We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in October, 2012, at this fine property. And in many years of traveling, there have been very few places which provide as much value as this hotel does. The train station is a block from the hotel, and Durango's main street with many restaurants, is about a 10 nminute walk.

Our room was a good size and very clean. The property is well cared for by staff, who were professionals in every aspect.

In particular this is a superior choice for families, with its indoor pool and breakfast on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a great location for proximity to the Polar Express and family oriented facilities. We hope that you will come stay with us again in your future travels to the Durango area! Enjoy your holiday!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    109
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
130
128
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved it and will return in January. Thank you for the nice breakfast and warm swimming pool. Plenty of towels. HBO kept turning off, which was a bit frustrating and the office staff did not respond with any consideration

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a great time in Durango. The Polar Express is a great time for families and we do get a bunch of happy kids here when they run that train. I apologize for the HBO problems. We do have cable in our rooms so I am not quite sure what they problem could have been. I am sorry that the front desk was not more attentive. Usually they go above and beyond to take care of guest's needs. I am sorry they dropped the ball where you were concerned. Please come back and stay with us again!! We do appreciate your kind review and hope you have a great holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for a single night in October as we had missed our flight home and had to reschedule for the next day. (It might be a small place, but don’t underestimate how long it takes to drive to the airport!!).

The reception staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. We were placed in a room at the back of the property that overlooked the carpark, but we were happy with this selection – as we didn’t want a room in the inner circle of the property that opened into the courtyard surrounding the pool.

The Hotel is spacious and actually looks like a hotel not a motel (and as a previous reviewer has mentioned – it does resemble a ski lodge), it is conveniently located a short walk away from the Durango-Silverton train station and provides a perfect base for wandering around the towns centre.

The breakfast was an open buffet with a great selection of hot and continental options and the room price also included two free drinks at the bar in the afternoon, which is a great way to get everyone in the bar area, chatting and making friends.

Having spent the week (prior to missing our flight) at another Best Western down the road (for roughly the same price) we couldn’t believe the difference in the service, professionalism and value for money between the two establishments.
If we return to Durango, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We are indeed a hotel, not a motel. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and do go out of our way to make the guests as comfortable as possible. We all hope that you were able to take advantage of the amenities that the hotel has to offer along with a great continental breakfast and complimentary evening cocktails. We do have a great indoor pool and hot tub and the best part is the location. Right downtown within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the train.

Please come stay with us again if you are in the Durango area.

Have a great holiday and again thanks for taking the time to review our property!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel's customer service was awesome. I needed a hotel for my daughter for one night as the college was closed for the holiday. I found this website and called to ask questions about shuttle service from airport, eating establishments and late checkout as college wouldn't let kids back in until after 1pm. They exceeded all expectations by being at airport when daughter arrived, stopped on way to hotel at store for drinks and snacks, accommodated late check out and even drove my daughter to college when they opened! Thank you so much for taking good care of your customer's! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We were happy to accommodate your daughter until she could get back into the dorm. My staff are outstanding with their customer service, I am truly blessed. I hope she enjoyed her stay and that she does well in school! We love FLC parents and students!

Thanks again, we really appreciate your kindness.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Sadly, our room wasn't that wonderful..we asked for and were assigned two ground floor rooms with parking outside the door (critical when you are on a road trip with folks like us who bring everything we own everywhere we go, or so it seems!) with two queen beds. The rooms were very small and the baths were as well. Understand updating is ongoing and someday soon expect this property will have new carpets as well as furniture and fittings which aren't dinged.
The location is great for exploring downtown Durango. Breakfast was motel acceptable. We usually travel with our dogs and next trip to Durango (we live just a few hours away in NM) will find us elsewhere. If you have never visited Durango, please do so and do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel or one of the in-town properties - parking is a huge hassle and endless quarters are required for the meters.
On a previous trip we stayed at the Doubletree down by the river--it is very nice but it is noisy from street traffic (tho' Best Western guests can hear train whistles perhaps more than they want to!). Still think Best Western has rest beat hands down for location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms face an enclosed atrium and many of exterior rooms are far from parking. Choose acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you again for your input. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accomodations. The furniture in the rooms was replaced in 2011. We have added new 42" flat screen tv's' and updated the bedding in all the rooms. We are slated to replace the carpet in the very near future and will be replacing all the tub surrounds over the next year. Our breakfast offerings do include scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits & gravy, waffles, yogurt, fruit, fresh donuts, blueberry muffins, bagels, english muffins, bread, cereal, hot oatmeal coffee, tea and juice. Hopefully you were able to find something to your liking with our offerings. We do not allow pets, sorry but we do offer a great location. Most of our parking is located in close proximity to the rooms so I do apologize if you had some problems in that area.
We appreciate your business and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not so great. Not horrible, but this is a last resort. Hotel old and run down, rooms the same. WiFi SLOW---obviously too many people online at the same time. Room was rough around the edges. Bathroom kind of disgusting. Window didn't lock. Only redeeming attribute: Two free drinks a night in lounge and super friendly servers. Won't make this mistake again. Stay at a Hilton in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. We have recently upgrade all of our rooms with new case goods and new linen. We will be replacing all the bath tile in our standard rooms throughout the upcoming months. New carpet is scheduled as well. We are an older hotel and we are constantly working on improving the property. We did have a bandwith issue with our wi-fi and we believe that we have the issue resolved. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary cocktails and hopefully the breakfast.

Again, I do apologize and hope that you had a good time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangeville, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I switched over to this hotel from the Hampton and wished I'd just stayed here the whole time. The outside is very pretty. The inside looks like an older property but rooms are clean and well kept. The room I had was very large with a jaccuzi tub and huge tv. Much bigger room, tv and bathroom than Hampton. And the rate was almost $10 a night cheaper. Free alcoholic drinks (2) each night plus they will give you a card for a free margaita at Gapazos ? restaurant 1/2 block away. Close to downtown but so quiet. Great breakfast as well.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We do feel that we have a great property and do our best to take care of it and our wonderful guests. Please come and stay with us again in your future travels to the Durango area. We greatly appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.