We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Redlands, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our room was comfortable and clean, but the beds were a tiny bit too hard for our taste.
The breakfast was great - eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, toast.
Pool was nice, but the enclosed area was a little loud because of the waterfall.
Hotel was located at the north end of town, not really within walking distance if you wanted to see the downtown area. But there is a grocery store right across the street and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    113
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
96
103
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We could hear children running back and forth on the floor above us but, other than that, our stay was quite enjoyable. The bedding felt fresh. The bathroom was clean and the tub/shower looked as if it had been updated. Oh, the hot water took about five minutes to come out of the taps (sink and shower) so you might need patience. Breakfast was crowded but the offerings were decent.

It was very conveniently located for our visit to the Bar D Chuckwagon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice and well maintained motel at comparable price for Durango. Enjoyed the breakfast and headed to the Durango and Silverton Train just 5 minutes away. Also used the laundry room to clean some clothes after a lot of 4 wheeling in the mountains. I would recommend this motel and would stay there again. They did a great job with our special request to have a ground floor room for my elderly mother.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for two nights while we visited Mesa Verde National Park and the Four Corners. I liked the hotel a lot. The room was spacious with two bedrooms, so my daughter could have her own room. Each bedroom contained a super comfortable queen bed, a large armoire with lots of storage space, and a nice-sized flat screen tv. There was a separate living room with a dining table and a refrigerator and microwave as well. The hot breakfast was really good- scrambled eggs, bacon, a waffle bar, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, juices, and coffee. I thought it was an outstanding breakfast compared to some of the other hotel's free breakfasts. My daughter enjoyed the pool and hot tub, which is under a clear dome, so at least you get some sun. The housekeeping did a fine job. All in all, a great value for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A two-night stay so we could ride the D&S train. Pleased with the property; BW's are most often consistent, clean and quiet. Breakfast was a good value and I enjoyed the fresh fruit toppings for the waffles. Lots of others must of had the same idea as the breakfast area was very crowded.
Off-street, safe parking right outside the room, but the lot was a bit tight. And there was quite a crowd of Harley Riders in town at this hotel these nights. BW has a discount program through Harley Davidson. They were running up the Million Dollar Highway the next day. With one noticeable objection, who revved his engine and cranked his music quite late, they were all pleasure to share the lot with.
The hot breakfast the morning of the train ride, worked well for us despite the crowded eating area and it was truly a delight to come back after the train trip and have the night's accommodations taken care of.
After dinner the second evening, we enjoyed the Animas River Walk downtown.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We selected and stayed at this motel based on earlier traveler TA reviews, but were underwhelmed. There isn't any question the front desk staff is friendly and accommodating, but almost excessively when chatting with a guest while other guests are queued to check in. Our room was quiet and clean, but I had to move the desk table in order to close the drapes so passers by couldn't see in. Also, there wasn't a comfortable sitting chair, only a desk chair. Lastly, the bedside table lamps weren't suitable for bed time book reading and parking spaces are narrow. The location away from downtown was a plus. Breakfast is above average and coffee is excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a great value for Durango. Clean rooms, emasculate hot tub and pool. Cross Main street on 32nd Street to pick up riverwalk trail to downtown (1.8 miles). Can hike 8 miles of mountain trails right behind hotel, so don't have to move car. Walk to Zia's Mexican or to an awesome pizza just a couple blocks down. Also can ride free trolley to Main St Durango. Really nice and happy hotel staff. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.