We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Best Western Plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Best Western Plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The front desk checked us in so quickly. They also accommodated my request to be on the quiet side of the hotel. The continental breakfast was superior to many hotel breakfasts. You could make your own breakfast burrito, waffles, biscuits and gravy. They also had the other stuff like donuts, cereal, yogurt, etc. It was very quiet and we appreciated the happy hour after a long day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 1319blb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. I am happy that you enjoyed the great service. We do go above and beyond for our guests and appreciate the positive feedback. We all feel that we have a great property and are happy that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. We do hope that your time in Durango was pleasant and that you will be back to see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What an excellent location! Leave your car in the parking lot and you can walk to all the locations! Steamworks Brewery, Ken & Sues, Henry Strater Theater, Jean Pierre Bakery. Every place on Main Street is an easy walk, even at midnight! Loved the free breakfast and the biscuits & gravy were great! The 2 free drinks in the evening weren't bad either!. The train station is just a block away. This is one of the few places I have stayed with an indoor pool that was not humid! Great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoGirl505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We greatly appreciate the input and the positive feedback. We do have a great location and a great property. The pool area is a wonderful asset and I am so happy that you enjoyed it. Please come back and stay with us again soon. The winter rates are lower and the downtown area is usually not as busy. Have a great Thanksgiving and again thank you very much for the review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinton, Pa., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a delightful stay, close to Durango, the railway station, and highways to other attractions. The staff was warm and courteous. The rooms comfortable and clean. All in all, we felt at home. Breakfast and staff serving was outstanding. Great job!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you feel so warmly about our hotel and our staff. We do have a great product and a great staff! We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and are enjoying the fall season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

wonderful stay & good people taking care of your needs. thanks for all the care and will tell many others to try this location out. I am proud of the changes made at this motel and will be back soon. I'ts nice to know when we return that we can count on a good experience and comfort. thanks Mary Kay and all the staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are always so happy to see you- you brighten our day. We look forward to seeing you again and are very happy that you are enjoying your retirement.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Tucked in behind the Train Station is a gem of a hotel. It is very comfortable, more like a Premier Class than Plus in the Best Western class. We had a lovely balcony and very generous size room with nice seating area and most pleasant decor. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It isn't visable driving into town, but well worth searching out. Town is only two blocks away with lots of restaurants and shops. Couldn't ask for more for a very good value.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room which may be a bit more expensive, but still a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are tucked behind the train station and it is a little tricky getting here due to a couple of one way streets. Once you are here you can just park and walk to all of the venues that Durango has to offer. It makes it very convenient because it can be difficult to find a spot to park in the downtown area. The king bedded rooms with the balconies are our guest favorites. The do give one the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor scenery and the wonderful Durango weather. We do appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you return again someday in your future travels to the Durango area.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A friend and I stayed here on October 24th. & 25th., 2013. We had booked a trip on the Durango to Silverton train. We were pleasantly syrprised to find that we could walk to the train station in just two minutes from the hotel. Shopping in Durango is only minutes away from the hotel.
We had separate rooms and they were really comfortable. Free drinks are served to guests each night in an area close to the pool. A free, really substantial, buffet style breakfast is available to guests starting 6-30am. daily.
The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
I had checked out hotels in the Durango area at least a month or so before arriving there and prices at this hotel are reasonable in comparison.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the end furher away from the pool are nice and quiet although they do close the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great convenient location away from all the noise on Main avenue. The pool area can get noisy at times but we do close it at 9pm and do not open it again until 9am so that there is piece and quiet for the slumber hours. We are happy that you enjoyed the cocktails and the breakfast. I do have a wonderful friendly staff and we are very happy that you chose to stay with us.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean and well maintained in a great location. It's a little expensive, but given the great location which is walking distance from dining and entertainment in the downtown area it's probably worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are in our low season rates now that the summer season is passed and the rates will stay down until mid May. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and will stop by and stay with us again someday soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing