We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% + 500 bonus pts!
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Effingham, United States
2 reviews
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel location was great. We could walk to many different restaurants. We had a great view from our window. The hotel was very quiet and had a nice pool area. They offered free cocktails and breakfast which was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and are very happy that you had a great time in Durango. We do have a great property with a great location. We all hope that you have safe travels and a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent location within walking distance of the smart Colorado town of Durango, easy to park, enormous room catering for skiing guests, and Best Western's odd design with the pool in the centre of the hotel under the atrium! The result are; chlorine smells in the main corridors, a very public pool area, noise in both the hotel common areas and sometimes into the rooms. My personal key hate in the US, breakfast on paper plates, plastic cutlery and paper mugs, for which I have rated one start lower. Good value, but really, Colorado and Santa Fe/Albuquerque can do so much better. I will be avoiding Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do agree that the atrium can be a bit noisy while the kids are enjoying the pool. We open the pool at 9 am and close it at 9 pm so that we have some quiet hours We do not use chlorine to sanitize our pool, we use bromine. We have to use chemicals that will make the pool safe for swimming. I apologize that the odor was offensive to you. We do not have the space for a commercial dishwasher so we are unable to use china. There are Best Westerns in the chain that have a full restaurant that enables them to use china and not the paper products. I hope that you enjoyed Durango. It is a great location with proximity to skiing, rafting, Mesa Verde National Park and Durango Mountain resort ski area. I again apologize that you were disappointed with the atrium, the indoor pool, and the paper products that we use in our breakfast room.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This was a very pleasant surprise on the edge of downtown Durango. Parking is free and it is in a secluded quiet area. The rooms are large, clean, and staff very friendly. It is in walking distance of everything downtown. The indoor pool, evening cocktail hour, and full breakfast in the mornings offered opportunity to meet other travelers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We do have a great property with a very convenient location. It is so nice to walk downtown and not have to worry about finding a spot to park. Downtown Durango has so much to offer its' visitors and I am glad that you found it enjoyable. We greatly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very nice, location and facilities. Clean and quiet, great breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will stay there again if we get back in the area. Staff was very helpful in pointing out interesting features of Durango area and things we might do in our limited time there while on school spring-break. Also, they directed us to the local college (Fort Lewis) for a tour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 670altonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on this site. We are very happy that you had a great time and hope that you enjoyed the tour of the college. We hope that you will return to visit us again-we love happy guests!! Thank you again and have a wonderful summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have driven from NY state to the west 10 times and always stop at the BW Rio Grande and Durango. Great place with well appointed rooms, nice pool and hot tub, and we enjoy the "happy hour". Also Sue is great at recommending restaurants and giving out discounts to our favorite places, especially Ken and Sue's. We will arrive in 2 days and we hope Sue is behind the bar.

Room Tip: A room on the indoor courtyard overlooking the pool is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! We are so happy that you keep on returning to our establishment. I believe the bartender may be out of town this week but I will pass along your kind words to her. We appreciate your taking the time to review our property on this site. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a last min. trip to durango due to emergency. we made last min reservations and weren't sure how long we were going to stay. the staff was so gracious and kept our room unreserved for the rest of the week. we ended up needing it for the rest of the time and couldn't be happier. the room was everything and more then you would expect from a best western. I loved eating our free breakfast on the balcony. I love that the room faced the indoor pool and hot tub. It was very clean, well kept for an older building and even though it was obviously under remodeling it wasn't an eye sore and the workers were quiet and courteous. they kept a very clean project. and the pool area was clean and kid friendly and WARM! the hot tub was spacious and HOT! the location was perfect, walking distance from the local shops and eateries . Parking was a dream as well. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for manager's special after you look up the internet price. and choose from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We are excited to hear you had such a positive experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate that you took your time to highlight all of the aspects of our hotel. The balcony rooms are a nice place to relax and enjoy all the sunshine the southwest has to offer. I am happy to hear that you had fun in the pool and found comfort in our spa. The remodeling is going well and we are almost complete. I'm sure by the next time you stay our renovations will be complete. Well thank you for your business and this amazing review of our property! Please come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Second visit to Durango area this year and both times stayed here because of the access to town center. It is great not to have to drive to eat at great places. The hot tub and managers happy hour are a great way to unwind after a day of skiing or meetings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you very much for this review of our property, its location and the value we provide.The happy hour and hot tub are great amenities and I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. We are happy to hear that you were able to visit some of downtown while you where staying with us. Thank you again for your continued business and please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing