We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location in downtown--walk everywhere--free drinks at cocktail hour--Rooms very quiet and comfortable--Would recommend to friends--Breakfast was goodPool was nice for kids--staff members very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this outstanding review. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice stay and enjoyed our location. Please tell all of your friends about us as we would love to have them stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    122
    55
    24
    17
See reviews for
134
144
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in downtown Durango if you prefer to ditch the car and walk to the train station, shops, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and quiet (even right outside of the pool area). Continental breakfast had lots of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Durango, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for providing us with this survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the amenities of the hotel. We are very thankful to you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We like staying here with the family. It is nice and close the down town. The whole family can walk to the trail station or down town. There are restaurants within minutes as well. The doors face the pool which I kinda noisy til 9:00 when it closes. They offer a good continental breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We have a great location -very walkable to town and the train. I do apologize about the noisy pool area. The kids love it and aren't quiet about it!! We do have quiet time from 9pm until 9am. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We have been working very hard to improve it over the past year. Again, thank you for the review. Have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Checked in to a very friendly staff. After everything went bad. In room safe did not work-television did not work-air conditioner did not work. Spoke with several staff members who were very nice and very apologetic- they offered to move us to another room but it was late and the cable wasn't working in that room either. Our room was very tiny and did not have a balcony as described when we booked it. Pool was closed and after a long day of travel our girls were disappointed they couldn't swim. Mattresses were horrible. Overall, very bad experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am so sorry that you had problems with your room during your stay. I wish you would have let us relocate you to a different room but I understand that everyone was tired. Our pool is closed from 9pm until 9am so that guests that have rooms in the atrium can sleep. I do apologize that that the kids could not swim later in the evening. We do have the replacement a/c's available and can switch them out very quickly. Someone is here 24 hours a day to make sure that you are comfortable. I only have balconies available in our king bedded rooms, our rooms with the 2 queen beds do not have balconies. I am happy that my staff tried to help out and I apologize again that you were so unhappy with your stay.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

All aboard! RR next door, free parking, cookies upon arrival, and 2 FREE drinks/ snacks every night! Wait there is more. Killer and yummy breakfast, power bars for you hikers, and FREE laundry to wash out the soot! Most of all AMAZING staff who care, and oh so wonderful rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and all that it has to offer. Durango is a great place to visit and our hotel is a great place to stay. Thanks for the kind words and the business.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

In our years of staying here the hotel has kept the quality. cannot beat the location. If you ride the train and want to visit the downtown area. Just park your car and go. You will be hahppy to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. I am so happy that our location worked out well for you. I know that I prefer to walk everywhere when I travel too! We all hope that you had a great stay and enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

12 minutes to cold water for drinking at reservation desk when i was the only one at desk, 20 minutes notice didn't fetch a taxi, inspite of promise. But
listen to this, day one I had a male guest at my room at 9pm, no problems, Day 2 I had a female guest at 4pm (afternoon), they refused her entry to room saying 1. its a family hotel, 2. rules dont allow, 3. they refused to show rule book. 4, finally when they showed it said no guest allowed beyond 6pm, when questioned on this they said change the hotel- super rude, 5th and most amazing -how do we know whats the relation between you too. 6th, - a lady is only allowed if you have a double occupancy booked, refused to change it to double, when lady is giving her id , saying booking company disallows in my case. OMG. Looks its a middle east country we are living in.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western, Venere and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.