We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Durango @ BW Rio Grande” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Beaver Dam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great time in Durango @ BW Rio Grande”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the last few days in April. The room was clean and pleasant and offered everything you could ask for. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay in Durango even better. The breakfast was excellent. We love spending time in Durango and since the location of this hotel is right downtown it was all easy walking and close to the train station. Will definitely stay here again. They even gave you 2 free drinks of your choice per person early evening..We got to meet a few other guest during that time as well..Thanks again to all the great staff..

Room Tip: Try to get a room, with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great location to downtown and the train and we are a block away from all the noise on Main Avenue!! I have a wonderful, caring staff and we appreciate your acknowledgment of all of them. Please come back and see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    97
    49
    23
    17
See reviews for
114
111
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

this was our first time at this hotel. Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms, ours had a little balcony which was quite a treat. The desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The price was very reasonable. I would stay here again next time I am in Durango.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and all that the hotel has to offer. I do have a wonderful caring staff, thank you for the acknowledgment.
We all hope that you had a wonderful time in Durango and that you have a great summer!

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our stay here was Great! The hotel is a perfect location that once you arrive you do not need to use your car to explore downtown We took the train ride in the morning & the station was only a 5 minute walk. There were tons of little extra including chocolate chip cookies when you check in, coupon for free cocktail at happy hour The indoor pool & whirlpool was very nice Was a vacation within a vacation staying here

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you kindly for your valued response. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay; our location to downtown and other amenities. We appreciate your feedback and I hope to see you again in the future.

Michael Vice
Front Office Manager
970-385-4980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a great experience while staying here in Durango during our tour of the southwest. The location is ideal if you want to explore all the sights in old-town Durango; you can leave your car in the parking lot. The Durango-Silverton Railroad station is a short walk as are several excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We all are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed Durango as well. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
970-385-4980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel location was great. We could walk to many different restaurants. We had a great view from our window. The hotel was very quiet and had a nice pool area. They offered free cocktails and breakfast which was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and are very happy that you had a great time in Durango. We do have a great property with a great location. We all hope that you have safe travels and a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent location within walking distance of the smart Colorado town of Durango, easy to park, enormous room catering for skiing guests, and Best Western's odd design with the pool in the centre of the hotel under the atrium! The result are; chlorine smells in the main corridors, a very public pool area, noise in both the hotel common areas and sometimes into the rooms. My personal key hate in the US, breakfast on paper plates, plastic cutlery and paper mugs, for which I have rated one start lower. Good value, but really, Colorado and Santa Fe/Albuquerque can do so much better. I will be avoiding Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do agree that the atrium can be a bit noisy while the kids are enjoying the pool. We open the pool at 9 am and close it at 9 pm so that we have some quiet hours We do not use chlorine to sanitize our pool, we use bromine. We have to use chemicals that will make the pool safe for swimming. I apologize that the odor was offensive to you. We do not have the space for a commercial dishwasher so we are unable to use china. There are Best Westerns in the chain that have a full restaurant that enables them to use china and not the paper products. I hope that you enjoyed Durango. It is a great location with proximity to skiing, rafting, Mesa Verde National Park and Durango Mountain resort ski area. I again apologize that you were disappointed with the atrium, the indoor pool, and the paper products that we use in our breakfast room.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise on the edge of downtown Durango. Parking is free and it is in a secluded quiet area. The rooms are large, clean, and staff very friendly. It is in walking distance of everything downtown. The indoor pool, evening cocktail hour, and full breakfast in the mornings offered opportunity to meet other travelers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We do have a great property with a very convenient location. It is so nice to walk downtown and not have to worry about finding a spot to park. Downtown Durango has so much to offer its' visitors and I am glad that you found it enjoyable. We greatly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.