We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for a family trip to Durango. We were a little early for our arrival and the front desk staff ( Michael ) made it possible to get a room so that we could check-in, change and get to our river rafting trip on time. Every time I needed something, the front desk staff was really friendly and helpful!

We had room 234 on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot and train area. We saw a deer from our room that was eating grasses in the parking lot. It was a little noisy from the people above us when they were walking around at 5:30am and someone talking loudly at 2:45am. The outside noise was never heard, just thin walls. The room was on the small side and while we had a roll-away bed, it wouldn't fit next to the other beds like it did in other hotels we stayed at on this trip. It was clean and efficient with comfortable beds, everything we needed, but a little pricey.

The Happy Hour was a nice touch. It was from 5:30-7:00 or 7:30pm. When you check-in, they give you a little orange paper showing how many drinks you get for your stay ( 2 drinks per day, per person ) We had 4 adults and were given 2 of the papers but that was ok since 2 of the adults don't drink. But I'm not sure if you could get more of the papers if you had more than 2 that wanted to partake in the Happy Hour. There was a full "well" bar plus 2 local beers on tap ( nice ones ). I assume they had other beers plus wines too, but didn't have any of those. If you wanted more than the 2 drinks pp, additional ones were $2. Nice touch again. There were also snacks that included pretzels, snack mix and chips/salsa.

The breakfast was just ok. But I'm not a big breakfast eater so I'm not the best judge. I tried to make a breakfast burrito, but took one bite and that was enough. I stuck with the yogurt ( in a bowl, not individual ones). The bananas they offered were dark yellow with lots of brown spots...WAY too ripe for me! They also had apples and oranges. The hot foods were eggs, sausage patties, waffle station, oatmeal and biscuits and gravy. They had a bread station that had English muffins and mini bagels, donuts and mini muffins. The juices were OJ, apple juice and cranberry juice. My family didn't seem to think it was great, but adequate to fill up before our train ride.

The location is great for the train ( which saves you the parking fees for the train station ). It is a short walk from the hotel. It is also close enough to walk to the Historic Downtown area. Cute little town! We ate at the Mahogany Grille at the historic Strater Hotel and it was very nice! We also walked to the Steamworks Brewery where there was a nice selection of their craft beers. We were given "coupons" at the hotel's "Happy Hour" for a free pint of beer at Steamworks. There are other coupons at the "Happy Hour" that are nice as well!

Overall, I would recommend this place, mostly for it's location, friendly staff and Happy Hour.. We did not use the pool so I can't comment on that. We were able to borrow pool towels to take on our river rafting trip, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with this outstanding review of our property. Your feedback regarding our facility is greatly appreciated.
I will speak with our breakfast staff regarding some of the items you've mentioned and we will work to improve our choices that are offered.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come to see us again in the future. Thank you again for your valued feedback and your loyal business.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    173
    75
    27
    17
See reviews for
186
205
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was great. We had two joined rooms. They were very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful with things to do in Durango. The breakfast was a hot breakfast and very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you time in Durango was fun. We appreciate the positive feedback and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The property overall is very nice. Very expensive. It is starting to show its age a little. I brought a broken step to the attention of the manager by an online review. It was a concrete step which is broken, and sagging. The staff is very helpful, the free breakfast is good. It just is a little bit too expensive, with other nice properties in the area at better rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you again for the review. Thanks also for letting me know which step you were talking about in the other review that you filled out. I was a bit confused because most of the steps are cast iron and I didn't think that material would sag. We are in our peak season right now and our rates are at the highest point of the year. Every hotel in the downtown area is around the same price point. There are hotels that are outside of the downtown area that are less expensive but you would still have to drive into town and pay for parking. We also include the hot continental breakfast and the cocktails which does save on those costs for you as well. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and that you have a wonderful summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I found The Best Western Durango on Trip Advisor recommendation and it was spot on. All hotels here are overpriced but at least you get some extras here. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff very friendly. The two free cocktails per night and free breakfast are a bonus. Breakfast was very complete with everything from eggs, fruit, cereal etc.
I would come back here in a Manhattan minute.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the outstanding review. We appreciate the positive feedback and are so happy that you will come back if you get the chance. We do have a great property and an extra great staff. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and thank you again for the kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in room 200, one of two huge one bedroom suites with separate living room and dining area. Our room, which was located above the reception area, was quiet. In the living room there was a TV, sofa, coffee table, desk and chair. In the dining area, there was a dinette set, a sink, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave.

The suite shows wear and tear. Time to refurbish and repaint. Time to replace the baseboards, which were dusty.

Crossing the living room, one enters a hallway with the bedroom to the left and the bathroom to the right. Our bedroom had a TV, dresser, a single nightstand, two queen beds, and a safe. The beds were comfortable.

Two sinks are located outside the toilet and shower/tub-jacuzzi area. The bathroom counter was roomy. The bathroom, however, reflected a patch-as-needed caulking job. Very sloppy.

Lighting throughout the suite was bright and there were plenty of outlets to charge our devices.

The breakfast was not exceptional; standard buffet items.

Free Wifi is available. There is also a complimentary desktop in the lobby for guests.

This hotel is within walking distance of Durango's movie theater, the Durango to Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and museum, and many restaurants and shops.

If this review has the type of info you like to see in a review, please check "Yes," to indicate the review was helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for commending our property and its location. We do appreciate the constructive feedback as it allows us to improve and better serve our guests in the future. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the activities Durango has to offer and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location in downtown--walk everywhere--free drinks at cocktail hour--Rooms very quiet and comfortable--Would recommend to friends--Breakfast was goodPool was nice for kids--staff members very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this outstanding review. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice stay and enjoyed our location. Please tell all of your friends about us as we would love to have them stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in downtown Durango if you prefer to ditch the car and walk to the train station, shops, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and quiet (even right outside of the pool area). Continental breakfast had lots of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Durango, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for providing us with this survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the amenities of the hotel. We are very thankful to you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.