We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Vail, United States
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Rio Grande Inn over Christmas 2013 while skiing Purgatory. The room was clean, the pool and hot tub outstanding and the included breakfast and Happy Hour drinks were excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect for the non-skier who can walk the town and shops. Great staff and good value for the money. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
What a great review. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We do offer a great product with a convenient location. I am blessed with a wonderful staff and an owner that truly cares about his hotel. We wish you all the best this holiday season. Again, thanks so much for the nice review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    47
    23
    17
See reviews for
112
110
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent two nights here 12/19-21/13 and had a nice time. We enjoyed the location because it is walking distance to many things: the D & S Narrow Gauge R,R., restaurants, bus station and historic downtown. The beds were comfortable, the room was nicely furnished and had some nice updated features. Friendly and helpful staff, good hearty breakfast, 2 free drinks each evening were some more perks.
A couple of things to note: If you want a quiet room go for one outside; not in the atrium.
Due to it's openness everything echoes and you can hear people talking across the atrium or from the floor below. The atrium is attractive but it also smells strongly of chlorine because of the pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub look nice but we didn't use them due to many families staying there over the holidays for the "Polar Express" Train ride on the D & S.
TIP:Get directions~it is on the end of a street that is only 1 way until 1 block away.

Room Tip: Outside entrance (not is atrium). These also have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed your time with us. We do have a great location, close to shops, restaurants and the train. We all hope that you had a fun holiday and wish you all the best in the New Year!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was large and pleasant, but it just wasn't quite clean looking. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but there was no way I would sit in it. The wifi shut down periodically, and, though the office staff kindly reset it for me several times, I do want a dependable connection to the internet. The breakfast spread looked good, they even had breakfast burrito fixings, but no yogurt for the diet or health-conscious. Fortunately, our room was on the ground floor because, though they had an elevator, it had been broken for "a few days" and they did have three floors of rooms! I would not stay here again, even if they paid me!

Room Tip: Some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did have an elevator issue and unfortunately living in a remote community we have to wait for a technician to come in from a larger city to service our elevator. It is working fine now and I am glad that we put you on the first floor so you were not inconvenienced by it. I don't know if there was a problem with the jetted tub since you did not use it but I apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to at least try it and see if you would enjoy it. I am not quite sure what the wifi issues were, I am happy that my staff was able to assist you when you were not able to connect. We do have yogurt on our breakfast buffet. We do offer fresh oatmeal daily as well. I am not sure what healthy options you would like to see but any suggestions are appreciated.
We all hope that you had a safe trip home to Maryland. I am so sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues when I checked you out that morning, I would have liked to apologize to your personally for your dissatisfaction with our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great rooms! The beds were very comfortable and lots of space. The indoor pool is right outside your door and it was warm! The breakfast was great. Very good hot food and the staff was very helpful and offered to get you whatever you wanted. Location was great just off of downtown, Quick easy walk to the train station

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
What a wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Have a great holiday season and come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were a group of 32 adults / kids traveling for hockey games. The hotel staff worked to make it a perfect trip for us. They opened their breakfast service an hour early, kept the bar / beverage service open late, and gave our group late checkouts. We could not have wished for more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We do try and accommodate requests for groups. We really appreciate the acknowledgment-it means a great deal to all of us here. We hope that your team will consider us again if you are coming to Durango. Enjoy your holidays and thanks again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel offers exceptional value for the cost. The only deficiency was the slow internet service, but I understand it is that way all over the local area. The rooms were clean, and the beds were decent. The breakfast offered many choices, including a variety of healthy options. Some of the rooms (although ours didn't) had balconies with a wrought iron table and chairs, which was a nice touch. The front desk service was excellent, especially when providing directions. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked inviting. The hotel is kind of tucked away behind the train station, but not too hard to find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great product and are very happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are working on finding different internet options and do apologize for any slowness that you experienced during your stay. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you have a fun holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived later than planned but reception was ready. Efficient check in and invitation to "cocktails" on the house. Brilliant intro to Durango. Ginny the hostess was great. Informative and set us up for a great dinner (The Ore House). Rooms OK - none was a little noisy due to highway proximity but not really an issue. Durango has a great downtown area to explore. Breakfast was wholesome too followed by a friendly and efficient check-out. Indoor pool / hot-tub were very tempting but alas we had no spare time. Good value. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We appreciate your taking the time to go on this site and rate our hotel. It really means a great deal to all of us especially when it is so positive. We are happy that you enjoyed our facility and staff. We all hope that your journeys were pleasant and that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the area.

Thank you again!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.