We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
grand junction, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful staff and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A good clean room with a very attentive staff along with convenient access to Durango's attractions made this a good value. The staff accommodated tired travelers with the minimum of fuss and the maximum efficiency.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    144
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
134
136
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. Rooms were very clean and service was good. They had cookies when we arrived, and the staff was friendly. The shampoo in the room was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. It was great to have a microwave and refrigerator in our room. We were impressed with their breakfast selection. Our daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

They knew what was going on!! in so many words! They had our check-in ready, also gave us a choice of upper/lower floors. Told us about the pool, guest services, etc. The last day we had a BIG change of plans, we had seen the train boarding & called the front desk becuz it was going to be check out day, nstead they offered to book the room ahead of time for us so we could ride the train and our belongings would be safe! i luved their hospitality! I would book and refer to anyone in staying ther!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen through a popular online travel site and after spending one night there, we were ready to change. The room was clean and only minutes from restaurants and downtown, however I do not believe I have ever slept on another mattress quite so uncomfortable. It was VERY firm as another poster said. My back still hurts.

We were scheduled to stay three nights. Since we pre-paid, we could not get a refund but decided to leave a day early anyway even though we were not reimbursed. I did tell the front desk clerk about the uncomfortable bed and received a limited response.

The city is charming and it seemed like there were a few places to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Love staying here! Well-appointed, quiet rooms; indoor pool & hot tub; good breakfast; kind & helpful staff. This hotel is not close to downtown sights, shopping, and restaurants, so that may deter some, however, it was perfect for me - close to my Durango family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again. We usually stay at 4 Star hotels and I was not looking forward to staying here but the hotel room was excellent and the staff was very professional. Breakfast was average at best, but it was included in the price of the room. The pool is located in the center of the parking lot in a clear dome. For the price paid the value was very good. Only two miles from downtown - 5 minutes drive. A nice river walk is close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiprock, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I brought 21 middle schoolers from the Navajo Reservation to Durango to tour Ft. Lewis College. Some had never stayed at a motel before. They loved the pool! The staff complimented them on their behavior. I compliment the staff on making them feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.