We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, United States
1 review
“Convenient, clean and a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the perfect off-site ski lodging....good breakfast, quick access to Purgatory, low-key apres-ski in the funky pool dome, and enjoy a nice walk to dinner (how 'bout Zia's or Serious Texas BBQ for starters), across the street from City Market for more quick supplies. It's not fancy, but it is clean and friendly, just right.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    147
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
139
141
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great staff, great breakfast, clean rooms, perfect!!!! The hotel has even started serving hot breakfast which is absolutely delicious. Conveniently located right across the street from a grocery store and right down the road from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great deal-- breakfast, indoor pool, evening cookies and tea. Clean, up to date room with fridge and microwave, two sinks. Internet couldn't keep up on a busy holiday weekend. Took forever to get the bathwater warm! Mattress is VERY firm. That said, I would not hesitate to stay here again for the price!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neskowin, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Bed was terrible. You can feel the springs. Breakfast Blaaa. Do you ever get tired of waffles. No HD on the TV. Not pet friendly. Had to leave are little dog in the cold car. Don't understand that. Way out of downtown too. Well not stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke A, Owner at BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding our property. Guest comments allow us to find ways to better our guest’s experiences.

We offer a wide variety of breakfast items such as hard-boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, gourmet coffee and teas and pastries in addition to the waffles with assorted toppings. We are continuing to work on adding items such as different egg options, breakfast meat or breakfast sandwiches. Thank you for your feedback on your breakfast experience with us. We also offer fresh cookies in the afternoon for our guests.

We are located on North Main Street and have access to the downtown area via the Durango Trolley for guests who prefer not to drive or walk. The downtown area is about a 10 minute drive from our property. We also have a grocery store and some restaurants located 1 to 3 blocks from the property.

We try to keep all of our guests in mind with our pet policy especially concerning safety and health issues. We appreciated you sharing your feedback with this policy.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of more service or answer any questions and concerns.

We value all of our guests and hope they can enjoy the Durango area as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I love this hotel. Always clean, comfortable and I love the hot tub after a day of skiing! Rooms are big. And the staff is very friendly. The location is close to downtown and only a short distance from the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke A, Owner at BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sheree,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our property. We do appreciate it. Our staff takes great pride in welcoming our guests to our property and the Durango area. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the hot tub after a day of skiing. That is always the perfect end to a good day on the slopes. The dome can allow you to experience the night sky of Durango while still being inside.

We are happy to hear our location allowed you to experience both skiing and the downtown experience.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Durango and our property. If we can be of any assistance please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although we were here for one night and had an early start in the next day we found the room very comfortable and were able to gather a few breakfast items before retiring since we were going to be on the road before breakfast started. Thanks that was a very helpful to start the day off right!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline at 55$ a night. It was the worst experience I had. The room was smelly and the floors extremely dirty. The bath tub was flowing and water built up while having a shower. It was difficult to sleep with the horrible smell. The wifi did not work at all and was a joke.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.