We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived later than planned but reception was ready. Efficient check in and invitation to "cocktails" on the house. Brilliant intro to Durango. Ginny the hostess was great. Informative and set us up for a great dinner (The Ore House). Rooms OK - none was a little noisy due to highway proximity but not really an issue. Durango has a great downtown area to explore. Breakfast was wholesome too followed by a friendly and efficient check-out. Indoor pool / hot-tub were very tempting but alas we had no spare time. Good value. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We appreciate your taking the time to go on this site and rate our hotel. It really means a great deal to all of us especially when it is so positive. We are happy that you enjoyed our facility and staff. We all hope that your journeys were pleasant and that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the area.

Thank you again!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    163
    69
    26
    17
See reviews for
179
197
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. We decided to stay here because it was located very near the train depot for the Durango Silverton Train. We checked in late one afternoon and was given directions to several restaurants within walking distance - train depot is also within walking distance. The staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and clean, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of choices. The indoor pool are was clean and centrally located.

Room Tip: If you want to park close to your room - ask for a room on the side facing the highway instead of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the positive feedback-it means so much to all of us here. We do have a great hotel with a great staff. Durango is a great town to walk around in and we have such a convenient location for all that there is to do in the downtown area. Again, thank you and have a great Thanksgiving holiday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this Best Western. The staff were all friendly, the room was very clean, bed very, very comfortable and breakfast had a nice variety. We were surprised, and enjoyed, the two free drinks that evening. great walking distance to downtown Durango.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and gave us such great feedback. We do have a great property and a staff that goes above and beyond to address guest's needs. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango. Enjoy your holiday season!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were there for 4 nights and regardless of who was at the front desk they were always helpful and pleasant. The hotel is in historic downtown and easy walking distance to many restaurants and activities. The room was a typical hotel room, nothing extra special, but it was always quiet. About half of the rooms had outside entry, but there are some indoors around the pool area. The best thing of this hotel was the breakfast. It was over and above expectations and anyone-including picky eaters-could find something they like. In the evenings they also had 2 complementary drinks and chips for "paying" guests which was a nice treat. The kids could play in the pool while we relaxed on the side. The one downfall was the hot tub. While the water temperature was hot, the jets were not working. Will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so sorry about the hot tub. It appears that one of the jets has sprung a leak and we are in the process of trying find exactly where the leak is so that we can repair it and get the jets running again. We are working on it and hopefully will have it fixed soon. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do try and address dietary needs and provide enough of a variety to offer many options for our guests. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here a couple of days before going on a hunt and one night after. Great location - close enough to walk downtown to shops. Bed was comfy, plenty of pillows and entire room (bath included) was clean. Breakfast was out-of-this world good - even strawberries and whipped cream to put on the waffles ! They also had complimentary drinks each evening. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I'm seriously only staying at Best Westerns from now on !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for supporting the Best Western Brand. We are all individually-not corporate- owned hotels and we pride ourselves on taking great care of our guests and their needs. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a good hunting trip. We truly appreciate the wonderful review and the great endorsement of our brand.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The front desk checked us in so quickly. They also accommodated my request to be on the quiet side of the hotel. The continental breakfast was superior to many hotel breakfasts. You could make your own breakfast burrito, waffles, biscuits and gravy. They also had the other stuff like donuts, cereal, yogurt, etc. It was very quiet and we appreciated the happy hour after a long day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. I am happy that you enjoyed the great service. We do go above and beyond for our guests and appreciate the positive feedback. We all feel that we have a great property and are happy that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. We do hope that your time in Durango was pleasant and that you will be back to see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What an excellent location! Leave your car in the parking lot and you can walk to all the locations! Steamworks Brewery, Ken & Sues, Henry Strater Theater, Jean Pierre Bakery. Every place on Main Street is an easy walk, even at midnight! Loved the free breakfast and the biscuits & gravy were great! The 2 free drinks in the evening weren't bad either!. The train station is just a block away. This is one of the few places I have stayed with an indoor pool that was not humid! Great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We greatly appreciate the input and the positive feedback. We do have a great location and a great property. The pool area is a wonderful asset and I am so happy that you enjoyed it. Please come back and stay with us again soon. The winter rates are lower and the downtown area is usually not as busy. Have a great Thanksgiving and again thank you very much for the review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.