We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Sun City, United States
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean and well maintained in a great location. It's a little expensive, but given the great location which is walking distance from dining and entertainment in the downtown area it's probably worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are in our low season rates now that the summer season is passed and the rates will stay down until mid May. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and will stop by and stay with us again someday soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    97
    49
    23
    17
See reviews for
114
111
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo West, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

this place is our favorite in Durango,Co.they constantly update,the bedding and plumbing new this time.because it's again,the construction is superior to many of the new places.it's very quiet.the sound deadening qualities of the brick construction a real plus.we received two free drinks at the bar.the breakfast is good.indoor heated pool a plus.ask at the front desk for coupons for Gaspaucho's,practically next door.we will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Yes, we do have a very solidly built property and we are constantly updating. We will be replacing the carpeting this fall and adding a new roof along with some new common area furniture. We are also replacing tub surrounds in some of the rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed the free drinks and the improvements to our breakfast buffet.
We all hope that you had a great time in Durango! Thank you again for the nice review and the continued support of our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is located just off downtown, within walking distance of historic downtown. Amenities are slightly outdated, (i.e. bathrooms small and older and pool heated but never warm) but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are an older property but we do our best to keep everything and are in the process of replacing carpeting, tub surrounds, and adding a new roof. We do have a great location and a great staff and are happy that you chose to stay with us.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent Service When the key card failed to work in my door, even after remaking the key card several times, they responded by moving me to a 3 room suite for the remainder of my stay. Everything else was excellent as well. Hotel, breakfast, desk service and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you again for the great review. We are so happy that you group decided to stay with us and even extended a day due to the unexpected storm. What a week! We do have a great facility and it works really well for the car clubs that do stay with us. I am happy that my solution worked for your lock problems. We all hope that you had a safe trip home and maybe we will see you and your group again someday!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel has been the best -- the staff is welcoming and friendly and top-notch with their customer service skills -- any requests are quickly responded to -- the property is just a block or so from historic downtown Durango and its variety of restaurants, varied shopping and galleries -- facilities are up-to-date and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The positive feedback means so much to all of us. We do have a great location and a great staff! We hope that you had a great time in Durango and will be back to see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our first visit was much nicer. This was 3 or4 years ago. Service has slipped. Rooms really need some attention. Our jetted tub had a shower head installed for one of the jets! The A/C barely cooled the room. The pool in the center just makes for an annoying interruption with screaming kids. They do have a nice set up for a bike wash and are convenient to walk anywhere in the downtown area. They do have a nice breakfast in the AM, if you can get in there, it's packed. I don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I usually get very high marks for customer service and I apologize if we dropped the ball where you were concerned. The pool area has been the same since the hotel was built nothing has changed since your last visit. We have upgraded the breakfast, have replaced all the mattresses and case goods in the rooms, have upgraded the linen, and are replacing all the room carpeting this fall. We do appreciate your business and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Family and I stayed at the Best Western in Durango for one night during a recent family vacation. This place was clean, had a great staff greeting us out front, has an indoor pool, complimentary breakfast (and cocktails for the adults), and is located right in the midst of the downtown Durango area. I would definitely stay there again and the value was spot on!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
What a wonderful review. We appreciate your positive acknowledgement of our staff and our hotel. We all are blessed with a wonderful area to live and wonderful guests! Thank you for the review. We appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.