We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, everyone SO nice and accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, everyone SO nice and accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We visited Durango to tour Fort Lewis College and ski at Purgatory (Durango Mountain). It was beautiful and there were friendly people everywhere. The hotel was in a perfect location just off of the Main St. w/beautiful vistas off the back side. We stayed in a suite room that had bedroom and kitchen area. Aside from a somewhat lumpy sofa sleeper, Everything was ideal for us. Breakfast and cocktails were nice to have every morning and evening & were served by such friendly people.
Mother nature took us from snow storm on Sunday to mid-60's by the end of the week.
We look forward to returning and seeing more of the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We have had some crazy weather this month. It has been a beautiful week but it looks like winter is going to have one more shot at us next week. We do have a lot to offer and we are close to everything downtown and just a couple of miles from Fort Lewis college. We do hope that you return someday and make this your home away from home.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    102
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
125
119
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great stay! We are staying here with family and friends to enjoy some Spring skiing. We have been returning to this hotel for the past 15 years during Spring Break which is indicative of our feelings about this hotel. It is definitely a total package for our needs. The rooms are reasonably priced, as we reserve several rooms for our group, and are clean and well appointed. The bathrooms have BIG, fluffy towels along with nice toiletries. The pool and hot tub are well maintained and have a good seating area with tables for those who are watching children. A complimentary breakfast is included with guest rooms. There are many choices including biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, and this year there are additional breakfast choices such as Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Guest may also take advantage of free use of two washers and dryers. The hotel is in a great location for walking to Main Street restaurants and shops. Great place for us, and we would highly recommend this property!! Mary Kay did a great job is reserving the rooms we wanted, and Elisia did a great job of refreshing our rooms each day!

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are inside by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We appreciate your kind words and acknowledgement of our efforts. My staff is great and go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a memorable one. We hope to see you again next year! Have a great summer and be safe in your travels.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We visited Durango, Colorado while attending a Seminar. I would, highly, recommend a stay at the Best Western Plus in Durango. Our room had all the amenities anyone would need and it was very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. Durango is a very nice small town. We took a ride on the Durango-Silverton Steam Train, a must when visiting Durango. We counted over 40 restaurants in town. Unlike other touristy-towns, Durango does not shut down at 6 PM. We are looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. We so appreciate your business and hope that you will return again and enjoy more that the area has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

After a long ride on motorcycles in July, we finally got there. The front desk young lady began checking us in.. She Wanted the bike plate numbers. I did't have them. and asked if I could just give make and colors. She respond "yours are not the only bikes in the parking lot..." ok...then I questioned the room price It was higher than I remembered for the rewards price. Rather than a friendly response, she answers "would you like me to find you a cheeper room somewhere else" I should have said yes. Electronic keys didn't work we wait an hour, Another room air conditioner replaced not repaired in the middle of night.
The rooms were $179 per night, Free Happy Hour [...]. Not worth the price at all! Go to Holiday Inn Express instead

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for my employees shortness with you at check in. We do get a great deal of motorcyclists staying in the summer months and it does help us if we have more information to contact the owner of the bike if there are issues during their stay. We do pull the air conditioning units out of the rooms and replace them with a new unit if there are issues. A lot of times we do not know what the problem with the unit is until they actually pull it apart and can diagnose the issue. I do apologize that it happened in the middle of the night but I am glad that we came up with a temporary solution so that the room was comfortable for you. Durango is a great area to ride. I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked but I do hope that you were able to enjoy the town while you were with us.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stay a lot in BW, this was the most moderate one (but pricest) we stayed on our trip.
The rooms are dark and could use some renovations. The indoor pool is great, but as the rooms are directly above and around it, you hear the laughing and playing very loud through the glass door of the rooms. Breakfast was also a big dissapointing and not BW like we were used to.
Ok to stay for a night, but we wouldnt come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently working on the lighting in the rooms to make them brighter. We have replaced all of our case good this year, added flat screen television sets, and upgraded our linen. We have also added several breakfast items and I again apologize that you were disappointed. We do have children that use the pool and it can get noisy but we do only have it open from 9 am - 9 pm so their activity does not upset other guests. I hope that you enjoyed your time in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here one night for a high school volleyball game the following morning. Easy walking distance to restaurants. Clean rooms, nice reception at night and breakfast in morning. Nice flat panel televisions. Location/parking lot a bit dark in the evening. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for the review. We do have a great location and offer several amenities for our guests. We are adding lighting to our parking lot and redoing our bathrooms this off season. We enjoyed having your team stay with us and hope that they will consider us again in future travels to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

Weather prevented us from continuing on to Cortez. We were lucky to find something close ... More than I wanted to pay . 127$ for two bed room ... But hey it's downtown

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your input and your business. We hope that you will consider us again if your travels bring you to Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Best Western Rio Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.