We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just spent one night here. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with a very nice restaurant recommendation. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the facility, our staff and the amenities. We offer everything we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango during your stay. Please come back to see us soon as we value your feedback and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    124
    55
    24
    17
See reviews for
137
145
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Based on our recent experience at a Best Western in Lubbock, TX we weren't real excited about staying at a Best Western in Durango. However, to take advantage of their summer promo, we decided to roll the dice anyway. We were impressed from the start. Kasey was extremely helpful during both the reservation and check-in process. She fulfilled both of our special requests before we even got to our room and she was very knowledgeable about the dining options in Durango. The room was cool and clean when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of towels for the whole family. My wife was impressed with the industrial strength hair dryer as well. The indoor pool area was clean and the kids had a blast swimming in the evening. The staff was very good at making sure the pool was closed at 9PM as the noise level could be bothersome if allowed to continue any later. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. The sausage patties, scrambled eggs, and biscuits with sausage gravy were far superior than the powdered eggs and lunch room sausage I had experienced at other hotels. I saw toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, and a waffle maker as well. My wife did some laundry while we were there with the complimentary washer and dryer near the pool. Be advised that the detergent sold at the front desk could cost you as much as your evening meal, so drop by a store and pick up your own if you plan on doing any laundry. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay at the Best Western Rio Grande in Durango and we will definitely stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very kindly for this outstanding review of our property. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better serve our guests.
I'm so glad that your experience with us was a positive one. With Best Western Hotels being independently owned and operated you never know what to expect. That is the magic of Best Western Brand; each establishment is unique and exclusive to the area they are located in. Unfortunately some hotels do need some help.
It is very nice of you to compliment Kayce; she is an outstanding employee and we appreciate you commending her efforts.
Thank you for acknowledging our facility, staff and amenities. I hope you enjoyed some of the fun activities Durango has to offer. Please come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The price is a little high for the area but you are right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance if the restaurant district. Nice, clean, good pool and a hot breakfast. We had the King suite and it is big and comfortable. Friendly staff who are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on this site. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad that you had a great time and hope that you enjoyed Durango. The suites do offer a great deal of space and I am happy that it worked out well for you. Enjoy your summer and thank you again for the review.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was pleasently surprised by this hotel. We were visiting Durango overnight and chose this hotel because of its proximity to the function we were attending. Overall the staff was very nice, the hotel was clean and some of the added amenities make this a place to stay again.

A couple of "happy hour" drinks are included per person per night and there is a very nice "breakfast' served in the morning. Both were unexpected for a Best Western. The room was spacious, however, the bathroom was a little small and there was some note of "water damage" to the bathroom door. Probably from the "jacuzzi tub."

Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you pay a little more you can be right by the indoor pool. And in the "for what it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the positive feedback. I am not sure which room you stayed in but I can narrow it down by the jetted tub category. I will have maintenance address it right away. We hope that you enjoyed Durango and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Clean, great service, great breakfast, location great, staff great, clean, comfortable. Good pool area, have complimentary washers and dryers, very quiet after 10 pm. Clean, clean, have cocktail time in evenings. Most happy with clean, comfort, and location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We do have a great housekeeping staff and I appreciate your acknowledgement of their hard work. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that all your summer travels are safe and fun.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for a family trip to Durango. We were a little early for our arrival and the front desk staff ( Michael ) made it possible to get a room so that we could check-in, change and get to our river rafting trip on time. Every time I needed something, the front desk staff was really friendly and helpful!

We had room 234 on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot and train area. We saw a deer from our room that was eating grasses in the parking lot. It was a little noisy from the people above us when they were walking around at 5:30am and someone talking loudly at 2:45am. The outside noise was never heard, just thin walls. The room was on the small side and while we had a roll-away bed, it wouldn't fit next to the other beds like it did in other hotels we stayed at on this trip. It was clean and efficient with comfortable beds, everything we needed, but a little pricey.

The Happy Hour was a nice touch. It was from 5:30-7:00 or 7:30pm. When you check-in, they give you a little orange paper showing how many drinks you get for your stay ( 2 drinks per day, per person ) We had 4 adults and were given 2 of the papers but that was ok since 2 of the adults don't drink. But I'm not sure if you could get more of the papers if you had more than 2 that wanted to partake in the Happy Hour. There was a full "well" bar plus 2 local beers on tap ( nice ones ). I assume they had other beers plus wines too, but didn't have any of those. If you wanted more than the 2 drinks pp, additional ones were $2. Nice touch again. There were also snacks that included pretzels, snack mix and chips/salsa.

The breakfast was just ok. But I'm not a big breakfast eater so I'm not the best judge. I tried to make a breakfast burrito, but took one bite and that was enough. I stuck with the yogurt ( in a bowl, not individual ones). The bananas they offered were dark yellow with lots of brown spots...WAY too ripe for me! They also had apples and oranges. The hot foods were eggs, sausage patties, waffle station, oatmeal and biscuits and gravy. They had a bread station that had English muffins and mini bagels, donuts and mini muffins. The juices were OJ, apple juice and cranberry juice. My family didn't seem to think it was great, but adequate to fill up before our train ride.

The location is great for the train ( which saves you the parking fees for the train station ). It is a short walk from the hotel. It is also close enough to walk to the Historic Downtown area. Cute little town! We ate at the Mahogany Grille at the historic Strater Hotel and it was very nice! We also walked to the Steamworks Brewery where there was a nice selection of their craft beers. We were given "coupons" at the hotel's "Happy Hour" for a free pint of beer at Steamworks. There are other coupons at the "Happy Hour" that are nice as well!

Overall, I would recommend this place, mostly for it's location, friendly staff and Happy Hour.. We did not use the pool so I can't comment on that. We were able to borrow pool towels to take on our river rafting trip, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with this outstanding review of our property. Your feedback regarding our facility is greatly appreciated.
I will speak with our breakfast staff regarding some of the items you've mentioned and we will work to improve our choices that are offered.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come to see us again in the future. Thank you again for your valued feedback and your loyal business.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was great. We had two joined rooms. They were very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful with things to do in Durango. The breakfast was a hot breakfast and very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you time in Durango was fun. We appreciate the positive feedback and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.