We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“outstanding customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The entire staff, that we connected with were helpful and friendly. Answered questions regarding the closing of Cimmaron Pass with updated information and suggestions. The staff on in the evening gave great dining suggestions. Also the staff at the breakfast buffet and happy hour were friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great staff and a great location. We hope that you had a fun time in Durango and will come back and stay with us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    128
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
140
148
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I'll start by saying their breakfast is excellent and the location is good, but for the price I think you can find better choices in the area. The pool is in the center court and echoes upstairs and into rooms near the elevators where I was. The room was stuffy and cramped. They do provide a shuttle to the airport but times can be limited. I thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I apologize that you were unhappy with your room. We do have larger rooms and rooms that are not in the atrium area that would have been quieter for you. We do appreciate the comments about the breakfast and hope that you were able to partake in the happy hour as well. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you enjoy your summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great location to train, shops, food. We liked the breakfast, free nightly drinks, huge bath towels, always cleaned early room and little extras...Scope, sewing kit, lots of pillows. Only downfalls were older mattress and musty smell to room....other stuff made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I do apologize for the musty odor in the room. I am not quite sure where it came from. All of our mattresses are brand new as well as our room carpeting. We have also redone most of the tub surrounds in the guest bathrooms. I do appreciate your kind comments and hope that you had a wonderful time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for those who want to go on the train or eat at the many good restaurants in Durango. The rooms are a little dark but all of a great size and well appointed. The indoor pool is excellent in any weather and the welcome drinks each evening..... er.... very welcome. The staff are really friendly and helful. Great stay and would go back any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We so appreciate the positive comments and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango and that you have a wonderful summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are lots of good things to say about the hotel. Their morning breakfast and evening cocktail hour were both fine. The rooms are are clean and comfortable. They are packed with all kinds of standard amenities like a refrigerator and a microwave, although all this stuff gave the impression the room was a bit cramped. The beds were very comfy.
One minor point but it was annoying after a long day of travel. I could not find any drinking glasses in the room. I went down to the front desk and they gave me some paper cups. Only the next morning did I find they store the glasses inside the closet on top of the safe.
My biggest gripe with this hotel is many of the rooms do not have windows. They face an interior courtyard. The rooms have large double doors with glass panels. If you want any light from outside you need to keep the curtain on the door open which gives a grand view into the room for anyone walking by. Once you draw the curtains you feel like you are in an interior cabin on a cruise ship. For some folks this may not be an issue, for me it would be reason to look elsewhere the next time I am passing through town.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room with a window if you want to see outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not enjoy your accommodation. We do have rooms that do not have the French doors and are outside as opposed to inside entrances. Every room has a window, even the rooms with the French doors. We may be a little darker inside because of the atrium design of the hotel. We all hope that you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel and the Durango area. Thank you again for your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san ramon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is one of the best you will find in the Best Western Plus group. The hotel is located very convenient to downtown Durango and the facilities are fantastic! You will not find a better hotel at their rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback, it really means a great deal to all of my hard working employees. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Durango and we hope to see you again someday soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The reception was busy when we got in late but they were so nice! The next morning the staff was even better and the breakfast servers were quite friendly too. A very pleasant experience. I did not have high expectations because the hotel looks very dated when you enter, but the service and comforts provided make up for the vintage looks.

What dates the hotel architecture and interiors is that the swimming pool is the central focus - all rooms circle round it. So there is a chlorine smell in the air when you arrive at your room. There is also a trip strip - an elevated threshold at the entrance to the room and we tripped over it every time we went in. I noticed this on all entrances on our floor. Just a caution to handicapped or not so ambulatory guests to watch out for. Also, there are a lot of 1/2 flights of stairs making baggage hard to get to and from the rooms. It is a quiet location, so that is part of the trade off.

The bed was really comfortable and it was quiet location. The shower leaked a little out the side and didn't have great drainage but overall it was a very large room. The carpets are 70's vintage throughout too.

Breakfast was nice and people here are welcoming and warm. I'd give it a 3 1/2.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found the service acceptable. We are an older hotel but we have added many upgrades over the past 3 years. In that time we have added new case goods to the rooms, new 42" flat screen TV's, new tub surrounds, new mattresses, new granite vanity tops and this past fall we replaced all the carpeting in the guest rooms. We do appreciate your input and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.