We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pool area for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Durango
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great pool area for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Nothing fancy but room was large, pool was great and it was very quiet area. Would stay here again

  • Liked — pool area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    124
    50
    13
    12
See reviews for
113
110
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

This is one of the better-value Best Western motels I've stayed at. The woodsy, lodge-style rooms have exceptionally good furnishings, including a writing desk that's handy for business travelers, and spacious bathrooms. Admittedly, there were not enough electrical outlets for two people traveling on business, but this was really the only drawback to the rooms. The glass-domed heated pool looked odd but was comfortable. The coin-op guest laundry came in handy, as did the strong and steady wi-fi Internet access. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, though it did have make-your-own waffles, a selection of cereals and milk and juices to drink. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. The only thing that would make me consider staying somewhere else is the driving distance between the motel and downtown. Other than that, we were very happy with our stay!

  • Liked — Lovely furnishings
  • Disliked — Breakfast lacking
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

Just your basic hotel. Designed more for a business traveler than a tourist. It seemed to be in need of room renovation. There was plenty of room in the room, frig available, and a kitchenette. However, it was very basic. Front desk did not know about bus schedules to go downtown. The main road to downtown is right in front of the hotel and you are about 3 miles away. The price wasn't cheap but maybe for the area. The continental breakfast is your typical Best Western style. The town of Durango was a really neat place to go. Buses/Trollies stop running around 10pm during the week but are extended on the weekend to around 3am. The hotel was more business oriented. There is another one downtown. Next time, I'll suck up the additonal cost and stay there. The town itself is terrific.

  • Liked — cost was reasonable
  • Disliked — bare bones basic room
  • Tips/Secrets — check the bus schedules and when they stop operating
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

To be honest, I didn't expect much of this motel, being on the main strip of a tourist town, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Our family's room was very nicely appointed - tasteful southwestern decor, plus microwave and fridge. It was exceptionally clean, very comfortable, and strangely quiet for being right on the main street through Durango. I can't say enough about the awesome pool area, which includes a big pool, a jacuzzi, and a small waterfall area. Great for families! There is also a nice outdoor patio area with tables and a grill right beside the pool. The only complaint I have is about the breakfast area, which was small and very crowded throughout the morning (the motel was at capacity while we stayed there). Other than that, our stay was great and I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Pool, cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — crowded breakfast area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.