We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice People, But . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice People, But . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was large and pleasant, but it just wasn't quite clean looking. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but there was no way I would sit in it. The wifi shut down periodically, and, though the office staff kindly reset it for me several times, I do want a dependable connection to the internet. The breakfast spread looked good, they even had breakfast burrito fixings, but no yogurt for the diet or health-conscious. Fortunately, our room was on the ground floor because, though they had an elevator, it had been broken for "a few days" and they did have three floors of rooms! I would not stay here again, even if they paid me!

Room Tip: Some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did have an elevator issue and unfortunately living in a remote community we have to wait for a technician to come in from a larger city to service our elevator. It is working fine now and I am glad that we put you on the first floor so you were not inconvenienced by it. I don't know if there was a problem with the jetted tub since you did not use it but I apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to at least try it and see if you would enjoy it. I am not quite sure what the wifi issues were, I am happy that my staff was able to assist you when you were not able to connect. We do have yogurt on our breakfast buffet. We do offer fresh oatmeal daily as well. I am not sure what healthy options you would like to see but any suggestions are appreciated.
We all hope that you had a safe trip home to Maryland. I am so sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues when I checked you out that morning, I would have liked to apologize to your personally for your dissatisfaction with our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    127
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
140
147
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great rooms! The beds were very comfortable and lots of space. The indoor pool is right outside your door and it was warm! The breakfast was great. Very good hot food and the staff was very helpful and offered to get you whatever you wanted. Location was great just off of downtown, Quick easy walk to the train station

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
What a wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Have a great holiday season and come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were a group of 32 adults / kids traveling for hockey games. The hotel staff worked to make it a perfect trip for us. They opened their breakfast service an hour early, kept the bar / beverage service open late, and gave our group late checkouts. We could not have wished for more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We do try and accommodate requests for groups. We really appreciate the acknowledgment-it means a great deal to all of us here. We hope that your team will consider us again if you are coming to Durango. Enjoy your holidays and thanks again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel offers exceptional value for the cost. The only deficiency was the slow internet service, but I understand it is that way all over the local area. The rooms were clean, and the beds were decent. The breakfast offered many choices, including a variety of healthy options. Some of the rooms (although ours didn't) had balconies with a wrought iron table and chairs, which was a nice touch. The front desk service was excellent, especially when providing directions. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked inviting. The hotel is kind of tucked away behind the train station, but not too hard to find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great product and are very happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are working on finding different internet options and do apologize for any slowness that you experienced during your stay. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you have a fun holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived later than planned but reception was ready. Efficient check in and invitation to "cocktails" on the house. Brilliant intro to Durango. Ginny the hostess was great. Informative and set us up for a great dinner (The Ore House). Rooms OK - none was a little noisy due to highway proximity but not really an issue. Durango has a great downtown area to explore. Breakfast was wholesome too followed by a friendly and efficient check-out. Indoor pool / hot-tub were very tempting but alas we had no spare time. Good value. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We appreciate your taking the time to go on this site and rate our hotel. It really means a great deal to all of us especially when it is so positive. We are happy that you enjoyed our facility and staff. We all hope that your journeys were pleasant and that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the area.

Thank you again!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. We decided to stay here because it was located very near the train depot for the Durango Silverton Train. We checked in late one afternoon and was given directions to several restaurants within walking distance - train depot is also within walking distance. The staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and clean, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of choices. The indoor pool are was clean and centrally located.

Room Tip: If you want to park close to your room - ask for a room on the side facing the highway instead of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the positive feedback-it means so much to all of us here. We do have a great hotel with a great staff. Durango is a great town to walk around in and we have such a convenient location for all that there is to do in the downtown area. Again, thank you and have a great Thanksgiving holiday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this Best Western. The staff were all friendly, the room was very clean, bed very, very comfortable and breakfast had a nice variety. We were surprised, and enjoyed, the two free drinks that evening. great walking distance to downtown Durango.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and gave us such great feedback. We do have a great property and a staff that goes above and beyond to address guest's needs. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango. Enjoy your holiday season!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.