We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Overnight in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn in Durango was perfect for our trip to Durango. Virtually in downtown, we could walk everywhere we needed to go. Free happy hour!!!! Nice breakfast buffet in the AM. Great front desk staff. Couldn't have asked for more! A good time was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our facility, staff and location.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again soon.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    115
    54
    24
    17
See reviews for
132
134
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baqltimore,MD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus. We arrived late at night only to find out that the suite that we had booked was not available. (The people who were there the night before had refused to more out despite the fact that we had booked the room months before them and management had told them several times that they would have to move). This turned out to be no problem at all. We were given 2 double queen rooms and only charged for one room because of the mix up. So not only did we get more space and beds- we paid less than we had originally planned to pay. The front desk couldn't have been nicer and even brought my children goodie bags and treats as a thanks for understanding. So nice!! The hotel is in a great location, extremely clean and comfortable. The happy hour is such a nice touch and the breakfast is delicious. We highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with this outstanding review. We couldn't have asked for a better response . Your review shows other visitors a good look into how we operate. Even when we make a mistake we are happy to accommodate and go above and beyond for all of our guests. Thank you for commending our efforts and I hope you come back to see us again and again.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nice hotel. We stayed in the Queen Suite on the second floor. The balcony was a disappointment for us because it looked out on the roof of the entrance to the hotel. Being in Durango we imagined a great view. Unless you book the third floor king suite don't waste your money on the Queen suite. Also the living room furnishings is not of the quality we would expect in a suite.

Also the cleaning is not as good as it should be. More attention needs to be given to vacuuming in and around furnishings.

Great breakfast. Maybe one of the best we have had in a hotel. Cocktails in the evening is a nice touch.

We would come back but would select a different room.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping manager. The balcony doesn't have a mountain view but it is a nice large outdoor space and I hope that you were able to take advantage of that. I will speak to the owners about your comments about the furnishings to see if we are able to upgrade anytime soon. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango. I enjoyed speaking with you at check out and hope that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Love the location - close to Main Street but far enough that it was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony. The bed was one of the best hotel beds I ever slept on. The continental breakfast was good. They had extras like scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, etc. We thought the free drinks in the evening were a nice touch. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff had a card and goodie bag in the room. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a third floor room on the opposite side of the highway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It is so nice of you to provide us with this amazing review. We couldn't have asked for better feedback. I'm happy to hear that you had a nice anniversary and a nice slumber during your stay with us. Thank you again for everything and we would love to see you back again.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Walking distance to D&SNG. Actually, can see and hear the trains being switched in the rail yard, and smell the aroma of burning coal from the hotel property. If riding the train, you are already parked free at the hotel. Our room was exceptionally clean and super quiet. The hotel was full and we thought we were the only ones there. Not a peep from anyone. The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Lots of eating establishments walking distance. Again, you can park your car and get around without it especially if there for the trains like we were. Little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you kindly for this outstanding review. I'm so glad that you found value in your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Durango. I hope you come back to see us again in the future.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Another great trip to Durango and the walking distance to the train BW Plus Rio Grande Inn. Beautiful property with fantastic staff and clean rooms. Comfortable beds and 2 free cocktails for the over 21 guests each night! Can't beat that. A fantastic indoor pool for the kids and a glass elevator too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
What a great review. We really appreciate your kind words and your repeat business. Thanks so much for your support. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stunning location and fantastic staff. Rooms were spacious and clean with a whirlpool bath and balcony. Interior is a little dated, and the only negative was that the rooms are very dark (there are no windows only two doors - one to the hallway and one to the balcony). This meant that in order to have privacy you have to keep the curtains closed. The interior swimming pool is in the centre of the hotel - you can see it from the door to your room as they are all courtyard style which is novel. But does make it a little noisy when the kids are playing during the day. Pool curfew is 9/10pm so no issue at night. Overall - the breakfast has plenty of choice, if the room is a little dated and small, and the hotel room was large and clean. Service staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again. Location is great too as you can walk easily into the centre of Durango. Places to visit: Silveron/Durango Places to eat: Sushitarian, Carver Brewing Co.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We appreciate the great comments and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms facing the pool are great for families and we do have quiet time so that everyone can get that much needed rest after a long day of fun in Durango!! Thanks again and have a wonderful August.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.