We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Fort Morgan, United States
1 review
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Rio Grande Inn has a fantastic location when visiting Durango Colorado. It is a block away from the narrow gauge train that runs from Durango to Silverton. There are 20+ restaurants within a couple blocks. Staff is very good in making recommendations. The staff in all positions were very friendly and accommodating. .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do have an excellent location and a wonderful caring staff. We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel on this site. Durango is such a fun town and we are happy that you were able to enjoy all that it has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    127
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
140
147
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bacliff, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My first time in Durango and what an experience. They picked me up from the airport and from then on went out of their way (Shawn especially) to make sure I had transportation when in need. The rooms where clean ...great breakfast... Awesome pool and happy hour!
Nice nice and friendly service. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Sean is a great employee and I am happy that he was able to accommodate your transportation needs. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your future visits.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn is in a perfect location for exploring downtown shops, restaurants, and activities on foot. The staff is exceptional. Every one seemed to care that we chose this hotel and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The king size bed was super-compfortable. This is a hotel/motel setup, and I didn't realize when I asked for the ground floor that I was getting the motel style room with door to exterior. It was all good. If I return to Durango this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do have a great staff and a great location. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stuck in older room. Although it was fine for a night, it was NOT the new and improved rooms they were working on. Need a candle, as all have been sneezing an "old musty smell" in room. Staff was wonderful, pool was great, and free drinks was a nice touch. I will be back...but make certain I ask for a newer room.

Room Tip: Make certain you ask for newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this review. Your feedback is important to us.
The property is about thirty years old and we have made some recent renovations. Carpet and mattresses have been replaced in all of our guest rooms. Most of our guest bathrooms have been remodeled with tile and granite counter tops. Lastly, we have most recently added guest computers that are on both our second and third floors. We have not yet made a complete makeover of the property. We have spoken with the owners of the facility and encouraged them to complete renovations. It is a process and renovations are hard for us to complete during the summer months due to our occupancy levels.
We thank you for your feedback and I hope you come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Dark. Noisy A/C. Somewhat rundown. Very uncomfortable beds. Small bathrooms. Reasonably clean, but not worth $100 plus except that rates in Durango may be much too high across the board. The location is convenient, parking is plentiful and the front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for providing us with this great review. Your feedback is appreciated as it allows us to address any issues you may have had with the room.
I apologize if the rooms were inadequate for your stay. We are working to improve the hotel and guest rooms.
Thank you again for your thoughtful review and I hope you come to see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just spent one night here. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with a very nice restaurant recommendation. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the facility, our staff and the amenities. We offer everything we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango during your stay. Please come back to see us soon as we value your feedback and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Based on our recent experience at a Best Western in Lubbock, TX we weren't real excited about staying at a Best Western in Durango. However, to take advantage of their summer promo, we decided to roll the dice anyway. We were impressed from the start. Kasey was extremely helpful during both the reservation and check-in process. She fulfilled both of our special requests before we even got to our room and she was very knowledgeable about the dining options in Durango. The room was cool and clean when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of towels for the whole family. My wife was impressed with the industrial strength hair dryer as well. The indoor pool area was clean and the kids had a blast swimming in the evening. The staff was very good at making sure the pool was closed at 9PM as the noise level could be bothersome if allowed to continue any later. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. The sausage patties, scrambled eggs, and biscuits with sausage gravy were far superior than the powdered eggs and lunch room sausage I had experienced at other hotels. I saw toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, and a waffle maker as well. My wife did some laundry while we were there with the complimentary washer and dryer near the pool. Be advised that the detergent sold at the front desk could cost you as much as your evening meal, so drop by a store and pick up your own if you plan on doing any laundry. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay at the Best Western Rio Grande in Durango and we will definitely stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very kindly for this outstanding review of our property. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better serve our guests.
I'm so glad that your experience with us was a positive one. With Best Western Hotels being independently owned and operated you never know what to expect. That is the magic of Best Western Brand; each establishment is unique and exclusive to the area they are located in. Unfortunately some hotels do need some help.
It is very nice of you to compliment Kayce; she is an outstanding employee and we appreciate you commending her efforts.
Thank you for acknowledging our facility, staff and amenities. I hope you enjoyed some of the fun activities Durango has to offer. Please come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.