We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Durango
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Beautiful room. Great location. Walk to Durango silver tin railway and downtown Durango. Great breakfast and delightful happy hour. Bonus, free laundry.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    48
    23
    17
See reviews for
112
110
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Rockies
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Chose this location because of the pool and hottub, but both looked too cloudy to want to get in. (A bit of a disappointment.) Don't know if they were properly maintained. Room was fine, nice big towels, fridge and microwave. Extra pillows.
Breakfast was just okay. Would have liked "real" oatmeal instead of the instant wth artificial crap in it. Husband wasn't happy with cold biscuits, but liked the sausage gravy and there was a toaster and microwave nearby -he could have heated them. Canned fruit mostly. For eggs, just cold boiled eggs. Otherwise, mostly refined typical American junk food fare. Not even any real butter, just artificial stuff.
Right downtown, so walking distance to nice restaurants, and at the end of the block, so was quiet even tho we were right near the front door, having made last minute reservations and one of the last rooms available. (But, loading and unloading our gear was very easy being in room 107.)
Oh, front office and reservations staff was great! Late checkout appreciated as well, doing business in the area.
Oh, we were given a coupon for "2 free drinks, per person" - but nobody staffing the bar area, so never did collect on those. Maybe there was a time frame we missed? But, didn't see it written anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

BW Rio Grande offered us a group discount. Motel is walking distance to local shops and especially the Durango & Silverton Railroad excursion trip. I loved the self-serve breakfast (especially the sausage gravy on biscuits) - good way to start the day. In-room jacuzzi was perfect after a long day of playing tourist. Good lighting in rooms (I don't like dark rooms). Quiet. Staff very polite, helpful, and friendly. Motel not crowded at this time of year (Feb). Since a less-than-positive comment seems to be requisite in these reviews, here's mine: the bathroom fans need to be more powerful. I had a very enjoyable three-night visit.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The General Manager of the hotel was quick to respond to repair an equipment malfunction, and then followed up that everything was satisfactory. Great Service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Great facilities and staff. The pool and hot tub are relaxing. Included breakfast election is great with waffles, fruit, eggs and pastries. Comfortable rooms with safe, microwave and refrigerator. After skiing a long day, the bed was heaven. Convenient parking and you are within walking distance to best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, MI, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the view of a mountain through our window, to the delightful and friendly staff, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our week in Durango. The hotel is nestled at the edge of town, right around the corner from the Durango-Silverton Railroad and within easy walking distance to the downtown strip, where shops and restaurants abound. We took advantage of the indoor pool, the complimentary breakfasts and cocktail hours. We also appreciated the convenience of the in-room refrigerator and microwave. We will definintely be back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I have just returned from another great stay at the Best Western Rio Grande! My family and I travel to Durango about 4 to 5 times a year to visit family. We used to stay other places, now we only stay at BW Rio Grande. I think I may be on my 10th or 12th stay at the Rio Grande. The rooms are always very clean, and the service is wonderful. Every single employee at the Rio Grande is welcoming and helpful. The location of the Rio Grande can't be beat! One of our favorite things to do is walk around historic, downtown Durango and the Rio Grande is right there! Just two blocks walk, and you are shopping, sightseeing, dining, etc. It is all there. The train station is super close, so you don't have to mess with finding parking if you are taking the train. I LOVE the breakfast that is included. Biscuits and gravy, toast, donuts, cereal, a waffle station, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, you name it. Fresh coffee and juice, too. Not a muffin and coffee quickie breakfast, a real breakfast! There is also a nightly happy hour where adults get two free drinks. I LOVE sitting by the indoor pool watching my kids swim, and sipping on my drink. Couldn't be better!! The free wi-fi is also mandatory for me. All in all, this place is the best deal in Durango, and the service makes it all the better!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.