We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice low cost place for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice low cost place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stay here every year. Always a good deal for Durango, snowdown. Kids love the pool. Sometimes a bit loud, but if you stay on the third floor it is quieter. Location cannot be beat, right by the train and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We are so happy that you and your family had a great time. I usually try and get people on the third floor or outside if they want a quieter location. The kids really enjoy our pool and it can get noisy at times. The pool is closed at 9 pm and opens again in the morning at 9 am. We are conveniently located to downtown and the train and all that Durango has to offer. We hope that you will come and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    122
    55
    24
    17
See reviews for
134
144
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After trying two brand new hotel chains in the area, we found this hotel and wish we had stayed here from the start. Great location - short walk to town, shops, and to wonderful and quaint movie theatre. Still renovating, the sheets and pillows were far superior to one of the new chains. Incredible breakfast and cocktail hour included. Friendly and professional staff ..best value of our trip!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We so appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased that we were your #1 hotel for your vacation. We do have a great hotel and a great staff. We are doing some off season renovations to make it even better! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Best Western PLUS Rio Grande Inn, Durango, CO is a very nice place to stay. It is within walking distance of the D&RG Narrow Gauge Train Depot and several downtown restaurants and attractions. In the evening you can enjoy two free drinks and appetizers with a very friendly staff. In the morning, enjoy a very good and filling breakfast. There is an indoor pool and whirlpool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you again for the great review. We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We do have a great location and offer great amenities to our guests. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location is within walking distance to downtown Durango. The pool and hot tub are great and the breakfast is fantastic! The check-in staff is friendly and helpful. Parking could be a little better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you had a great time with us. I do apologize for the parking, I am not sure when you stayed but we do try and monitor it and keep non guests out of our lot. We all hope that you return and wish you all the best in the New Year.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our son lives in Durango, we stayed at the B/W Rio Grande last visit and will be staying again on our next visit in a few weeks. The location is convenient to all attractions and walking distance, for the non skiers, to the shops and fine restaurants, our favorite Ken and Sue's ! Driving distance to Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort is a convenient, direct drive. The staff from the front desk, Breakfast and maintenance is always friendly, greeting with a hello! The rooms are "roomy" and clean. Laundry services are "free", which is a pleasure with heavy winter clothing. The Managers Reception or a dip into the hot tub, is a nice way to unwind after a day of skiing along ! My two favorite things in Durango, My son and the B/W Rio Grande !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return. We do offer a great product and a great value! Breakfast, drinks, pool & hot tub! Perfect for those tired bones after skiing. We appreciate the positive feedback and all hope that you have a great 2014!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This Best Western hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shopping in downtown Durango and in reasonable driving distance from Purgatory Ski Resort. It also had nice amenities like a fridge in the room, a small balcony, an in-room coffee maker, and free extras like a sewing kit and makeup towel. The included breakfast is hearty and includes lots of hot and cold selections. Our group was also impressed with the free happy hour each evening from 5:30-7:30. The bartender was courteous and knowledgeable. All these things made our stay and will make YOUR stay a great one too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review on this site. It means a lot to all of us that you acknowledge our hotel and staff on a national forum. We so appreciate the business and hope that you will return and see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria la
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was the nicest hotels. When checking in on our way to paonia the front desk was so nice and helpful. Then when we came back through they did not have the same rate room avaiable but gave us the upgraded room for the same price as the one we were in on the way to paonia. They also call to check on your once you get settled in to make sure everything is to your liking. I am a little of a germ freak and this room was spotless. Location was the best easy walk to anything in town. Defiantly would tell anyone to stay here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great housekeeping staff that does pride itself on the cleanliness of the hotel. We are in the process of updating the rooms with new carpeting and tub surrounds so it will be even better if you come and visit us again. We all wish you the best in the New Year.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.