We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pool and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The pool was great. Although it is not connected to the hotel, the depth is 9ft, which is great for older teens. The hot tub was excellent. The breakfast was fresh and had good variety. The beds were comfortable and there were more towels than most hotels. The internet connection was not consistently stable, which was irritating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    113
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
96
103
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is the perfect family hotel where we stayed for a family reunion. The rooms were clean and pleasantly appointed, they were large and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included, there is a pool. The towels were plentiful and very soft and fluffy. The staff was helpful. All for a mid-range price - this was an excellent value. In addition, the hotel has a pool, is located on the trolley line and is across from a grocery store. If you have a large group and need a number of rooms or have a family - this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not much to look at from the outside but room was good size and very comfortable, had fridge and microwave and what seemed to be recently upgraded bathroom. Staff were super friendly and helpful offering coffee and cookies on arrival. Parking is a little tight but manageable. Breakfast was great, eggs and bacon as well as waffles with berries, whipped cream and warm syrup :) I judge a chain hotel on quality of breakfast, this one passed with flying colors. Recommendation for Texas BBQ nearby was good choice, cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here on our way back from the Grand Canyon/Las Vegas. Room was clean and everything worked. Front desk staff was very helpful as we got in late at night. Early breakfast was perfect for the kids before we left early the next morning. Wished we would have had more time to see the town of Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and a good size. Parking is limited with very tight spaces, but parking seems to be a challenge everywhere in Durango. It is best to ride the trolley when possible.
The motel staff was awesome. Very helpful, from providing a great breakfast to baking warm cookies in the evening, they did everything to make our stay pleasant.
We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My room smelled like someone had smoked in it even though it was advertised as smoke free. I walked in a room of some friends that I was with and their room smelled fine. It was probably just the luck of the draw that I got the one room that had a faint smoke smell to it. Other than that, the room was clean.
They had a typical breakfast for the Best Western chain -- eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, pastries, bagels, ect.
The staff was extremely nice. We had a motorcycle break down and someone we were with went in and asked them for a rag to use while we worked on it. Not only did they give us a rag, but 5 minutes later came walking out with a piece of paper that had the names and phone numbers of the local motorcycle shops written down. They did that without us even asking them to.
It's expensive but almost everything in Durango that is worth staying in will be.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in a ground floor room with 2 Queen Beds. We checked in around 4pm and ground floor was nice because we could park in front of our room and walk right in with luggage. That said - if you leave and try to come back in the early evening don't expect to park in front of your room, let alone the parking lot. We came back on the first night and there was no parking to be had. When we asked the front desk where to park, they directed us to an unlit side street. Having a toddler and the car packed with luggage for the road trip, we went back in and talked to the front desk agent. She was very understanding and allowed us to pull into a 'fake' spot for the night so we could keep the car in the parking lot. We did learn our lesson and the next night we used the trolley to head into Downtown Durango. The trolley is free and runs every 20 minutes until I believe 10pm. Visiting with a Toddler, we knew we wouldn't be out past 10pm so that worked great. The trolley stop is walking distance, just across the street from the grocery store (which is caddie-corner from the hotel). The hotel is a distance from 'downtown' but with the trolley - VERY accessible. It's also close to a playground, a trailhead, grocery store, and the Train Tracks (but never noise from the tracks in the evening, just fun to watch them go by in the morning and afternoon).
Breakfast was busy but great. The staff was really good at making sure everything stayed full. One morning we did need to wait about 5 minutes for eggs, but there were plenty of other options to start munching on - Cereal, English Muffins, Bagels, Mini Muffins, Yogurt, Waffles, Bacon, Fruit, Coffee, Juice... like I said, plenty! Everything was fresh. For coffee they offered flavored creamers which was a nice touch for a free breakfast.
The room was clean enough. Few long hairs in the shower and carpet was damp in front of the sink, but they beds, toilet, sink and towels were clean. Pillows are those small square ones, so if we had 4 adults staying in the 2 queen room I would have asked for extra pillows, but having only 1 toddler in the second bed allowed for plenty of extra pillows. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room were handy and clean. We never heard noise from the rooms next door or above us, and the hotel appeared to be packed. Even walking through the parking lot in the evening, the overall noise level was very quiet.
All in all I would be back. Staff was very helpful, Rooms were good and spacious, breakfast was well done. But would make sure to use the trolley for any evening travel to make sure I had a parking space for my vehicle.

Room Tip: Ground floor was nice for bringing luggage into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.