We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise for the weary business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise for the weary business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I spent one night in Durango Colorado for work and arrived at the Durango Best Western feeling beat up by the 5 hour drive to get there. The front desk was quick and helpful when I asked about dinner places. The room was clean the bed was nice and the room had a view of the mountain. They could use an update as everything was pretty old in there but overall a good place to crash.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We do have a great product and we appreciate that you took the time to fill out to write this review. We have location, clean rooms, and offer a great breakfast and free cocktails. The staff is also very efficient and caring. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms. We have replaced most of the beds, and about a third of the room carpet. We have also redone about a third of the bathrooms. We are planning other improvements in the fall once it slows down a bit.

We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and again, we appreciate the kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    117
    54
    24
    17
See reviews for
132
139
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel reminds me of the type of hotel that I stayed in as a kid in the 1970s. In fact, I would have been excited to stay at a hotel this nice back then. The layout with exterior corridors, open stairs, and the indoor atrium pool surrounded by rooms all remind me of this time. The dark brick, tiny lobby, and chlorine smell do as well. I thought it was fun, but it won't please everyone, Hotel design has changed a lot over the past 40 years.

The layout is obviously here to stay, but there are a few areas where the hotel could really improve. The beds and pillows are okay, but they could be better. The furnishings and decor are due for an upgrade. We stayed in one of the double queen suites. The bedroom didn't have a single picture or decoration. Just stark white walls. That reminded me of Motel 6. For $300 a night, the hotel should do better. The living room featured inexpensive furnishings that weren't overly comfortable but, unlike the bedroom, some attempt had been made to make it attractive.

The air conditioning units in both the bedroom and living room need replacing. The one in the bedroom blows right across the beds, and the one in the living room blows right across the couch. The vents don't adjust enough to send the air flow up or down so that you can be comfortable either sitting on the couch or in bed. In addition, even the lowest fan speed is too high and makes quite a roar. The air conditioning is a key reason for my low score. It really affected the enjoyment of our stay.

The unusual drapes on the window panels are another item that needs to be upgraded. They allow in very little outside light even when "open". You have to see them to understand, but they don't open very far. This is maybe okay for the atrium rooms to provide more privacy, but outside light is highly desired in an exerior facing room like the suites.

Finally, the rates charged should be enough to cover the cost of individual yogurt cartons at breakfast. Having a big communal bowl of yogurt for guests to dip into is just not appealing. This hotel has much higher rates than a typical Best Western. I think it should deliver a higher level of service as well.

On a brighter note, the staff is friendly, and the location is fantastic. It's an easy walk to the train depot and all over Durango's lively downtown. The hotel is also very clean. There are some positives here, but I can't recommend this hotel. Some of the other reviews are a bit too glowing based on my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I again apologize that you were disappointed in your stay. We did replace all the case goods in the rooms 2 years ago as well as adding new TV's and upgraded linen. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the owner's choices. I will address the a/c problem that you had. We will see if we can redirect the vents. Most of the units have some flexibility as to the direction of the air but I am not sure why there was a challenge with the 2 in your room. I am happy that you enjoyed the staff and the location. We all hope that you had fun in Durango and that you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Best Western "Plus" Rio Grande Inn was a well managed hotel and the rooms were large and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the free breakfast buffet was very large for a hotel of this type. A minor gripe -- the English muffin was stale, but that is my only complaint with the free buffet. As a bonus, downtown Durago and the narrow-gage train are within easy walking distance. As you probably know, the Best Western brand is not like the upscale big hotel chains; all of them are a little different are often not as modern. However, for your next trip to Durango, CO, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. Google directions before you arrive, although located in the heart of Durango, the hotel is not easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the English muffin. I will have my staff make sure to watch the product better. We go through stuff so fast this time of year that it should always be fresh. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and will consider us again in your future travels to the Durango area!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location for accessing downtown Durango (where parking can be a challenge). Just a few minutes to the train and the train museum.

Another positive--indoor pool. Great place for my kids to cool off and get out of the sun. Was a bit of a chlorine overload.

Service was good. Not luxury hotel gracious, but efficient and sometimes even friendly.

Rooms are old-school motel rooms. They are basic and acceptably clean, but worn and dated.

Bathrooms are small. My sink was clogged when we checked it but quickly remedied after a call to the front desk.

Breakfast--here is where I start to sound like a snobn(if I haven't already), my apologies. But I am spoiled by fantastic, fresh and high-quality European hotel breakfasts where the whole-grain breads are baked on-site along with the croissants; eggs are cooked to order and served with a variety of cheeses and cured meats; and there is yogurt! So an American-style breakfast where the bread and pastries are not fresh, the scrambled eggs are probably powdered and everything is packaged, processed food--well, at least they had Cheerios for my kids.

Stay here for the location, just don't expect much else.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side, bottom floor--it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We were happy to host the "Ride the Rockies" bikers here and in the town of Durango! It is great fun to have you come through our city. I am very happy that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. Please come back and stay with us when you just want to ride on your own without the group!! We would love to have you back.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here whilst doing bike tour ride the rockies. Fantastic location, 2 mins walk from all of downtown restaurants and stores. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and clean, although the room did feel a little dark as I had to close the curtains as facing the pool. Pool was busy with kids but closes at 9pm so noise was not a problem. Great breakfast, and staff great at refillling items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We were happy to have the participants for Ride the Rockies stay with here at the hotel. It is a great event and we look forward to seeing everyone again in 2 years. We do have a lot to offer with location, breakfast, cocktails and a friendly, helpful staff. Please come and stay with us again even when you are not riding through on your bike. We would love to have you back.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in downtown so we were able to walk everywhere we went. The staff was amazing and the free breakfast was really good and had a large variety to choose from. The indoor pool and hot tub was nice. After reading other reviews, we chose an inside room and we were happy with that decision.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We do have a great location, close to shops, restaurants and the train. I am glad that you enjoyed the inside room. The pool can get noisy but we do have quiet time between 9 pm and 9 am. The breakfast is right there along with the free cocktails. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and will come and see us again soon! The fall is beautiful and the skiing at Durango Mountain Resort is great! Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to Durango for a wedding last weekend and could not have been happier with the accommodations at this Best Western Plus. I think the PLUS must represent the attitudes of all the employees we encountered. From the Front Desk, breakfast staff, housekeeping and even the maintenance staff working around the hotel the experience was the same. Warm friendly folks providing exceptional service. When we return, we will definitely stay here again. Thank you ALL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. We have a great, caring staff and we are so happy that you have acknowledged that in your review. We hope that you will come stay with us again and enjoy the area and the hotel. Enjoy your summer!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.