We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not much to look at from the outside but room was good size and very comfortable, had fridge and microwave and what seemed to be recently upgraded bathroom. Staff were super friendly and helpful offering coffee and cookies on arrival. Parking is a little tight but manageable. Breakfast was great, eggs and bacon as well as waffles with berries, whipped cream and warm syrup :) I judge a chain hotel on quality of breakfast, this one passed with flying colors. Recommendation for Texas BBQ nearby was good choice, cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    100
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
86
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here on our way back from the Grand Canyon/Las Vegas. Room was clean and everything worked. Front desk staff was very helpful as we got in late at night. Early breakfast was perfect for the kids before we left early the next morning. Wished we would have had more time to see the town of Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and a good size. Parking is limited with very tight spaces, but parking seems to be a challenge everywhere in Durango. It is best to ride the trolley when possible.
The motel staff was awesome. Very helpful, from providing a great breakfast to baking warm cookies in the evening, they did everything to make our stay pleasant.
We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My room smelled like someone had smoked in it even though it was advertised as smoke free. I walked in a room of some friends that I was with and their room smelled fine. It was probably just the luck of the draw that I got the one room that had a faint smoke smell to it. Other than that, the room was clean.
They had a typical breakfast for the Best Western chain -- eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, pastries, bagels, ect.
The staff was extremely nice. We had a motorcycle break down and someone we were with went in and asked them for a rag to use while we worked on it. Not only did they give us a rag, but 5 minutes later came walking out with a piece of paper that had the names and phone numbers of the local motorcycle shops written down. They did that without us even asking them to.
It's expensive but almost everything in Durango that is worth staying in will be.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in a ground floor room with 2 Queen Beds. We checked in around 4pm and ground floor was nice because we could park in front of our room and walk right in with luggage. That said - if you leave and try to come back in the early evening don't expect to park in front of your room, let alone the parking lot. We came back on the first night and there was no parking to be had. When we asked the front desk where to park, they directed us to an unlit side street. Having a toddler and the car packed with luggage for the road trip, we went back in and talked to the front desk agent. She was very understanding and allowed us to pull into a 'fake' spot for the night so we could keep the car in the parking lot. We did learn our lesson and the next night we used the trolley to head into Downtown Durango. The trolley is free and runs every 20 minutes until I believe 10pm. Visiting with a Toddler, we knew we wouldn't be out past 10pm so that worked great. The trolley stop is walking distance, just across the street from the grocery store (which is caddie-corner from the hotel). The hotel is a distance from 'downtown' but with the trolley - VERY accessible. It's also close to a playground, a trailhead, grocery store, and the Train Tracks (but never noise from the tracks in the evening, just fun to watch them go by in the morning and afternoon).
Breakfast was busy but great. The staff was really good at making sure everything stayed full. One morning we did need to wait about 5 minutes for eggs, but there were plenty of other options to start munching on - Cereal, English Muffins, Bagels, Mini Muffins, Yogurt, Waffles, Bacon, Fruit, Coffee, Juice... like I said, plenty! Everything was fresh. For coffee they offered flavored creamers which was a nice touch for a free breakfast.
The room was clean enough. Few long hairs in the shower and carpet was damp in front of the sink, but they beds, toilet, sink and towels were clean. Pillows are those small square ones, so if we had 4 adults staying in the 2 queen room I would have asked for extra pillows, but having only 1 toddler in the second bed allowed for plenty of extra pillows. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room were handy and clean. We never heard noise from the rooms next door or above us, and the hotel appeared to be packed. Even walking through the parking lot in the evening, the overall noise level was very quiet.
All in all I would be back. Staff was very helpful, Rooms were good and spacious, breakfast was well done. But would make sure to use the trolley for any evening travel to make sure I had a parking space for my vehicle.

Room Tip: Ground floor was nice for bringing luggage into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

enjoy staying here. haven't looked at any other hotel in Durango. rooms are always clean...I get a good workout in the pool...never a problem with other guests...a few steps and I can get the troller..City Market is across the street...the chocoloate chip cookies in the lobby are always good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyd, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to Durango to ride the Durango-Silverton train for the third time. This is our second stay at this hotel. We are pleased with the hotel and service. It is on the north side of town on Main street and easy to get to. Mild and Wild is just past the hotel if you are taking one of their tours. The Melodrama was very good. Also we enjoyed Mild and Wilds tour of Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;