We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights last week. Traveled alone. (male) Room was great, clean and big. Staff was great. Location to services even better. Last night there a noisy group of unsupervised teens were given a room next to mine(306) and ruined my experience as I needed rest before continuing on my road trip. Too bad for me I guess.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I am so sorry that other guests disrupted your stay with us. We do have staff available 24 hours a day to assist with these issues. I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. It is disappointing when we have wonderful guests go through a negative experience due to inconsiderate guests. Please accept my sincere apologize for the disruption. We appreciate your input and hope that you had a safe journey home.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    104
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
127
124
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our first time to stay in Durango, and my husband and I were quite happy with our experience at the hotel. We always ask for a top-floor room far from the elevator, and that's what we were given (room 305). It was one of the exterior-walkway rooms but was very quiet and private. The room was spacious, the king bed was comfortable, and we appreciated the free Tom's Toothpaste samples! We'd been hiking at Monument Valley and Mesa Verde earlier in the day, so we loved being able to soak in the spa tub. We also appreciated the free drinks (wine and cocktails) and the friendly bartender doling them out. We drove to dinner but found out the next morning that it's an easy and pleasant walk to the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The hotel is an excellent value--we'll definitely stay here the next time we're in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that our hotel met all your needs! We do have a nice property, great location and a great staff. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring the area and were able to relax at the end of the day with a soak and a cocktail! Thank you again for the feedback.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms are clean, comfortable & fully stocked. The pool & jacuzzi are great. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to take care of you. The location is walking distance to everything. Really pleased with our stay - will Definitely stay here next time we come through Durango. Kid friendly, too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on this site. We do have a great property. Great location, great amenities and a wonderful staff. We so appreciate the acknowledgement and the positive feedback. It means so much to all of us here. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight on Sunday. The room (306) was quiet, clean, and odor free. There were five pillows on the king bed which was very nice. The room's TV was big enough for us to enjoy the Olympic coverage that was on, even though the channel was not in high-definition. In the evening, we had the heated pool and hot tub area to ourselves. The 2 free happy hour drinks were a great touch. Our server was very pleasant. The location was very central and shopping and dining were all within walking distance. On a side note, there is a great vegetarian-friendly New Mexican restaurant across the street (Gazpachos). My only complaint was an unpleasant odor in the dining room - my guess is that it came from the carpet. Overall, this was one of our best-ever hotel stays, especially for the value. We recommend for anyone staying in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review!! I am sorry about the odor in the breakfast room. We have corrected the problem and are very happy that it did not impact your stay with us. We are so happy that you took advantage of all that we have to offer during your brief stay with us. We are working on the HD, our cable provider currently does not offer that option. Please come back and see us again if you are through this area. We love happy guests!!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stay here every year. Always a good deal for Durango, snowdown. Kids love the pool. Sometimes a bit loud, but if you stay on the third floor it is quieter. Location cannot be beat, right by the train and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We are so happy that you and your family had a great time. I usually try and get people on the third floor or outside if they want a quieter location. The kids really enjoy our pool and it can get noisy at times. The pool is closed at 9 pm and opens again in the morning at 9 am. We are conveniently located to downtown and the train and all that Durango has to offer. We hope that you will come and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After trying two brand new hotel chains in the area, we found this hotel and wish we had stayed here from the start. Great location - short walk to town, shops, and to wonderful and quaint movie theatre. Still renovating, the sheets and pillows were far superior to one of the new chains. Incredible breakfast and cocktail hour included. Friendly and professional staff ..best value of our trip!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We so appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased that we were your #1 hotel for your vacation. We do have a great hotel and a great staff. We are doing some off season renovations to make it even better! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Best Western PLUS Rio Grande Inn, Durango, CO is a very nice place to stay. It is within walking distance of the D&RG Narrow Gauge Train Depot and several downtown restaurants and attractions. In the evening you can enjoy two free drinks and appetizers with a very friendly staff. In the morning, enjoy a very good and filling breakfast. There is an indoor pool and whirlpool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you again for the great review. We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We do have a great location and offer great amenities to our guests. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.