We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
colorado springs, United States
1 review
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed here while bringing my son to college at Fort Lewis. The staff was very helpful and gave great recommendations on restaurants. Breakfast was great. If I had a complaint it would be that the internet was slower than I would have liked and did cut out several times. I did have to leave a day early due to my child getting sick and they gave me no hassles at all. I appreciated that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    113
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
96
103
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We chose this hotel over the one on the west of Durango due to price. It was a few miles north of US160, which is what we were traveling, but the short detour off of the road was well worth it. Parking is a little tight, space is at a premium and many drivers had difficulty centering their cars/trucks in the spaces. This made loading and unloading difficult, but doable. The room was great, and was very comfortable. There is a grocery store just down the street as well as easy access to gas facilities. Great Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our trip to Durango was great!!!! The Hotel was perfect. The staff is genuine, helpful,and friendly. They room was very nice clean and modern. The breakfast was a nice variery for everyones taste buds young and old.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed recently for 3 nights at this hotel while visiting Durango, and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, and they were very clean. In addition to that, we heard no external noises while we were there, which is almost non-existent in ANY hotel.

In addition to the enjoyable rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and they would have cookies and infused water by the front desk in the afternoon (nice touch!). What was billed as a "Continental Breakfast" was really a full and complete selection of breakfast items, including 2 different types of coffee. Very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting Durango on a family vacation. Room was clean and good sized. Had both a mini fridge and a microwave. Beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. Bathroom was a little small but the shower was nice. The complimentary WiFi worked well for us. Air conditioner was nice and cool. I was a little worried about there being enough parking at first, but we were always able to park right by our room even when we pulled in later at night so my concern was unfounded. Room was very quiet. Staff was friendly. There's a covered pool which we didn't utilize but saw several families enjoying. They offer free breakfast which included eggs, bacon, waffles and muffins. You're only about 10 minutes or so away from the train station if you are planning on riding the Durango/Silverton train. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our second visit to Durango for a short family vacation. We came to ride the train and to tour Mesa Verde, both of which were wonderful excursions! Durango is a lovely recreation town. We recommend it and will make the trip again in the future. Our visit was enhanced by our comfortable room at the Best Western and the clean, covered pool. The service and breakfast bar could both have been better though. The overall experience was acceptable for a moderate-priced family stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The pool was great. Although it is not connected to the hotel, the depth is 9ft, which is great for older teens. The hot tub was excellent. The breakfast was fresh and had good variety. The beds were comfortable and there were more towels than most hotels. The internet connection was not consistently stable, which was irritating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.