We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I shouldn't be telling everyone this because I want to make sure a room is available for me the next time I go...but this hotel is awesome. Centrally located in downtown Durango allows you to park your car when you arrive and only get back in it when you drive home. You can literally walk to everywhere you need to go for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Yes you can park your car and walk everywhere. You can even leave your vehicle while you ride the train and avoid paying the parking lot fees!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate the positive review and your business. Thank you for staying with us!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    105
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
127
125
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor and got a nice king room. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. There were a lot of trial products/free samples in the bathroom, which was great because I forgot a few toiletries. The bath/sink area was a nice size.

Our only disappointment was the continental breakfast. There were a lot of options but they all seemed pretty low quality, for example the eggs tasted fake as if they had been made from powdered scrambled egg mix. I would prefer fewer, higher-quality options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. The eggs are real eggs, not powdered. They come in a liquid form and since we do not have a kitchen we have to prepare them in a microwave. They are already seasoned and some of the guests prefer not to have them seasoned. The sausage is real pork sausage. We also offer biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, yogurt, fruit, fresh donuts, bagels, toast, english muffins, blueberry muffins, cereal, hot oatmeal and of course, coffee, tea and juice. We also offer the option of making your own breakfast burritos by providing the flour tortillas, salsa and cheese. We try and offer enough options to meet everyone's dietary needs. We even have gluted free cereal. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We appreciate your input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This weary traveler rolled into town and got a quiet room with great access to downtown Durango. I highly recommend this spot for folks who are just passing through or who may stay a little longer. Once you find it, its pure gold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities. Please come back and stay with us again when you have a few days to enjoy all that Durango has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer Country, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We didn't have a reservation and it took a little time trying to find the hotel downtown. It was at a dead end by the railroad yard. We stayed 4-24. The hotel was kind of dark looking, both inside and outside. I guess we are used to big open lobby's. Our room door opened to the outside which was fine with us as this was a quick overnight place to stay for us. Our room was very clean and updated. Flatscreen TV, larger than the normal size mini frig and had a freezer section too. Microwave, safe and internet. They also have laundry facilities here that we didn't use.
Upon check-in our very nice clerk told us about the "managers reception". We only had 10 min before it closed. We quick checked our room and then went over for a quick drink. The bartender was very friendly and asked if we needed anything else before she started to put things away.
The indoor pool looked nice and clean although we didn't have time to try and enjoy it.
Friendly staff also at check-out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel was designed to resemble a railroad roundhouse. All the entrances lead to the center, just like a train station! We are glad that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that the hotel offers. Our staff is great and caring and we are happy to have you as our guest. We all hope that your journey was safe and that you will return again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose this hotel solely based on its proximity to the railroad since we spent the weekend in Durango for the fall scenery and a train ride up to Silverton. We were pleasantly surprised. The had a nice breakfast each morning as well as a "manager's reception" in the evenings. We did not have time to enjoy the pool but the area appeared to be clean and nice. The room was clean and well-maintained and had a nice dorm size refrigerator which proved useful. We would stay again if in Durango for some biking or hiking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We do have a great location! The train is just a little more than a block away. You can park your car at the hotel and not pay the cost for parking in the train lot or in downtown Durango. We offer a free breakfast and complimentary evening cocktail and of course, free parking. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannng, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This B/W is clean and comfortable and has a courteous and helpful staff. We liked the indoor pool which was right outside our room. The hotel is just on the edge of the downtown section of Durango, so it's an easy walk to the steam train station or the downtown retail shops and restaurants.The hotel was so nice that we extended our stay by another day. We don't do that very often, and we'd definitely stay here when in Durango again. Only issue was upon checkout when we discovered that the rate for the 2nd and 3rd nights was $10 higher than the rate for the 1st night. I thought I had missed something in the online reservation online I had made, but in checking I found I was correct and the hotel had made a mistake. They quickly adjusted my bill, but I couldn't help but wonder how many people don't look over their bill closely when checking out of a hotel. My advice: Always check your bill....!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We do have a great location and staff and offer many amenities to our guests. I am so sorry about your bill. I am glad that we were able to resolve it quickly. We really appreciate your input and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel in the past and have always been very satisfied. This time we traveled with family from Seattle and we were anxious for them to enjoy their stay in Durango. And they did in large part because of our stay at The Rio Grande Inn. The indoor pool and hot tub were fun for our grandson...and grandpa. Breakfast at Otto's had a good variety of hearty and delicious options. From 5:30-7:30 PM Otto's becomes the place for Happy Hours with beer, wine, spirits and snacks. The rooms were comfortable, the staff was helpful and friendly and the location is hard to beat. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Atrium facing rooms on the 3rd floor also have a river and mountain view from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed their visit. We do have a great property with a great location and offer amenities that we feel set us apart from other properties. We all hope that your family comes and visits often!!

We appreciate the positive review and the business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.