We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Durango
1 review
“good for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked a room at this hotel based on needing just a one-night stay and the price (after government discount). We were looking for a bed to sleep in, breakfast, and a pool/hot tub for our son. Front desk help was very friendly and we were able to check in early. The room was average ~ ok for a one- night stay. However, I wouldn't book an extended vacation stay here. The room was generally clean and looked like it had recently been remodeled, but black mold was growing around the bathroom window, there was 'stuff' on the wall by the bed (not sure what) and the TV remote didn't work. The pool/hot tub was nice and breakfast was decent. I would stay here again for a one or two night stay, but probably not more than that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    89
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
77
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manzanita
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Huge room with huge king bed and firm mattress. Especially like the fact that the sink light does not shine into the bed area due to the layout of the room. Motel has all the amenities of the standard Best Western including a covered pool. Motel is about 2 miles to downtown and the railroad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We loved this hotel! The beds were clean and comfortable, and the TV was nice. Not to mention the bathrooms were clean too! The only problem was that the plumbing in our room was bad and caused a 'tic, tic, tic, tic, tic...' noise all through the night, not to mention water damage.

The pool area was creative and awesome! I love how the pool went to 9 feet and not just 5 or 6. The glass dome over the pool was a nice and relaxing touch, but it looked a little odd from the road and in the parking lot. The hot tub was nice, and the fountain was a beautiful, yet worthless, touch.

The staff in the lobby were very nice and helpful. The lobby itself was western-themed and comfortable. The large fireplace added an extra homey touch. Their continental breakfast was expansive and delicious! It was also nice of the staff to bake fresh, chewy cookies when breakfast ends.

The hotel was also close to many attractions, including various restaurants, the Discovery Museum, the river (if you're a fishing kind of person), the local history museum, and the Main Street strip.

I loved this hotel. It's a cheap alternative to the Best Western PLUS, and higher quality than the no-tell-motels and other dumpy places in Durango.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool, because it gets REALLY cold when you're running to and forth in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURANGO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone going to or through Durango, Colorado. I was very impressed and so very comfortable. My only regret was I was unable to stay longer. I hope to return soon and will make it a point to go just to stay at Mountain Shadows Best Western. I have already recommended this place to my family. We have always stayed there through the years and have always been treated with respect. Thank You. It makes such a difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town Line, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms were spacious with a wall separating the vanity and bathroom from the rest of the room which is something I appreciate. The beds were very firm (something I generally don't prefer) but surprisingly comfortable, and the pillows were amazing. At first glance, the room appeared to be clean enough, but upon inspection of the baseboard style heating system, I discovered what appeared to be literally years of fuzzy looking dirt and dust. The same type of thing was found in the fan in the bathroom, which was excessively loud and annyoing. Also, the bathtub was clogged and would not drain which made taking a shower rather gross (although the staff did appear do be very responsive to this when I brought it up the next morning). Breakfast was okay and typical of other "free hot breakfast" offers; however when my son accidentally spilled his juice on the floor, we cleaned it up with white paper napkins that quickly turned black from all of the dirt that was on the floor - I don't think that floor has been mopped in months. Despite all of this, the stay was very comfortable and quiet and the staff was amazing. We had booked and paid for two nights in advance but had a last minute change of plans and checked out after only one night. I figured we would just have to "eat" that second night's fee, and I didn't bother to ask for a refund, but to my surprise, the staff was very friendly and did refund the second night without being asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved the super large rooms, I had a wonderful couch and large king bed. I liked having the vanity outside the bathroom. Shower was strong and great. My room had a frig and microwave. I did not have a desk but the table and coffee table worked just fine. The breakfast was above average. I liked the fresh fruit and whipped cream for the waffles. Nice breakfast area, sometimes they were pretty busy so advise you go early. Staff was really nice and there for whatever you need. They took me accidentally throwing away the room key with my morning breakfast trash graciously !!! The enclosed pool looked fun though I didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here. But I expect if you can use a King over two queens that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Super nice hotel. Big, clean rooms. Kids loved the pool and the funky covering to see the sky. Friendly staff. Very accommodating. The breakfast was YUMMY. Best waffles with berries and whip cream; again kids loved them!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool-it's across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.