We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal and close to Main Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal and close to Main Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nice hotel. We stayed in the Queen Suite on the second floor. The balcony was a disappointment for us because it looked out on the roof of the entrance to the hotel. Being in Durango we imagined a great view. Unless you book the third floor king suite don't waste your money on the Queen suite. Also the living room furnishings is not of the quality we would expect in a suite.

Also the cleaning is not as good as it should be. More attention needs to be given to vacuuming in and around furnishings.

Great breakfast. Maybe one of the best we have had in a hotel. Cocktails in the evening is a nice touch.

We would come back but would select a different room.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping manager. The balcony doesn't have a mountain view but it is a nice large outdoor space and I hope that you were able to take advantage of that. I will speak to the owners about your comments about the furnishings to see if we are able to upgrade anytime soon. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango. I enjoyed speaking with you at check out and hope that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    142
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
156
171
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Love the location - close to Main Street but far enough that it was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony. The bed was one of the best hotel beds I ever slept on. The continental breakfast was good. They had extras like scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, etc. We thought the free drinks in the evening were a nice touch. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff had a card and goodie bag in the room. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a third floor room on the opposite side of the highway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It is so nice of you to provide us with this amazing review. We couldn't have asked for better feedback. I'm happy to hear that you had a nice anniversary and a nice slumber during your stay with us. Thank you again for everything and we would love to see you back again.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Walking distance to D&SNG. Actually, can see and hear the trains being switched in the rail yard, and smell the aroma of burning coal from the hotel property. If riding the train, you are already parked free at the hotel. Our room was exceptionally clean and super quiet. The hotel was full and we thought we were the only ones there. Not a peep from anyone. The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Lots of eating establishments walking distance. Again, you can park your car and get around without it especially if there for the trains like we were. Little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you kindly for this outstanding review. I'm so glad that you found value in your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Durango. I hope you come back to see us again in the future.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Another great trip to Durango and the walking distance to the train BW Plus Rio Grande Inn. Beautiful property with fantastic staff and clean rooms. Comfortable beds and 2 free cocktails for the over 21 guests each night! Can't beat that. A fantastic indoor pool for the kids and a glass elevator too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
What a great review. We really appreciate your kind words and your repeat business. Thanks so much for your support. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stunning location and fantastic staff. Rooms were spacious and clean with a whirlpool bath and balcony. Interior is a little dated, and the only negative was that the rooms are very dark (there are no windows only two doors - one to the hallway and one to the balcony). This meant that in order to have privacy you have to keep the curtains closed. The interior swimming pool is in the centre of the hotel - you can see it from the door to your room as they are all courtyard style which is novel. But does make it a little noisy when the kids are playing during the day. Pool curfew is 9/10pm so no issue at night. Overall - the breakfast has plenty of choice, if the room is a little dated and small, and the hotel room was large and clean. Service staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again. Location is great too as you can walk easily into the centre of Durango. Places to visit: Silveron/Durango Places to eat: Sushitarian, Carver Brewing Co.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We appreciate the great comments and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms facing the pool are great for families and we do have quiet time so that everyone can get that much needed rest after a long day of fun in Durango!! Thanks again and have a wonderful August.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed everything about this hotel. It was clean, quiet and within walking distance of downtown. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful with everything. The indoor hottub/pool was great for the family. I thought the cost was a little extreme for Best Westerns, but probably understandable for the time of the year and the area. The breakfast was great as well as the cocktail hour as we had two complimentary drinks. The room towels are big and plentiful as well as the pool towels in the room for your convenience. The elevator is a little slow, but there are plenty of stairs. The wifi was free with a password that worked extremely well. I would recommend this place to anyone. We plan to visit again and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. We are in our peak season this time of the year and our rates are higher but pretty much in line with the other hotels in the downtown Durango area. We do offer a nice breakfast, cocktails, free wifi and free parking to help offset some of the other cost of a vacation. I am glad that you and your family had a great time and hope that you enjoyed Durango and all it has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Definitely a step up from standard Best Westerns. I liked the secluded (off main street) location and appointments and furnishing of the rooms. The reception staff were particularly attentive. I liked the "cook to order" services and offerings of breakfast room. I would recommend the Best Western Rio Grande Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great hotel and an even better staff. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you will return someday soon to visit us again.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.