath the closet rod. The whole room design and decor is extremely old, I was really afraid to touch the bedspread. Carpet was old, it smelled of very old tobacco smoke even though it is a non-smoking facility. Since it is so close to the train and is always full, I don't think they will ever be compelled to remodel. As I said, it gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Center, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We chose this hotel because they touted their breakfast as being a nice feature of the hotel. Well.....not true. We stayed 2 nights, and the breakfast was very limited. They claimed they have biscuits and sausage gravy but they they were out. Out of boiled eggs, out of yogurt, out of fresh fruit, coffee pot makes a mess, spilling whether u turn it off or not, waffle iron complicated, it wouldn't heat up enough so everyone had to scrape it out so that made a long line for uncooked piles of waffles.
The rooms were clean. Beds comfy; the bathroom towels were dingy and ragged..all of them. The front desk needed help badly with the phone ringing off the hook and customers waiting. Parking is very limited, and up and down the stairs takes a toll on a body. Close to shops, The Train, restaurants, all walking distance. Nice indoor pool and spa. The mgr apologized for the breakfast fiasco when I complained.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Breakfast for price paid.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We chose this hotel purely on location, knowing we wanted walking access to downtown with our 3 young kids. We knew we were paying for location and expected a nice basic no frills motel. Well we got that! But even with low expectations I was really dissapointed with the first room we were given. It was an interior room with no window - well there was one small window that looked out into a stairwell/hallway. Talk about clausterphobic! There was no way a family of 5 could stay in that room. The front desk was able to move us to another room with a balcony for the extra cost of $10 a night - bringing us up to $171 a night. Yikes! For this!?

If you stay here, request a room with a window! And preferrably mountain view. Our room had parking lot view, but the other side had some beautiful mountain views. Would be worth the upgrade.

The room itself was dated and old, but the bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable enough. The King room with sleeper was more than large enough for 2 adults, 3 kids and lots of bags and even a stroller. The location was great for strolls downtown.

The young kids working the breakfast bar were great and very helpful. We took advantage of the free breakfast - my husband is a great waffle maker! The coffee however could be way stronger!

Overall, despite the horrible first room, our stay here was OK, it was just really hard to swallow paying so much for so little. We've stayed at the Doubletree and Holiday Inn in Durango in the past and think we'll be going back to one of those, even though the walk downtown is a bit more, they are right on the river and just not so gross. Worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.